We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of A J's Family Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A J's Family Diner
Ranked #15 of 112 Restaurants in Cortland
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cortland, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Aj's is by far the best place to go and have a quality breakfast at a good price. He has the best breakfast sandwiches in the Cortland area. His daily specials are always reasonable. His wait staff is fabulous. They are very friendly and learn their customers names so that they can personally address them. Just love them all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katydid34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Undiscovered Gem”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

... and I'd like to keep it that way! It's already so popular that diners may have to wait for a table on weekend mornings. The food is simple diner food - unpretentious and done well, at very reasonable prices. We love to order three different breakfasts and share, with favorites being the waffles, the bacon and cheese omelet, and sausage gravy. Yum! I keep planning to try lunch selections but always end up with breakfast. Make sure you bring cash, as credit/debit cards are not accepted.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Have the best Breakfast sandwiches. Wait staff is very friendly. Nice location. Reasonable prices. Love the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank katydid34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Renovated car garage”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here because of trip advisor reviews. Our 6 entrees were nothing extraordinary. The incredible home fries I read about were nothing special. Even though the wait staff were pleasant, I couldn't get beyond that we were eating in a remodeled car garage!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small but Mighty!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A small little family run diner just off Interstate 81 with good ole home cooking. Prices are UNBELIEVABLY REASONABLE! We had a group of 4 adults and 5 children. Two of the adults had Lunch, while everyone else had breakfast. The total bill: $35. I had to ask if there was a mistake! We sat at the "U" shaped counter and it was a great experience. The only issue was that it did take a longer than normal time to get our coffee and menu's once we sat down. Other than that - a Great place for Breakfast. Oh yeah, and the Home Fries were delicious!
PS - They don't take credit - so make sure you have enough cash on hand.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GT350RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A J's Family Diner also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to A J's Family Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing