We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Cortland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cortland
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, CT, United States
2 reviews
“Clean, comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel was clean, well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. We stayed here for Jets training camp and even got to see some of the players that were staying at the hotel while we were. Breakfast was adequate and free coffee in the lobby 24 / 7 was appreciated..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark I N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a positive review based on your recent stay here. I am glad you and your family made it up for the Jets camp, it is a exciting time in Cortland. We are thrilled you got to see some of the players while staying with us! We strive to provide excellent customer service as well as a clean hotel. Also we are glad you took advantage of our 24/7 coffee and tea bar during your stay. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again next year, Go Jets!

Regards,
Michael Peterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    135
    42
    16
    4
See reviews for
216
103
21
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We go to Cortland often as we are alums of the college, but usually stay in another hotel. The city is busier now due to Jets Training Camp, which was the reason for our visit. The king room was spacious and very clean, with a microwave & refrigerator, and we were given two complimentary bottles of water at check in. The bathroom was larger than expected with extra towels and all the usuall shampoos, conditioners, etc. Included in the rate is an extensive buffet breakfast with just about everything you would want. The staff is very friendly & helpful. The hotel is located close to Rte. 81 so it's easy to get in and out, and it's a short drive to downtown Cortland and SUNY Cortland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kathy Fernandez,

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us feedback on your recent stay! Although the town is much busier at this time of year because of the Jets training camp, which is just a short drive from our hotel. We are glad to hear you were able to stay with us and delighted that you had a positive experience here in Cortland. We love to spoil our guests with cold bottled water on these sunny afternoons. Our staff strives to make every guest feel welcome and at home, and I hope we did that for you. As Cortland Alumni we hope that you will continue to choose Hampton as your home away from home.

Regards,
Michael Peterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. Front desk staff was very helpful. The young man on duty was more than happy to phone around to some local businesses I was interested in to find out their hours.

Room was very clean and on-par with my expectations. Bed was VERY comfortable. Free breakfast exceeded my expectations.

I am surprised at the reviews calling the place "dated" and "tired." I consider the place to be a clean, modern hotel that is quite pleasant. Perhaps the nay-sayers are expecting the Taj Mahal. (I don't pick my hotels based upon the latest design trends.)

I grew up in Cortland and am happy to see quality accommodations available. I am more than happy to put some money into the local economy by staying here. This was my second stay here and will return next year, no doubt

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTravels919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear NCTravels919,

We are very happy to hear that our front desk staff was helpful to you. We strive exceed all customer service expectations. Cleanliness is a big deal to us here at the Hampton and we are happy that our guests can see that. Our wide variety of breakfast items is always a hit and I will be sure to let the breakfast staff know you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip.

We hope to see you again soon, remember we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed at hotel as a wedding guest of a friend getting married. Excellent services and room. King size bed was slightly uncomfortable but i guess thats expected with a hotel mattress. I prefer firmer myself. Complimentary breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you Joseph for taking the time to give us a positive review. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, especially our service and cleanliness. I am sorry that the beds were not as comfortable as you would like, we do have a new "sleep program" that offers things such as ear plugs, a fan, and a neck pillow that could have helped you sleep a little better. Thank you again for your time and feedback, we hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riceville, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I were in Cortland for a wedding and to enjoy a weekend together before she goes to grad school. When I made reservations by phone the young man I talked to was very pleasant and helpful and he was at the hotel desk when we checked in and he made us feel very welcomed and comfortable as our day of traveling had not been a good experience. We loved where the hotel was located and we enjoyed a clean comfortable room and breakfast both days of our stay. The desk clerk also directed us to a fun miniature golf place which we thoroughly enjoyed. Every one of the employees of the hotel were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Linda Y,
Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience you had at our hotel with fellow travelers. Liana will be thrilled and I cannot wait to tell her that she made a huge impact on you. We love to make returning guests feel at home and Liana was able to nail it right on the button. We look forward to having you and your family back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Never done this before, but just got the best service of my life and asked how I could let it be known. My family travels to Cortland to visit my grandfather once/year and books a block of hotel rooms for a week. I just happened to be in town a month after our annual trip by myself, it was raining, and I wanted to work out. The people at this hotel have always been great, so I walked in just to ask if I could use their workout room.

AS SOON AS I walked into the hotel, a worker (her name tag said Liana) said, "Oh, hey, Welcome back, Mr. Howerton!" SHE REMEMBERED MY NAME, asked if I wanted a bottle of water (remembered I always wanted one on our annual trips) and welcomed me to use their workout room for an hour.

The single best customer service experience I've ever had in my life.

Room Tip: Great rooms, always clean and well-kept, the handicap rooms with whirlpools are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for sharing this wonderful experience you had at our hotel with fellow travelers. Liana will be thrilled and I cannot wait to tell her that she made a huge impact on you. We love to make returning guests feel at home and Liana was able to nail it right on the button. We look forward to having you and your family back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We only stayed 1 night ...... We were traveling to Buffalo from NJ. Perfect location to stop overnight. Lobby was very nice. At check-in, we were given bottles of water. And the kids enjoyed the cookies that were provided. Our room was clean and comfortable......it could probably use some updating, but the cleanliness is what matters to us. Breakfast was fine. Customer service was great.......everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomsRiver_NJTac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cortland, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear TomsRiver_NJTac,

I am very glad that you found our location to be perfect for your
needs! I will certainly forward your message to the staff. We take
great pride in our service and in the cleanliness of our rooms. If
you find yourself in town again, don't hesitate to stop by for some
more of those cookies!

Regards,
Michael Peterson
General Manager
607-662-0007
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortland
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hope Lake Lodge & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Cortland
Comfort Inn Cortland
#5 of 10 in Cortland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Cortland Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cortland

Property: Hampton Inn Cortland
Address: 26 River St, Cortland, NY 13045-2311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cortland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cortland Hotel Cortland
Cortland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing