We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 nights camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranberry Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cranberry Lake Campground
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“3 nights camping”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We just came back from three nights camping at cranberry lake campground. We found the campsite a little disappointing regarding the locations of the sites. We had a site that was RIGHT next to us, with no coverage or any trees seperating the two sites (22/23). Although this would be perfect for two or more groups, this is incredibly close for strangers. The map did not explain this and implied a much larger seperation that there was. We were lucky that 2 of the 3 nights we did not have neighbors however on the final night, the loudest snoring family I have ever heard turned up and we were not able to sleep! Although this is extreme, the proximity of the sites would not even allow a conversation to be missed. On the lower loops of the park, the sites were close to/on the lake, they too were VERY close together. The campground did have sites that were isolated, but these tended to be on the edge of the loops and the main road. There was a 15MPH speed limit on the park, but people who drove through did not stay to these speeds. The park is spread wide and once you know the curves, people didnot stay anywhere near the 15MPH, inc the staff on golf carts and trucks! children beware. The beach was very nice, however there is no longer any lifeguards, which for us as a young couple was great because we are good swimmers and dont want to be shouted at by teenage lifeguards.. but for families with children, this might be an issue.. despite the water being sectioned off by bouy's to a suitable depth. The facilities were very clean how ever there is only ONE shower block for the entire site, which although clean, warm and normally empty, the building is situated in a location that is closer to the main lower loops. due to the site being on a long hill(close to a mile) this made walking to the showers, bathroom and offices quite a hard walk, or an easy drive. We were very close to a bathroom, but would advise camper to bring their own TP as the provided materials were as thin as could be! Weather was great, the trails were well marked and substantial. We walked out to Brandy Brook and a little further, and back but the total loops available were more than 20 Miles if you wished to hike them. We also completed the Bear Mountain(Eastly) trail which was challenging. The summit was disapointing as there is no obvious views, coming down on the west side there were vistas to look out on the lake and mountains that WERE beautiful. That decent was very steep and children beware. On the whole we had a great time, Cranberry Lake village offered supplies at the general store, local fire wood, great diner(Stone Manor) and the marina rented all sorts of boats. Great for familes and groups of people that know each other or people who want to make friends. Check the sits out in depth online before booking. There ARE sites very close together as well as isolated locations, which are in the minority.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Great Staff and Spacious Sites! Close to restaurant and supplies.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We had a lovely time camping here for the first time! I found a terrific site on the water through Reserve America less than two weeks before we went. I don't know why someone said the sites were cramped because I didn't see any cramped sites. The lake is large and beautiful. It would be nice to have a motor boat. We did canoe and hike and the fishing seemed to be good. I used bug repellent on my hat and neck so the black flies that are around usually late May, early in June were not a problem. You can get ice at the campground and wood as well, but you might prefer to get wood down the street. If we go to Cranberry Lake again, we will probably go to the Wild Center in Tupper Lake for an outing. Bikes are a good idea as it is a large campground. All in all it was a great time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Happytraveler3074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

I must say I was a little dissapointed with how close and how small these camping spots were. I thought being they are located in the Adirondacks, that they would be a little more spread out. This is not the case at all, you are snugged in tight to the campsites next to you. You can hear all of your fellow campers conversations without even trying. You would think being out in the wilderness it would be peaceful and quiet, beware, they do NOT monitor the "quiet hours" at all. If you are into a big family/friends outting this is THE place for you. If you are looking for remote, quiet, peaceful camping this is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank LitchfieldLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We just returned from spending a week at Cranberry Lake Campground, a state run facility on the northeast shore of Cranberry Lake. Overall, it was a pleasant getaway, but this campground may not be for everyone.

The campground was lovely, but looked like it may have been an older facility. We stayed on the Bear Mountain Loop, and our site was smallish (some sites on this loop were VERY small), and all of the sites on this loop were extremely wet due to the recent rains. The quiet babbling brook adjacent to our site turned into a roaring torrent after an extremely heavy rain one night, and while not unpleasant, it was loud!

The restrooms were a bit of a walk... they seem pretty spaced out on this end of the campground. They were acceptably clean, and there was never anyone in the bathrooms when I was there. The showers were more of a problem. There was only one shower house (although there were showers available at the swimming area) for the whole campground, and you pretty much had to drive to get to them. They were also acceptably clean, if wet, and we were grateful for the warmth they afforded when it was chilly. They were located near the dumpsters/recycling area, so at least you could combine the trip and accomplish two things at once!

The lake is beautiful and LARGE, welcoming boats ranging from canoes to motorboats. We canoed on the Wanakena end of the lake, and the paddle from the put-in spot took us down the Oswagatchi River to where it met the Dead River Flow. Here the water opened up to a size that we were uncomfortable canoeing in (the weather was windy, the water rough), so we paddled near the cliffs, fished a little closer to shore, and turned around and headed back. It was a lovely paddle, and when the lake is calmer we probably would be a little more adventuresome!

We hiked up Bear Mountain and it was a nice hike, although the trail became almost impassable at spots due to the heavy rains we had. If the weather is wet during your visit, make sure you have the proper footwear on, as the climb up from the trailhead is rocky, full of roots in spots, and can be muddy and steep. When you reach the top it opens up and is more grassy and sunny, and some of the views going down the other side of the mountain are spectacular, offering wonderful views of the lake. The descent can be steep, so be careful with little ones. When you reach the bottom you are in the lower portion of the campground, so if you parked at the trailhead you must walk about a mile back to your car. The walking is so much easier on the road that you really don't mind, though! It is an excellent hike.

Be advised that you must travel for your groceries. We went into Tupper Lake where there were at least two smallish grocery stores. The selection at the stores is limited, so if you have special dietary needs you may need to bring what you need from home.

The campground also offers educational programs (we did not participate, although some looked interesting), a swimming beach (again, we did not swim because it was cold, and our dog would not have been allowed on the beach), canoes for rent, and a truck that drove by the campsite every night selling firewood to those who needed it. We found so much firewood on the ground that it was not necessary for us to purchas any, but we were on the Bear Mountain Loop which is less populated.

All in all, this place is a great vacation spot if you want to feel like you are in a remote location, if you like to bring your dog camping with you, if you like to fish/boat/camp/swim. There are no sites with water or electric hookup, so come prepared! On a final note, this campground and lake are in a section of the Adirondacks that don't have the amazing, high mountains. If you wish to see them you must drive to do so.

Helpful?
25 Thank BecknDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cranberry Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Lake Campground

Property: Cranberry Lake Campground
Address: 243 Lone Pine Rd, Cranberry Lake, NY 12927-7734
Region: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Cranberry Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cranberry Lake
Number of rooms: 1279
Also Known As:
Cranberry Lake Campground Hotel Cranberry Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing