We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kenton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The breakfast attendant the second day was great! Everything stayed filled and fresh. The first morning everything was out and attendent wasn't very pleasant. The front desk staff and housekeeping were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lmcarter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for mentioning Margie...she is a wonderful person and we are truly lucky to have her on our team! I do apologize that we had anyone on our team that did not have an above and beyond personality. Please know that we will use your feedback to improve our operations for your future visits and for our other guests that will be visiting as well. Have a wonderful rest of the evening! We look forward to your next visit so that we may provide that WOW experience throughout the whole visit....thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    191
    38
    16
    11
See reviews for
481
105
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were vary impressed with this hotel . We couldn't believe the little extras offered. In addition Helpful friendly staff, vary clean, comfortable room,good selection at Breakfast. and best of all the price was right.

I have seen a lot of hotels in my life. This one stands out as being a cut above. If in the Cortland area again we will checking in.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleybick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Happy Customer!

I am so excited that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Thank you so much for mentioning our staff and breakfast. We strive to give our guests the very best experience possible and feel very rewarded when we succeed. I will certainly share your feedback with my team. We look forward to any future visits that you may have to the Cortland area! Thank you again and have a wonderful rest of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night w Dad & brother. Very clean, very well kept, and superb staff that is very courteous. Rooms are a nice size - price is good. Nice selections at breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome response about our hotel! We love hearing from our guests and hope that you always have the same experience when you visit us! Have a wonderful rest of the evening! Take care until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very nice budget choice in the Cortland (greater Ithaca) area. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had booked at hotels.com and when we arrived, found we were incorrectly down for handicapped-accessible rooms. The desk clerk smilingly said, "No problem; let me update you to suites at no cost." The fact that internet and breakfast are included makes the price especially reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cburry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you so much for your great comments about our hotel. We enjoy hearing any and all guest feedback! I am very glad that we were able to assist with the room upgrade. I thank you again for sharing your feedback and look forward to any future visits that you make to the Cortland area! Have a great night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just an FYI for privacy. We didn't realize that the black-out curtains for the windows were between the shear curtains & the window. We initially thought there were no privacy curtains. Otherwise the hotel, room, breakfast & other services were very good. Would definitely stay there again. Another heads-up when turning into the parking area....and this is not the fault of the hotel.....if heading north on route 281 you have to make a left turn into the hotel. Route 281 is a 4 lane highway, can be very busy at times & has no center turning lane. Caution is advised.

Green Features: Nice to see they have recycling trash receptacles at the entrance to the hotel. Good job!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear ddjd,

I thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our hotel and for sharing your feedback with our future guests about our curtains and driveway....it is always great for our guests to have a heads up before arriving at the hotel. I look forward to meeting you during your next visit and hope that you have a wonderful rest of the evening! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is one of 2 nice choices to stay in Cortland. The check in staff was pleasant and courteous, but didn't "wow" us. The room was also very nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable and we never heard any outside noise (from the hotel or outside) once in room. Location is excellent for downtown as well as back entrance to Cortland State. The breakfast was more than adequate and staff was excellent there. It did seem a little congested, but they were busy and staff did great keeping food refreshed and fresh. Definitely won't go wrong staying here and would highly recommend if visiting Cortland!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our hotel. I truly appreciate you mentioning our staff, breakfast, and location. We truly enjoy hosting our Suny families and look forward to building happy, long lasting, friendships with them. I apologize that we did not provide a "WOW!" experience at check in because that is just what our goal is. The next time that you visit, please swing by the front desk and share with me any suggestions that you may have so that we may improve your future experiences! I thank you again and hope to meet you soon! Take care until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I reserved a room here because of what I had seen of this chain in Texas. I've never been to Upstate New York so when I needed a place to stay on my first visit to the area I decided to trust in the chain hoping for consistency. My expectations have been exceeded. Very clean, large rooms with very comfortable beds are the basic qualities and the "value add" is that there are refrigerators & microwaves in the rooms. The complimentary breakfast is simple but includes hot items and tastes good and the breakfast room was clean and roomy. Add the free wifi, indoor pool, pillow choices and we're looking at a great "value proposition". The only downer was that the whirlpool was under repair, but seriously, every hotel I've ever stayed at in the US where winters are cold seem to repair their whirlpools/jacuzzi's in June! What's up with that? Bottom line though, I really liked this place!

Green Features: They seem to engage in the basic practices of encouraging guests to reuse towels and only change sheets every 3 days instead of every day. I did like that at the entrance they had wast recycling options (i.e. plastic, paper, other waste)
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland. Please know that we enjoyed having you as our guests! I am very glad that you enjoyed breakfast and other extra amenities that we offer. We look forward to your visit any time that you make it back to Upstate NY! Thank you again and have a wonderful rest of the evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortland
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Finger Lakes Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Cortland
Hampton Inn Cortland
#2 of 10 in Cortland
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cortland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
16.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland
Address: 3707 State Route 281, Cortland, NY 13045-8857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Cortland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cortland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY! Our fabulous 100% non-smoking hotel is conveniently located for easy access from Interstate 81, we are directly across the street from SUNY Cortland, minutes to Cornell University, downtown Ithaca NY, and Ithaca College. Wine Anyone? Well, this hotel is centeraly located in the New York Finger Lake Region. The Country Inn & Suites, Cortland NY provides excellent accommodations and exceptional service for hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, swimming, and any other travel teams visiting the Cortland or Ithaca area!!! The Country Inn & Suites offers many amenities and services that will make your stay a memorable one including, COMPLIMENTARY HOT Breakfast, free DVD rentals, free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), free local calls, fridge and microwave, indoor pool and spa, fitness room with local YMCA membership available to all guests.This description is provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cortland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Cortland
Country Inn & Suites Cortland Hotel Cortland
Country Inn Cortland
Cortland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing