We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, authentic b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Cornwall B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in the Canterbury Room. Beautiful décor, and morning light. Very comfortable. The staff is charming and VERY helpful. The grounds are stunning, and the country location is serene. Breakfast was lovely.

Yes, we would return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was one of seven women who reserved the cottage at Cromwell Manor for three nights. We were excited to be in a cottage all together. Upon check in we found the inn badly needed sprucing up. The main hallway in the manor was disappointing but the breakfast room was beautiful. Our rooms in the cottage were not aired out before we arrived and smelled musty and unused. The cottage definitely was not cleaned before we arrived as we found many dry old cobwebs and dead spiders. The windows were painted shut and we were unable to air out the cottage. There were many stink bugs coming through the cracks in the ceilings and walls. Despite this, we had a good time. The Innkeeper listened to us and tried to make our stay better but basically her hands were tied because the owner was away. She did offer rooms in the main inn we could move into and get out of the cottage but we decided that we wouldn't have the same privacy we had in the cottage. The breakfast was spectacular, nicely planned, presented beautifully and very good. All and all our stay was good and the manor was centrally located near all the destinations we had planned as day trips. If the cottage was spruced up, had a good overall cleaning of vents and heat registers, and had windows that opened I would stay again as it afforded a group like ours to spend time with each other without other occupants. Otherwise it was much too expensive for what we received.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Excellent location for us, as we had scheduled the " moonlit" walk at Storm King Art Center in the early evening. Gracious, welcoming staff, superb breakfast (tho we would have loved to dine outdoors on the patio!). The room on the first floor was large and nicely decorated; the second room upstairs much smaller but still pleasant- loved the showers, terrific!. The first floor room a bit stuffy, but we opened the window, and it was so quiet- but we were up late, so if you are early to bed types do not book I the front of the inn!

Would return, isn't that the key test?!

(head for dinner along the river front in Newburgh- quick trip north, try Ceno 2000- excellent)

Room Tip: Avoid Canterbury if you hit the sack early- later arriving guests take a few minutes to figure out h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proceanwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very disappointed with our stay. The house itself was rather grand in a former life but is in dire need of refurbishment. The bed was creaky. We only saw one member of staff, a young man who was very friendly. The breakfast was dire. No choice and only fried or baked food, nothing healthy. The orange juice out of a can or carton, no fresh fruit, musli or granola on offer. The strange starter of a cake with syrup was disappointing. The baked egg, eggplant and over done bacon a disaster. We would have liked toast but none was on offer. Fresh water flasks are on offer but they were dirty. We will not return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Australia1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cromwellmanorinn, Owner at Cromwell Manor Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the Inn. Our country kitchen is available to guests 24 hours and has 3 different types of cereal, granola, other types of snack bars, whole wheat bread and toaster, peanut butter, jellies, yogurts, coffee, tea, milk and juice that you were welcome to enjoy. There were also nectarines, clementines and farm fresh peaches in a bowl on the table. We would have been happy to make you toast with your breakfast if you asked but when we serve homemade muffins we do not serve toast as well. The water carafe might have made too many trips thru the dishwasher leaving water stains - all of our dishes and glasses are cleaned by our commercial dishwasher & sanitizer. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip - The Cromwell Manor Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Cromwell, and wonderful Inn located within an easy drive of West Point. The amenities are very nice, including the movie on the lawn with popcorn! The grounds are beautiful, and the breakfasts were a delicious way to start the day.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaimegracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed for one night and have only good things to say. As far as B&B's go, this is roomier than most, with a bit more space for each guest (including some rooms that can accommodate a small family, The grounds are vast and beautifully maintained, with hammocks and rocking chairs for the guests to enjoy. Inside the house, the staff is welcoming and pleasant, and offer great advice for local activities. Our room was clean and very well-maintained (considering the age of the building), with more linens and towels than anyone needs for one night. The downstairs area also offers storage for any foods or beverages guests may have with them. Breakfast was delicious (featuring baked peaches). Seating is more restaurant-like than the communal B&B table, which we personally prefer. All told, a wonderful experience, which we wished could last more than one night. We are likely to come back.

Helpful tip: Try reserving the room online. Saved us some $.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zekebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights, Great location--close to West Point, Hyde Park. Recommended great restaurant closeby in town on the brook, eating outside. Next night (Sunday) most restaurants closed but old Pizzaria had outstanding food. Great breakfasts at the B&B. .


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
5.4 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,031 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newburgh Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Montgomery
8.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
275 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Manor Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Manor Historic Inn

Address: 174 Angola Rd, Cornwall, NY 12518-1110 (Formerly Cromwell Manor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range: £120 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cromwell Manor Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance awaits you at Cromwell Manor Inn. The main building, The Manor House, contains nine elegant guest rooms in a brick mansion built in 1820. The original home on the property, 1764 House, dates back to 1764 and offers charming Colonial ambiance in four guest rooms. Stay at one of the Top 10 Inns of New York while visiting nearby West Point, enjoy the spectacular scenery and quaint towns of the majestic Hudson Highlands, shop at the world-famous Woodbury Common Premium Shopping Outlet, spend an afternoon at The Storm King Art Center, or simply relax for a quiet, romantic, weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cromwell Manor Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Manor Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing