We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Food, Charming, but some details fall short” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hamilton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hamilton House
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food, Charming, but some details fall short”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Our large group occupied most of the rooms for a week to view fall color and to visit West Point and the nearby culinary institute. We also used it as a base to take excursions into NYC using the Metro North Railroad to Grand Central ($6.00 each way for seniors, non-peak). This is a great location on a quiet street up on a hill with a (small) view of the Hudson River.

Breakfast was different every day and included everything that we could want. Tom, who in the innkeeper and cook, lives next door and was always available to answer questions or make recommendations for activities.

So what's not to like? We didn't see the Bridal Chamber because it was always occupied by others, nor did we occupy the Yellow Room (very small). All rooms have their own baths, but two of them are across the upstairs hall (Turret Room and Rose Room) from their rooms. Not all rooms have fireplaces or Jacuzzi-style tubs, so be sure to read the online descriptions carefully. We stayed just before the heating season, but heat control is shared between groups of rooms, so someone else may have control of the thermostat. Also not used by our group were the window-style air conditioning units.

There was evidence of lapses in maintenance, both in the guest rooms and in common areas. Our overhead light switch required multiple tries before the light would come on and a light bulb was not working. This was reported early in our stay, but never fixed. Another overhead fixture was VERY dim. Our toilet seat was cracked--how much do toilet seats cost anyway?--and a small area of mildew outside our tiny shower could have been easily addressed with the right bathroom cleaner. But the innkeeper was not lavishing the maintenance on himself either; I noticed a very loose (falling off loose) drawer front in the kitchen. Our room had a chest with mostly unusable drawers because the drawer fronts were only barely attached to the drawers.

Perhaps the most humorus items was one of the two folding luggage holders in our closet. This garage sale "prize" was completely non-functional because the straps were too long.

Room Tip: Ask about bath location, tub and shower style and size, thermostat location and room size if these i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelloSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    30
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
16
93
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
305 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Turret Room of the Alexander Hamilton House for a one night "vacation" in the Hudson River Valley and enjoyed both the Inn and the location. It was close to Sleepy Hollow where we toured Rockefeller's Kykuit mansion as well as the Stone Church with stained glass windows by Matisse and Chagall. It was also within walking distance of the village of Croton-on-the-Hudson so that we could enjoy supper at Justin Thyme without having to take the car out. Tom, the host of the Inn, cooked us a lovely breakfast that we enjoyed with 2 other couples which made for very pleasant and informative conversation. Then Tom directed us to nearby parks where we could take a long walk and enjoy the sights along the east bank of the Hudson River. Our room was comfortable but we couldn't get the TV to work and so went downstairs to the common room to watch the Vice-Presidential debates which we didn't want to miss! We would have paid just about the same price for staying in a chain motel but wouldn't have enjoyed the same homey atmosphere or personal service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongIslandMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
476 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Lock on back door is pain in the neck. Driveway is dark and hard to navigate at night. Amenities are lacking for the price charged. Location is good and house itself is charming. The best B&Bs exude a homey atmosphere and this one falls short.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckySpivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts, Mi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Tom, the inn keeper, was very friendly and provided a nice book with lots of information about local attractions. Some of the information in the book was a littel dated, but it was still helpful.

We stayed here three nights. Our room was fine and pretty much what I expected. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioner worked fine. TV was a fairly new flat screen with very basic cable options.

The bath was not so good. We stayed in the Turret Room. I booked this room knowing that the bathroom was "three steps across the hall". Well it turns out those are three long steps. It's actually about 12 feet across a hall/landing. That was a bit of a disappointment, but the bathroom itself was a bigger one. It had a tile vanity top with grout, caulking, and paint problems. Nothing horrible, but not very nice either. No tub. The shower was one of those small corner units. Pretty much impossible to adjust the water before you get n the shower without soaking the floor. The shower also had some unattractive caulking problems. Overall, the bathroom was not of the quality I expected.

I thought the breakfasts were good. There were three sittings (8:00 9:00 & 10:00 on Friday and Saturday, 7:00, 8:00 & 9:00 on Monday). The servings were large. There were always muffins, dry cereal and fruit. No choice on main dish though - Tom served French toast one day, an egg strata one day, and pancakes and sausage one day. I enjoyed all of them, though the sausage served with the pancakes was rather sad.

The public areas were very nice.

We took advantage of a special weekend rate - stay Friday and Saturday, get Sunday for half price. If you find a special that applies to your stay, you need to make sure you mention it. I did not find a place on the website to request the special rate, and it did not show up in my initial confirmation. I sent an e-mail and Tom replied that he would apply the rate when we got there. He did remember to do this.

Tom lives next door, so he is not actually at the Alexander Hamilton House except to check-in guests and prepare breakfast. If you need to talk to him at other times there is a number you can call.

I find the 10% gratuity bothersome because it is not made very apparent when you view the web site. (Not hidden, just not made apparent.)

Overall, we had a good stay. I would stay here again, though I might look around a little more first. I would not stay in the Turret room again.

Room Tip: Bath for Turret room is twelve feet away and not in the best shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have been staying at the AHH off and on for over seven years and I love the place.
I've stayed in just about every room and have enjoyed each of them.
The staff are like family and have always been more than accomdating to anything I needed.

For about the same price I could stay at a chain hotel in Hawthorne but, why would I ever want to?

I recommend AHH to anyone traveling to that part of New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Our three night stay was a wonderful experience for us. We enjoyed all the amenities of a b& b and the accessibility to the commuter train to Manhattan.
Tom was a great host. The Brie strata was outstanding. We loved the music box in the sunroom as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here in the Library Suite and we were completed awed. The dark original wood from 1889, a working fireplace (we'll come back to use it in the Fall!), and new Laura Ashley bedlinens made us feel special and romantic. The included breakfast was very good and we left with the recipe. You really get a good taste of what an old-fashioned Hudson River estate must have been like to live in from the 19th century.

Room Tip: The Library Suite is very comfortable, and on the first floor. Quiet, and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StoddardCornerBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croton on Hudson
11.0 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
6.2 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
9.8 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#5 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
9.9 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hamilton House

Property: Alexander Hamilton House
Address: 49 Van Wyck St, Croton on Hudson, NY 10520-2525
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Croton on Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Croton on Hudson
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1889 Victorian House with 8 guest rooms. 5 rooms have working wood-burning fireplaces, 2 have two person whirlpool tubs. We serve a full breakfast, and accommodate people with special dietary needs. We've been in business over 20 years and are very knowledgeable about the area. Accessible by car or train, 15 minutes to Sleepy Hollow/Tarrytown, 30 minutes to West Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel so you can book your Alexander Hamilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hamilton House Hotel Croton On Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing