We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”

Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 111 Restaurants in Cortland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

When Bon Ton Roulet (bicycling around the Finger Lakes) ends we always stop for our final meal in the area at Garcias. I think they may have changed owners because the service was a little confusing. We never knew who our wait staff was. I don't think the same person came to our table twice. And when they did, they were a little slow. But the food was fantastic. We started with the Choriqueso. The cheese was a little watery, but the taste was delicious. They did serve additional chips with the dip so there was plenty for dipping in the cheese sauce and the regular salsa. Ed had his old standby of Chili Relleno and I had a Shrimp Quesadilla. Both meals came out piping hot and pleasant to the palate. When we are in the area, we will stop there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ga_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyler, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVED EVERYTHING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We ate here for the 1st time a couple months ago and we loved everything about it! We will be going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwarner10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Looks are deceiving...food better than the restaurant looks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Chanced upon Garcias, as a group of us were looking for a place to stretch our legs at the halfway point of trip to NY.

The place looks like like a beat up old bar and we would not have stopped if there were not a bunch of cars in the parking lot.

In any case, the food turned out to be pretty decent, (especially a chicken and sausage dish we had), the portions were large (seven of us shared 4 dishes!), the service was and the value was great ($70 incl. tip for all of us).

We all got our fill, and the kids got to stretch out their legs, mission accomplished.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywhenonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellus, New York, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dinner with a friend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A friend of mine was passing trhough town on her way back to NYC area and texted me to see if I was available for dinner. Since I was we decided on Mexican and this was our choice. A friendly staff, few nachos and salsa, good combo dinners, cold Corona's and an excellent price were in store for the night. Had a very nice dinner and good conversation. If you like Mexican in the Cortland area go here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

A local chain, Garcias serves delicious Mexican food - quick, filling, and decent portions. Not expensive, either. Friendly servers. We ate there at least 1 X a month (usually more often) when we lived there. Everything we had was mouth watering. There are vegetarian selections, too, for those who do not like meat of any sort. YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BossQueenEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garcia's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Cortland, Finger Lakes
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 
Cortland, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Garcia's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing