We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cortland
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
Riceville, Iowa
2 reviews
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I were in Cortland for a wedding and to enjoy a weekend together before she goes to grad school. When I made reservations by phone the young man I talked to was very pleasant and helpful and he was at the hotel desk when we checked in and he made us feel very welcomed and comfortable as our day of traveling had not been a good experience. We loved where the hotel was located and we enjoyed a clean comfortable room and breakfast both days of our stay. The desk clerk also directed us to a fun miniature golf place which we thoroughly enjoyed. Every one of the employees of the hotel were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Linda Y,
Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience you had at our hotel with fellow travelers. Liana will be thrilled and I cannot wait to tell her that she made a huge impact on you. We love to make returning guests feel at home and Liana was able to nail it right on the button. We look forward to having you and your family back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    141
    43
    17
    5
See reviews for
229
109
22
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Never done this before, but just got the best service of my life and asked how I could let it be known. My family travels to Cortland to visit my grandfather once/year and books a block of hotel rooms for a week. I just happened to be in town a month after our annual trip by myself, it was raining, and I wanted to work out. The people at this hotel have always been great, so I walked in just to ask if I could use their workout room.

AS SOON AS I walked into the hotel, a worker (her name tag said Liana) said, "Oh, hey, Welcome back, Mr. Howerton!" SHE REMEMBERED MY NAME, asked if I wanted a bottle of water (remembered I always wanted one on our annual trips) and welcomed me to use their workout room for an hour.

The single best customer service experience I've ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Great rooms, always clean and well-kept, the handicap rooms with whirlpools are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience you had at our hotel with fellow travelers. Liana will be thrilled and I cannot wait to tell her that she made a huge impact on you. We love to make returning guests feel at home and Liana was able to nail it right on the button. We look forward to having you and your family back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We only stayed 1 night ...... We were traveling to Buffalo from NJ. Perfect location to stop overnight. Lobby was very nice. At check-in, we were given bottles of water. And the kids enjoyed the cookies that were provided. Our room was clean and comfortable......it could probably use some updating, but the cleanliness is what matters to us. Breakfast was fine. Customer service was great.......everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomsRiver_NJTac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear TomsRiver_NJTac,

I am very glad that you found our location to be perfect for your
needs! I will certainly forward your message to the staff. We take
great pride in our service and in the cleanliness of our rooms. If
you find yourself in town again, don't hesitate to stop by for some
more of those cookies!

Regards,
Michael Peterson
General Manager
607-662-0007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed at this particular hotel more than 30 times and have always had the best stay. Hotel is clean and the manager is very professional. I've always been treated professionally by all of the staff members. Most importantly to me is that the rooms are always CLEAN!!!! That's key to me when traveling and this hotel is the best at service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank carlc369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Carlc369 for taking the time to give us a review based on your recent stay here. We strive to keep and maintain the cleanliness here at our hotel and it brings joy to all of us when guests notice. Our customer service is our number one priority when it comes to our guests and making their stays the best they can be. I am glad you noticed our professionalism here and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean rooms and a nice breakfast. Close to the highway and easy access to I-81. Customer service was very good and helpful as we arrived very late at night. There was complimentary fruit and cookies for a snack when we arrived as well as coffee. Nice Touch Next morning had a free paper with the free breakfast. It included sausage, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, waffles french toast... All hot....they also had the complementary bagels, toast, cereal, milk, juice, yogurt, and fruit. Great value

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review based on your recent stay here. As you mentioned we are conveniently located right off of 81(exit 11) a very short drive to many attractions. Also I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our 24/7 coffee bar with a snack upon arrival. Our signature Hampton Inn breakfast is always a huge hit with guests and we are always looking for ways to keep our quality high for our guests. Thank you again James, we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Liana and Drew at the front desk are kind, compassionate, and extremely helpful. If this was the Undercover Boss Show their CEO would have been impressed. We checked in on Friday night and our room and the lobby was spotless. The lobby also welcomed us with hot coffee and a variety of herbal teas.We were on the first floor and it was extremely quiet last night and into the morning. The bedding was clean and very comfortable. There is ample storage for clothes, large bathroom, sitting area with couch and table and a work space. The fact that our room included a mini microwave and refrigerator put us over the top. The breakfast was good and the breakfast area was organized and clean. There are several franchise restaurants in the area and only 30 minutes from Syracuse. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Facing the farm area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Theresa for the wonderful review based on your recent visit with us. I am thrilled that Drew and Liana were able to make your stay more comfortable, and help you in any way they could. Very happy that you took advantage of our 24/7 coffee and tea bar available to guests. We strive to keep our lobby and hotel as clean as it can be, and it makes me very happy when guests notice our hard work. Our signature Hampton breakfast that you mentioned is always a hit and I am happy that you and your family enjoyed it. Thank you again for taking the time to give us such a great review, we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The room with two queen beds was adequate for us, though the fact that we were there on July 4th meant that our room did not get cleaned. The front desk staff was pleasant, and offered us popcorn and bottles of water to go with the DVDs we got for the evening. The cookies were good. For the next two mornings, Mason took very good care of us at breakfast, making sure we had vegetarian hot food options and checking in with us often to see if he could do more. He was the highlight of our stay.

The lobby has been updated since our last stay two years ago. It looks modern, but it is set up in a way that makes it difficult for more than two or three people to eat together. Since we were traveling with my son and parents, it was a challenge each morning to find space where we could all eat together. Breakfast was ample and filling.

The room, however, had a musty smell to it that we have never noticed on previous visits to this hotel. It seemed clean enough, though, and it is always nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. There was plenty of storage space. The bathroom had no fan, so even a moderately warm shower filled the room with humidity. And the climate control was finicky.

Having stayed at this hotel off and on since it first opened, it has been sad to see its decline. However, if some improvements are made, it has the potential to be as nice as it used to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batfan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello Batfan25,

Thank you for being a loyal visitor, and for leaving such a detailed
review! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary popcorn and
DVDs, and we will certainly forward your comments to Mason.

I am sorry that you found the room to be musty and that the air
conditioning system was not functioning as expected. I have discussed
the problem with maintenance and we have since fixed the problem.
Thank you for bringing the problem to our attention so that we may
offer a better experience in the future!

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Michael Peterson
General Manager
607-662-0007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortland hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cortland
Comfort Inn Cortland
#6 of 10 in Cortland
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cortland
Red Roof Inn Cortland
#5 of 10 in Cortland
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cortland

Property: Hampton Inn Cortland
Address: 26 River St, Cortland, NY 13045-2311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cortland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cortland Hotel Cortland
Cortland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing