We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay At The Rosewood Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corning
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosewood Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Corning B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Old Forge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Terrific Stay At The Rosewood Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Rosewood Inn in Corning, NY. Suzanne was a wonderful (and very funny) host. Although we did not get to meet Stewart we did get to taste his cooking - everything was delicious. Breakfast was set beautifully each morning and when you are done you feel like you had a 3-course meal! We especially liked the Post Shredded Wheat :)

The Inn is just a few blocks to the main shopping/dining area and the Corning Museum of Glass, an easy walk. Suzanne made dinner recommendations and gave us some tips on how to tour the Glass Museum. She also had info on other activities in the area. We enjoyed her lemonade on the patio while talking to some of the other guests. We had a great group - we laughed a lot!

We stayed in Room 3. It was quiet and comfortable. It was well stocked with towels and necessities.I especially liked the private sitting room where you can enjoy a glass of wine or read a book - very relaxing. My mom stayed in Room 1 - she loved the bed and pillows and the fact that she could walk out of her room and watch TV in the shared "living room".

We would highly recommend the Rosewood Inn for your next trip to Corning, NY. I know we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a private sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We took an overnight to visit Corning and the Amazing glass museum. Rosewood Inn is on a quiet street, but just minutes walk to the many shops and restaurants on Market Street. Our room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfy, and Suzanne, a gracious, proactive and welcoming hostess.
There are too many tiny thoughtful details to mention that made our stay very relaxed and comfy. Sue is also an expert on historical glass and is a well-spring of information.
Also, its in a residential neighborhood with many incredible old homes, some converted to offices, which made for a lovely summer evening walk. We'll visit with Sue & Stu next time we hop up to Corning.

ps . . .. Our room had a great separate little sitting room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in the Rosewood in for a few days when we went up to visit the Corning Museum. The Inn is charming, perfectly located and comfortable. Suzanne could not have been more gracious and helpful. She was the consumate host. We have allergies to gluten and dairy. Suzanne put out cookies that we could have upon our arrival (with tea and lemon aid) and we had a special breakfast the next morning which was delicious. It was a perfect place to stay and we will be back. Our room was comfortable and large.
If anyone is considering a B&B in Corning, this is the place to stay. You will not be disappointed. You can walk to town and to all restaurants which are about 2 blocks away. The Museum is a 3 minute drive down the road. It was completely perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite on the side (the old Doctor's office which was converted into a room). It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Corning. Wife and I stayed there recently while celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary and trip to Niagara falls, Ont. Suzanne is the perfect hostess and certainly has the passion for what she is doing. Even though we only hinted that we may have dinner at the Celler Resturant on Market Street, when we did in fact go there, we walked in the door and without a word from us, the host greeted us with a "Happy Anniversary"! We naturally suspected Suzanne called ahead. My wife and I laughed that we must be easily described. The Rosewood is in a great location for easy access to everything. Suzanne is an expert on glass and art and she has collected and furnished the inn with many interesting pieces. Stewart's breakfast offerings were delicious although a little on the high carb side. After breakfast, follow Suzanne's suggestions for hitting one of the Finger Lakes and the wine trails.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
210 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Rosewood Inn. The home is very comfortable and the beds are welcomed after along day touring. The hostess, Suzanne, is charming and helpful. We never did meet her husband, Stewart, who was busy in the kitchen. The breakfasts were good but not over the top. The real charm is the home itself...a quick few blocks to the Gaffer district area where one can find shops, restaurants and museums. You never have to take out your car.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We just returned from a special night at the Rosewood Inn in Corning, NY. Located just three blocks from the downtown area (filled with charming restaurants and shops), the Rosewood Inn excudes the feeling of being in one's own home-thanks to the warmth and care of the owners, Suzanne and Stewart. Each room is filled with beautiful antiques, drinking limonade and tea/coffee in the parlor or side porch, Suzanne's written and verbal advice about what to do (including the Corning Museum and victorian mansions up the hill are not to be missed) and attention to detail as well as Stewarts special breakfast all made for a memorable night--we definitely will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2VeteranTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

It was a pleasure staying in this very clean and charming Victorian B&B. You feel like you have been transported to another era, but with all the conveniences. I stayed in the Alice & Wonderland room and it was perfect--nicely decorated, ample places to hang/put away clothes. The bathroom is small but has a claw foot tub and good-sized shower stall . Lots of hot water and good water pressure. The bed was very comfortable with warm and cozy blankets & comforters and lots and lots of pillows. Lots of reading material if you just want to cozy up with hot tea next to the fireplace. Suzanne, the inkeeper, was very helpful on places to eat and the surrounding neighborhood. She has the perfect personality to make the stay informative and enjoyable. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corning
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
3.1 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Inn

Property: Rosewood Inn
Address: 134 E 1st St, Corning, NY 14830-2711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Corning
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Corning
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corning's Elegant Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn * Pampering People Since 1980 * Seven Guestrooms * Private Baths * Air-Conditioning * Luxurious Linens * Imported Towels * Glycerin Soaps * Afternoon Refreshments * Continental Breakfasts * Private Parking * Wireless Internet * Walking distance to Historic Downtown area shops, restaurants, galleries, the Rockwell Museum of Western Art and the Corning Museum of Glass. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing