We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Innkeepers are great! Nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hamilton House
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“The Innkeepers are great! Nice stay!”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This was our second visit, Barbara (owner) now has the greatest manager (Tom) to take care of your every need! You cannot go wrong here! Value is terrific when you compare to what it costs to stay in the "city" and you are only 35 minutes from Grand Central with great location to the North Metro station. Breakfast is the added feature and you pick when you want it. The "Yellow Room" is small but has a private bath/shower and is a great value. Don and Sandy

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binkbug666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    30
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
16
93
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We spent a wonderful night at the Alexander Hamilton House over a holiday week. The room and whole house is beautiful - the host and hostess very welcoming - the breakfast delicious. Our 7 year old wants to go back next weekend! Very highly recommended when visiting the area.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lbd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

It was an unexpected and wonderful stay. We arrived just in time to see the Christmas Decorations. It was such a beautiful and comforting escape and the breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend at any time of year.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

If you're looking for charming, friendly, clean, convenient accommodation tucked in the heart of Hudson Valley, look no further. I will return and highly recommend the Alexander Hamilton House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltoGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This is a great getaway B&B. I has a perfect location for access to downtown restaurants and historic sites. We had a very pleasant, relaxed stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We were at the Alexander Hamilton house for a quick weekend getaway out of the city. We stayed in the Bridal Suite which was very spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the fireplace and having the third floor to ourselves. The innkeepers, Barbara and Tom were exceptionally accomodating to our needs being Sabbath observers and dietery restrictions. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants some time away and if you are observant, Barbara and Tom are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erg0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My girlfriend came from Florida for Thanksgiving weekend and I decided to do something very special and worth to remember for her. So I found Alexander Hamilton House on Croton-on-Hudson. It is a marvelous place, Victorian style building, beautiful view of the Hudson River, cozy and warm. We stayed at the Rose Room which had access to a bathroom with an old fashioned tub...very nice.The service was superb and Tom, the ink keeper was always accommodating. We were able to enjoy each other and the scenery and had a wonderful time which we won't forget. I would do it again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamikaze33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Croton on Hudson
10.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
6.2 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.8 mi away
Castle Hotel & Spa
Castle Hotel & Spa
#6 of 7 in Tarrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Tarrytown
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
9.9 mi away
Courtyard Tarrytown Greenburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hamilton House

Property: Alexander Hamilton House
Address: 49 Van Wyck St, Croton on Hudson, NY 10520-2525
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Croton on Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Croton on Hudson
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1889 Victorian House with 8 guest rooms. 5 rooms have working wood-burning fireplaces, 2 have two person whirlpool tubs. We serve a full breakfast, and accommodate people with special dietary needs. We've been in business over 20 years and are very knowledgeable about the area. Accessible by car or train, 15 minutes to Sleepy Hollow/Tarrytown, 30 minutes to West Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander Hamilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hamilton House Hotel Croton On Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing