We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely local restaurant downtown Croton”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tagine

Tagine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Jonathan Pratt and Craig Purdy have known one another since 1971. They met at Peter Pratt's Inn and today they are co-owners of this iconic country dining landmark. When daydreaming about new food ideas and restaurants they'd like to run, discussion would return again and again to the idea of casual French food, like the two recalled from the early days of Peter Pratt's Inn. Craig would fill in the margins with stories about riding scooters around coastal India, or hitchhiking to southern Morocco. The foundation of any successful restaurant venture is a secure, affordable location. When the 120 Grand Street lease became available, Jonathan and Craig ran out of excuses for not doing this restaurant which had been in their thoughts for so long. So here it is-a blend of casual French with the surprising seasonings of North Africa-their long anticipated restaurant venture, Tagine.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“lovely local restaurant downtown Croton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Two couples had a lovely French/Moroccan dinner on a Saturday night. The casual restaurant does not take reservations; we fortunately did not have to wait and were seated (inside by choice) promptly. Would suggest table to the left immediately upon entering the dining room, or a table outside, The other part of the dining room could be a bit noisy.

The food and service were very good. Two soups and two appetizer plates (pate & a mix plate of pate/rillettes/cheese/olives/cornichons) were exactly as hoped for. Would strongly suggest having one of their Tagines - the lamb was excellent. Duck was enjoyed by two; the steak frittes was as hoped for. Nice wines by the glass.

One disappointment - dessert. The almond cake was heavy, without flavor. To be avoided. Sorbet a better choice. Good coffee.

They accept credit cards - would certainly return. A good spot for a mid-week dinner out...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank msmbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Owner at Tagine, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
What a lovely review -- thank you for taking the time to share these details. It sounds like you sampled a few of our house favorites, which is great. We're sorry that the almond cake didn't hit the spot, though. We have a wide variety on our menu, so we'd be happy to find you something more to your liking next time! We'll see you soon.

Best,
The Tagine Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    32
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tagine, Croton on Hudson - Above Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Tagine is above average.It has a pleasing decor, friendly and willing staff and an unusual menu of
French-Morrocan cuisine.
Highlights include:
A well-priced menu. A mixture of French classics (Steak et Frites) and TAGINES. For those unfamiliar with 'Tagine cuisine' (me for one) these are individual metal dishes with clay lids, - oven baked with your choice of: fish, meat or vegetables, any of which is served with couscous and/or seasonal vegetables.
My wife's salmon tagine was excellent and my mother-in-law's steak et frites was superb. (I didn't enjoy my lamb tagine but don't let that put you off as the place was so good I will return and try something else). Tagine offers decent and sensibly priced wine and the usual beers (including non-A beer for those driving).
Lowlights include: A rather noisy environment and small tables and hard chairs.
Other than that, I regard this unusual little bistro as a valuable alternative in the Croton/Yorktown area.
PS I understand Tagine is owned by the Peter Pratt restauranteur and it shows in the high standard of service, the presentation and the thoughtful menu.

My personal rating? 9 out of 10.
JWL - Yorktown Heights

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Owner at Tagine, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share such a lovely review! It sounds like your wife and mother-in-law enjoyed their dishes, which is wonderful. We're sorry to hear that the lamb didn't hit the spot, though. Don't hesitate to let us know if something is ever less than stellar -- we're more than happy to find you a dish more to your liking. We hope to see you soon to check out more of our menu!

Cheers,
The Tagine Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Delish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

3 of us dined the last Sat. in April. We arrived early 5:30 ish and was glad we did. We were seated promptly but as the night went on people were lined up outside or waiting in the bar area.
On street parking in the middle of the village. I had the polenta to start and tasted my friends escargot. Both were excellent. The polenta was very filling. My main dish was Couscous with the chicken Kabob. The couscous was flavorful. Chicken was good. I took 1/2 my dinner home as the polenta was so filling. I had several Tagine Martini's (not driving) which were wonderful. The service was attentive and professional but never rushed. Will go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catwoman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Owner at Tagine, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
What a lovely review -- thank you for taking the time to share such great details. You can't beat a couple fresh cocktails to accompany your meal, right? It sounds like your dishes also hit the spot, which is great. We look forward to welcoming you back in soon!

Best,
The Tagine Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in the village of Croton.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Been there twice, each time there were four of us. All the dishes have been excellent, whether from the regular menu or the specials. The tagines come out steaming, fragrant, and full of yummy things from seafood to veggies. Had melt-in-the-mouth lamb last night. Dessert? Too full one time, but went for the warm flourless chocolate cake the other -- fantastic! Everyone on the staff is warm and helpful.About the worst thing to happen there was they didn't have one of the beers on the menu. Sob, lol.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lahazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Owner at Tagine, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi, Lahazo! Thanks for taking the time to share such a lovely review -- it's great to hear everything from our house specialties to classic menu items hit the spot. We can't wait to welcome you in for many more visits to come!

Cheers,
The Tagine Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The onion soup is divine, as is the slow roasted duck. These are my favorite things to eat there but everyone says their food is delicious.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ListWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tagine also viewed

Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
 
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
 
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
Croton on Hudson, Westchester County
 

Been to Tagine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing