We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dansville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skybrook Campground
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Skybrook Campground has made me look more forward to Friday's than I thought possible. The staff is always accommodating and the facilities are very well kept and clean. The pool is always clear which isn't the case in some places. Overall it is fantastic and my wife and I look forward to summers there for many years to come!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

It is very much appreciated to hear from one of our seasonal campers that we are doing a good job. It is a lot of hard work and time involved and we now know it is all worth while when we hear a nice response! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

I made reservations for month and then i read reviews and was extremely weary wondering if i made the biggest mistake for our family. first night i waited for all this noise that was suppose to happen. none.. i have 4 kids ages 5,7,10,12 and they are in heaven here. ppl r very courteous and wave everytime they go by. at 11 pm when its quiet time it was just that quiet. the july 4th weekend made me nervous being ppl drinking but actually they were drunk and passed out by 11 and respectful. yes its dusty and its got gold carts and vehicles but hello bad review ppl its called camping in the great outdoors. go out in ur yard at night throw down a blanket and listen. u will hear cars and horns and neighbors talking dogs barking ect.... if you want absolute peach n quiet go find some state land walk in about 6 acres length pop ur tent and theres ur peace n quiet. obviously a campgrounds not for u. the staff here is great. wind blew out my pilot light went to office and he was here in ten minute during the busiest weekend. so again nasty reviews did scare me but glad i gave it a shot and stayed.... i am actually still here and loving it. my kids dont even like riding along to go downtown they rather stay and venture and do activities. i give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

That is so nice to hear your nice review. We do try to please when we are able to. We wish we could accommodate everyone but that is virtually impossible.
Thanks again for your input. It helps make it worth while to own and operate Skybrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Almost always full of activities for all ages. Camped here over 15 years staff and fellow campers make a great time. With the recent updates it's only getting better. For those with carts there's a whole world of wooded trails to ride.for those with bad reviews I guess they shouldn't be camping there's always a way to find fun and have a good time when your truly a camper.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Thank you! Very we'll said. We appreciate any positive feedback for sure. We do our best to please, unfortunately, it isn't always possible. We are on bath house number 4 on the remodeling. Only one left to go for next year.
Thanks again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As I was reading some of the past bad reviews of Skybrook campground, the first thought that came to mind was " they realize it's supposed to be like camping right"? It's true that on holiday weekends the campground is so crowded you might not be able to run a blow dryer and microwave at the same time in your camper...big deal. My husband and I started out renting campers there with our four children a couple times a season. Our kids loved the activities and we had a great time making friends with the locals. Making friends with the seasonal campers is why we decided to buy a camper and make Skybrook a second home. We all look forward to the weekends to see our friends and have a nice time. It really is a small community of neighbors and friends. I have NEVER seen a child or teenager with a cigarette or alcohol and if I did their parents would immediately be informed. We leave our cooler on the deck with a mix of beer, soda, and capri sun and it hasn't been touched by anyone but us. Management has updated bathrooms every year and plans to continue to do so. I have heard they might even put in a new playground. There is always some organized activity going on Every weekend. Just checkout the website to see if its something you'll like. Usually it's a mix of children activities and adult activities. I even saw the start of a softball field this past weekend. In my opinion we have it better than most.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stop_lying1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

Thank you! It is always nice to hear when we are doing a good job at Skybrook. It is so hard to please everyone of course. We do our best but we are always open for suggestions.
Thanks again for some good feedback !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We first went in 1993 and my kids were young. It was fantastic and there were kid activities with employee supervision and family involvement. We continued on and off for 15 years, the last 4 year stent was every year and all the big holidays.

We knew many if the seasonal sand regulars and they are friendly and clicky as other reviews indicate. Heck even the band and DJ's cater to the regulars (yes that included us)

But as a parent I grew up. I was divorced and remarried and had young ones again. The drinking and profanity are bad, when curfews aren't able to be enforced. Also, the kids nowadays (due to parents) are let loose to entertain themselves. In my early years my kids did too- but it was volleyball, freeze tag and other such fun that included all kids.
Now it's cooler hoppin(beer from drunk peoples coolers), smoking and worse. Muchworse. The golf carts are decked out like status symbols and adults that walk are a minority. The drinking and shenanigans are way too much for our family. It's gotten way out of hand in my opinion.

The Skybrook of yester year always brings a smile to my face and I am glad it still continues to be a campground. It is a great location with lots of space for camping. But huge trailers, golf carts and decks quickly make newbies unwelcome and outsiders.
It's hard work for them to integrate particularly if they don't drink or stay up until 3 am.
Not a place for young ones for sure. It WAS. But it's not.

This doesn't mean you can't make a fine weekend camping here because you can. Just be prepared for noise, profanity and partying rednecks from sun up to sun up! Hey that suited me at one time but not now.
It never suited my kids but at one time I was too selfish to care. Now I do.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

It is very hard as times do change. We do have a lot of repeat campers that camped as a child and now come back to camp as an adult. We really can not tell our campers how to talk or act unless they are endangering someone or themselves. We can, how ever, ask them not to come Back to camp and to find another campground . Which has been done. We try to have activities for all ages on different weekends. We usually go with the activities that have the best turn out and eliminate the activities that do not get much response. Unfortunately, the Bingo, crafts and volleyball have fallen to the wayside. We have tried volleyball tournaments without success over the past several years. We do hold Bingo and crafts on the 3 major Holidays. That is the only time we have a good turn out. We have several horseshoe tournaments through out the summer. People like to dance and sing more these days. We do tend to have several bands and karaoke on weekends now to accommodate the many campers that enjoy those activities. We are always open for suggestions on activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Horrible experience. Rain was in the forecast but we expected it and went anyway. We were told there was a wedding at the rec hall and they would give us a site further away for privacy and quiet. Got to the site and we were the only ones in the area "The Cove", nice little circular area with sites around the perimeter and a big pavilion and playground in the center. The pavilion also had a nice big fire pit in the center. We thought great ! if it rains we still have a place to meet and have some local friends visit. The rain started around 12:00, by 2:00 pm the pavilion was filled with locals from seasonal sites, complete with a fire, and several coolers, trucks and golf carts surrounding it. OK, no problem they got there first we'll just continue our weekend at our camper 75 yards away. WELL, the loud music, drinking, golf carts zooming back and forth blowing their horns, and extremely loud foul language continued on until after 2:00 am. The crowd having the party never once had the consideration to lower their music or voices. The owners had to be able to hear this unless they were in another state. Nothing was done. It was less than enjoyable to try and tell my two young boys to tune out the extremely loud woman who couldn't say a sentence without the words [--], [--], or similar and to just go to sleep. Not to mention the screams of "Do Donuts" every time one of the several horn blowing golf carts sped to and from. I have nothing against people having a good time, but obviously these people just struggle through their miserable lives through the week just so they can go to "camp" and get stupid drunk and act like inconsiderate children. The owners obviously appear to either be unable to handle them, or worse condone this style of treatment of other PAYING guests. So, if you have a family and enjoy the outdoors...move along. However, on a good note if you want a place to get stupid drunk and act like a classless hooker at a biker bar, then here's your place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

With us being only open "seasonal" for 5 months out of a year, we do tend to have many seasonal campers. These "seasonal" campers, also make it possible for us to continue in business. With that being said, we have made several adjustments to the "freedom" they have been known to have at Skybrook. We do allow gas operated golf carts. Most of the over 200 seasonal campers do own one. They have rules to follow and insurance on their carts. We welcome any complaint so we can address and correct them as soon as possible. We have been enforcing the "quiet" time rules more stringently. Being such a large campground with over 200 acres, it is so hard to have our security personnel be in the right place at the right time. We do always address any complaints brought to the office attention. We also have a 24 hour phone service that notifies the security of any complaint throughout the night. It is very hard to let people know there language is not appropriate in large groups. We do ask them to quiet down and be courteous to others. As for the owners, I am one, the weekend I believe you are referring to was the one weekend we were out of the park for a family event. We just wish you notified the office ASAP.
Again, if the office is notified about any concerns, we try and correct them as soon as possible. We do our best to please everyone we are able to. This is not always possible as you are aware. We have replaced 3 playgrounds and remodeled 3 bath houses over the last 3 years. We do as we are able to afford on our 5 month income seasonally. Hopefully, you will come back for another stay to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have camped at Skybrook for years, but sadly it has been declining gradually for the past three years. The place is lacking in management in general and sorely in need of repairs. the playgrounds are a hazard, the pool is gross, and some of the roads are washed out. The place is overrun by alcoholic redneck wanna-be's and there is no regard for rules or fellow campers. If you want to drink and crank country music - you might like this stink hole. This is definitely NOT a family friendly place. Clearly, the adults who are "seasonal" campers are really immature woodchucks. If you have children, please definitely go somewhere else - Drunks are up all night screaming obscenities. These "seasonal" freak-bags also let their children (no kidding, even toddlers) roam unattended and filthy all over the place. Major thumbs down!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank someonewithopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKYBROOKCAMPGROUND, Owner at Skybrook Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2015

With us being only open "seasonal" for 5 months out of a year, we do tend to have many seasonal campers. These "seasonal" campers, also make it possible for us to continue in business. With that being said, we have made several adjustments to the "freedom" they have been known to have at Skybrook. We do allow gas operated golf carts. Most of the over 200 seasonal campers do own one. They have rules to follow and insurance on their carts. We welcome any complaint so we can address and correct them as soon as possible. We have been enforcing the "quiet" time rules more stringently. Being such a large campground with over 200 acres, it is so hard to have our security personnel be in the right place at the right time. We do always address any complaints brought to the office attention. We also have a 24 hour phone service that notifies the security of any complaint throughout the night.
As for the swimming pool situation, I'm not sure this situation you are speaking about. During July, when it is very hot out, the pool tends to be crowded. We do check the pool chemicals several times a day and vacuum as needed. Again, if the office is notified about any concerns, we try and correct them as soon as possible. We do our best to please everyone we are able to. This is not always possible as you are aware. We have replaced 3 playgrounds and remodeled 3 bath houses over the last 3 years. We do as we are able to afford on our 5 month income seasonally. Hopefully, you will come back for another stay to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dansville
17.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mount Morris
19.9 mi away
Quality Inn Geneseo
Quality Inn Geneseo
#2 of 2 in Geneseo
136 reviews
16.2 mi away
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
Allegiance Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mount Morris
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Cohocton Valley Inn
Cohocton Valley Inn
#1 of 2 in Cohocton
15 reviews
10.5 mi away
Days Inn Hornell NY
Days Inn Hornell NY
#3 of 4 in Hornell
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skybrook Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skybrook Campground

Address: 10861 McCurdy Rd, Dansville, NY 14437-9538
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dansville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Dansville
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a campground in a country setting with scenic rolling hills and small ponds. We have over 350 sites with water and electric. Some remote sites available. Our campground offers many activities on weekends. We offer paddle and row boats on our pond. A small catch and release fish pond. There is an outdoor swimming pool. We do have some rental campers and cabins on site available most weekends. We are only 5 miles off interstate 390 exit #4 or #5. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing