We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Cornwall B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Old style house which we thought was going to be cozy, romantic and fun...what we got was over-priced, excessively hot and noisy rooms. An inflexible staff, internet that did not work, and kitchen staff that was unwilling to make a couple of eggs when one of us was gluten free. We went to west point for sunday brunch and it was amazing!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms. They get all the traffic and noise from outside--people also can look in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    26
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
129
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We discovered the Cromwell Manor Inn when after a last minute change in Valentine's day plans, we had to find a last minute place to stay for a romantic weekend. The Cromwell Manor Inn was one of the only places we could find with rooms available.

The rooms were roughly $280 / night, depending on which room you stayed in, but they looked adorable from the pictures and had good reviews so we went for it. The room we chose for the weekend was in a cottage house outside of the main house. Upon arrival, we walked in the main house but couldn't find any staff to check us in until wandering back into the kitchen where we saw a woman checking in another couple. After a short wait she came back and gave us a quick tour of the main house and some of it's history, and we went over the paperwork. She then led us out to the cottage house to show us our room.

Upon opening the door there was a very strong, gaseous odor. Strong enough to make your eyes water. My first thought was that it was no big deal, it must have something to do with the way the house is being heated. Upon Entering our room it was exactly as advertised, but the smell was still there. The woman was about to leave the room when suddenly she stopped and was said "Oh, did the owner mention the stink bugs?" After saying that she hadn't, the woman said that they have had a big stink bug problem this year and that they are harmless, slow moving bugs that if we leave them be shouldn't be a bother...right after saying that however, she found one. Then another...and, another. She proceeded to walk around our room for 5-10 minutes picking up bug after bug with a napkin apologizing and claiming that the room had JUST been cleaned before we got there. Before leaving she did offer that if it was a problem we could switch to an open room in the main house.

Now, I am not very skiddish about bugs and things like that. That stuff happens, a bug or two isn't the end of the world and no matter how clean you keep a place sometimes these things are bound to still happen...but the amount of bugs in that room was uncalled for, and led us to believe that the smell was recent fumigation to try to get rid of the stink bugs. On top of that, if they had just cleaned before we got there they would have surely found some of the bugs and removed them I assume, so either the cleaning was very poor, or they hadn't actually cleaned the room.

We went back inside and found the woman and requested to change rooms, however we were booked for 2 nights and there weren't any rooms available 2 nights in a row in the main house. So we were forced to switch rooms for the 2nd night. Again, not the end of the world, but coupled with the other flaws it was a little frustrating. Especially given that we were paying almost $300/night.

The room we stayed in the first night was the Saffron. It was a nice room, not nearly as cute as the one we had originally booked but it was clean, and didn't have the strong smell. The bed was very comfortable but the walls were so thin we could hear the couple next door to us talking till 3 in the morning. The next morning before going to breakfast, we did find one stinkbug - on our pillow.

Breakfast was good. Not great food, but decent, and it was made much better by the beautiful dining area with the view of the mountains as well as how well we were treated by the staff. The downside to the meal was that it definitely wasn't very healthy. The breakfast "Appetizer" was a piece of pie, the entree being bacon, eggs, and potatoes, which were all very greasy.

The room we switched to for the second night was absolutely beautiful. One of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. It was call the Canterbury suite. We did notice when entering the room that it also had the gaseous smell we experienced in the cottage house. We then realized that the smell was not coming from recent fumigation, but from the fireplace. The room has a woodburning fireplace, and the staff provides Duraflame logs to the guests rather than normal firewood, I assume for safety reasons? Which is fine, the issue is that the chemicals they cover the Duraflame logs in smells very strong. I'm not sure whether these fumes are very harmful but it still made us feel better at least about the fact that it wasn't due to recent fumigation. This room was also much quieter and more private feeling since there were no rooms directly connected to it. We did find a few more stinkbugs however, 1 climbing around the rim of my fiance's water glass, and 3 dead beneath the couch..again, poor cleaning perhaps?

Breakfast the second morning was better than the first day but again, was very unhealthy - a sugar bomb.

I should say that I do feel bad writing this review, as again...the staff was a delight and very accomodating. All in all though, while none of the issues on there own were huge problems, when added together and coupled with the high price, we just didn't feel like we were getting what we paid for. The rooms should have been half the price that we paid, with the exception being the Canterbury suite. Between the bugs, general uncleanliness, (some broken appliances - toilet paper holder in the bathroom) thin walls, strong chemical odors, and mediocre food, I'm not sure we would stay here again unless we knew these issues had been addressed.

Room Tip: The Canterbury is one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. Absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisgreenmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at the Cromwell Inn for 2 nights this past January and enjoyed every minute. The room was great, with nice fire place, and very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom with bath and shower. The place is ideal for a romantic get-away, the area is very quiet. The manor itself is not very large but very comfortable, with a warm welcome of the owner. A kitchenette is open for guests and coffee, toast and yogurt are available free of charge. Dining room with a nice view of the backyard, great breakfast.

Room Tip: preferably - take a room on the 2nd floor of the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakefet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We drove up to Cromwell Manor on a rainy night. The grand house was illuminated on the top of a rise, and looked like something out of a dream.

Inside, we were just as impressed. It's a cool, historic building, with twists and turns in the corridors, and lots of amazing nooks and crannies.

Our room was lovely, and the breakfast was truly remarkable. No need for lunch this day!

The staff was extremely helpful. The woman who served us breakfast gave us a map marked with routes and directions.

Before we left, we spent some time walking the grounds, with the lovely stone walls and benches. And we went next door to buy goodies at Jones Farm.

All told, a magical stay. Not cheap, but we were looking for something special and out of the ordinary, and that's just what we got!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are interesting, all are different. It's a matter of taste!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cromwell Manor for the weekend of our wedding and had an amazing time. I stayed in the Cromwell Suite the night before the wedding, and it was the perfect place to take morning of photos and "getting ready " shots with family and bridesmaids. We took our "first look" photos as well as our family/bridal party pics on the grounds and we are so happy we did!! The grounds are absolutely stunning. The service is fantastic and the breakfast served each morning is delicious!! My husband and I look forward to coming back in the future. I highly recommend this B and B for wedding stays or just a night away from the city. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: The Cromwell suite is definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessyd1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a very good experience at Cromwell Manor. The house and grounds are beautiful. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. They provided good dining recommendations. Breakfasts were delicious. The location is good for a visit to West Point, visiting Storm King, or just relaxing in the Hudson Valley. We had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in the Canterbury Room. Beautiful décor, and morning light. Very comfortable. The staff is charming and VERY helpful. The grounds are stunning, and the country location is serene. Breakfast was lovely.

Yes, we would return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
5.4 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
962 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
8.2 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
749 reviews
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
4.1 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Manor Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Manor Historic Inn

Property: Cromwell Manor Historic Inn
Address: 174 Angola Rd, Cornwall, NY 12518-1110 (Formerly Cromwell Manor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cromwell Manor Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance awaits you at Cromwell Manor Inn. The main building, The Manor House, contains nine elegant guest rooms in a brick mansion built in 1820. The original home on the property, 1764 House, dates back to 1764 and offers charming Colonial ambiance in four guest rooms. Stay at one of the Top 10 Inns of New York while visiting nearby West Point, enjoy the spectacular scenery and quaint towns of the majestic Hudson Highlands, shop at the world-famous Woodbury Common Premium Shopping Outlet, spend an afternoon at The Storm King Art Center, or simply relax for a quiet, romantic, weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cromwell Manor Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Manor Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing