We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you cant bet this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“you cant bet this place!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This family oriented Country Inn has something for everyone. The owners are on site and they alone with their staff do anything to make your stay a Happy one. There is a heated outdoor pool on the premises along with a beautiful playground. On site guided. Activities witch include walks, bingo and other games. Never a dull moment. There is a authentic Irish pub with live entertainment which was all great!! We came here as part of a large group and I did not hear one negative complaint. They provided our meals and I think we all gained 10 pounds! This rooms were comfortable and included a microwave and refrigerator!! I definitely will be coming back here again.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs ask for a room by the pool on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnbarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    21
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My family has a reunion at Gavins every year- and the kids love going and actually talk about their memories all year long! We all like the consistency of the activities- the kids look forward to the pool, the bonfire, the on-site crafts/activites, and especially the rock climbing wall. The waitstaff is so friendly and accommodating also!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany ny
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

my son was born on Mothers Day 1964 and we wanted a special celebration so we booked the weekend at Gavins. mary greeted us at arrival and we had nice rooms.The food was excellent and there were extras like ice cream social and cheese and crackers at cocktail time. The swimming pool was open and DJ on Friday and Andy cooney on saturday was enjoyable. mothers received a free professional massage.It was john and Lisa,s visit so they were very impressed. Bernadette is very friendlyand offers outstading service. We attened mass at Our lady of Knock Shrine, a perfect service for mothers Day. Plan to retun again. my thanks to the Gavin Family ant the entire stajj.

Room Tip: We liked the standard room but all rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is in response to the "Sad" review which described a stay at Gavins on Labor Day of this year. I would like to say that my husband and I stayed at Gavins the same time as that reviewer. We did check in the Thursday before Labor Day and statyed until the following Wednesday. We were charged differently for the days that came with meals and were given a lower rate for those days when the dining room was not in operation. We were fully aware that there would be no meals after Labor Day except for the breakfast that came with the weekend package. We were quite pleasantly surprised when someoe called our room on Tuesday to say there would be a buffet breakfast. We were not charged for this, but it was a wonderful courtesy that was shown to us. We did have the resort to ourselves, but were asked serveral times by someone waking past the pool if we needed anything. We did not expect a full service resort during the downtime; nor was it advertised that way. When we booked our reservations, we were told there were no meals those days. We have booked prevouslly for off days after the Memorial Day weekend and we found the same thing which in a way is enjoyable because you have a pool to yourselves and have the grounds to walk in that are quiet and peaceful. As far as the room decor; it may be older in fashion, but it is kept scrupulously clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moondanceforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany ny
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

this is a very special place. Sfall wonderful especially Mary who accepted our reservation and greeted us when we arrived. We stayed in the main building and the room was clean and the beds where comfortalble. Dinner of corn beef and cabbage was the best. Our breakfast was perfect and Ann made us a nice lunch. Hope to return again

Room Tip: try to attend when there is entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I started going to East Durham as a toddler. In Gavin's defense the whole area is economically depressed. Having said that, we booked the cottage so we had 2 ajoining rooms with a mutual sitting room. Each room had holes in the ceilings, walls or both. The furniture in the sitting area looked as if it were removed from someone's garbage. The tables were pitted,chipped, waterstained, I could go on. The couch did no appear clean, nor did it smell to great. We were booking for arrival ON Labor day, to stay 3 nights. Normally Gavin's serves 2 meal daily but they neglected to inform me there would NOT be any meals except dry cereal and bagels the first morning. Their folder of information about the area was fully of misinformation and stained pages. When we arrived there were 2 garbage bins full on the porch that weren't emptied and a dirty glass . These took 2 days to be removed. The pool area had not been cleaned after the Labor day crowd left so there were pull tabs from cans and various debris around the pool. The air conditioning in the bedroom I slept in sounded like a tractor engine and was not particularly effective. You had to choose in the sitting room if you wanted air conditioning plugged in OR microwave and Frig plugged in. Heck the wifi only worked if you sat by the pool or bar (also not available for our use). When we went to check out, there was NO ONE there in the office. Just piss poor

Room Tip: Don't go there. Find a place in Hunter Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank melsmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We sincerely apologize.
You happened to check-in Labor Day Monday. A true downtime for us and the most tourist areas.

Upon making your reservation, you were offered our room rate without meals. You were also informed upon checking-in that you basically would have the Inn to yourself. We would have gladly assisted you in room changes / room complaints if necessary during that time, but never knew your concerns.

This year marks our 52nd year as a family owned and operated business! I must say, our 2013 season has been one of the best seasons ever and our office was open every single day from june -till Wednesday of the week you were with us. We pride on customer satisfaction and always try our best accommodate all our guests needs.

I did personally double check the cottage and it does looks really great and "newish" looking. We did notice a minor chip in the ceiling that needs to be quickly painted over but thank goodness no holes! Also, the couch is a nice yellow and does not appear tired looking. We will place more cottage pictures on our website for interior and exterior too. The cottage is our best selling accommodations and to be honest, is always in high demand as families and small groups love it!

Also, we sincerely apologize about the garbage and the pool. Once again, we were unaware of any of concerns during your stay and would have immediately taken action.

Lastly, East Durham “the Emerald Isle of the Catskills” and home of the Zoom Flume Water Park continues to be a great destination to many tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
368 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our family spent the past week at Gavins and before we left we had made reservations for next year! For the past ten years we have made this a part of our family life and in so doing made memories that will last a life time. In the hectic world we live in it is important to take the time to connect with and enjoy your family and this is the place to do it. You can do as much or as little as you like......sit on the porch and chat or do some sight seeing. But really there is no need to leave once you arrive.....my grandchildren had a ball participating in all the activities provided...they checked each one off the list and eagerly awaited the next! they immediately made friends - as did the adults! Sunday night with all the bouncies was a hit, as was the rock wall, and the karoke! of course, playing manhunt meant they were finally big kids this year! Bernadette and her husband have been working to bring something new and fun each year.....they are always there and always pleasant as is the staff.....each person who works for them is friendly and helpful......This is a time for pure play.....no lines, no crowds to get lost in, no hurly burly hustle...nature and people at its best. We definitely recommend Gavins as a place for all ages.

Room Tip: if you have small children choose a room on the first level.....facing the pool.....it is easier for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christmas152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsiena, Owner at Gavin's Irish Country Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you!!! We love our family gathering and groups. It always so great to hear that we continue to offer a old-fashioned family vacation. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your 11th Visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwallville
4.0 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
15.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
10.0 mi away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#2 of 4 in Round Top
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
16.3 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavin's Irish Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavin's Irish Country Inn

Property: Gavin's Irish Country Inn
Address: 118 Golden Hill Rd, Cornwallville, Durham, NY 12418-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham > Cornwallville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cornwallville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gavin's Irish Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gavin's Irish Country Inn is a unqiue experience as we are an all inclusive Irish Inn with accommodations + meals + activies + entertainment all included in their nightly rates (with the occasion room only rates as well). The 3rd generation Innkeepers passed down from their family, the Gavin's, Brian and Bernadette are your hosts along with their outstanding staff who will do thier very best to accommodate all your vacation desires. Gavin's Irish Country Inn looks forward to greating you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gavin's Irish Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gavin`s Irish Country Hotel East Durham
Country Inn East Durham
East Durham Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing