We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's right there...convenient yes, but not enough services”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darien Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge on the Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darien Center
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Lodge on the Lake is right on the actual lake for Darien Lake theme park, so it's definitely convenient for your park adventure. It could, however use a bit more amenities.

Overall, the rooms are very clean, good and functional. We had a basic room with two queen beds, but still coveted the fancy rooms with a built-in bunkbeds in a mini kids room. We decided ahead of time that we were likely to spend more time in the them park, and very little time actually sleeping, so didn't opt for the extra. It was tempting, though.

There is a small snack bar that sells mini packages of cereal for fending off starvation at an early hour, but it would be far better if there were an actual restaurant at the hotel. It is, after all, a family park....and kids get up EARLY when they're excited! The only on-premises restaurant is within the theme park, and doesn't open until 8am for a buffet breakfast. As a result, we had breakfast #1 in the Lodge from the snack bar (Woody's Cafe) when it opened at 7am, then waited until 8am for the opening of the Beaver Brothers restaurant for breakfast #2. It would truly be beneficial for parents to be able feed their early-rising kids a bit earlier than 8am....and, hopefully, at the hotel.

There is a courtyard pool at the hotel, which is actually a great thing. Yes, there's an entire waterpark at Darien Lake, but a hotel pool allows for a bit of a calmer pace that's also adult-friendly. Additionally, there's a large chess set just outside the fenced pool area, some checkers available in the lobby, and WiFi throughout the hotel.

It was kind of surprising to see Tim Hortons coffee offered everywhere in the park, but perhaps it was a nod to the large numbers of Canucks that seem to fill the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed July 5-7 2013, had a room with pool view due to it being only one available. It was a nice size room, picture actually doesn't do it justice. Small things..bathroom door stuck and toilet didn't flush all that well but nothing too major. Very nice staff. Expensive food,has a small little counter type place you can get breakfast and lunch type foods. Not sure of quality only tried cereal. Walk to park scenic..seems long when its hot. I enjoyed my stay will do again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Darien Lake Lodge over Memorial Day weekend.
Pros – our room, and the common rooms, were very clean. Our son really enjoyed the Forts o’ Fun suite. The suite was comfortable for the whole family. The hotel is a relatively short walk from the amusement park.

Cons – there is no restaurant in the hotel, just an over-priced snack bar. The full service restaurant is about a 10 minute walk at the amusement park. Hotel guests should have the benefit of a restaurant – at least for breakfast.
There were no adult sized chairs in our suite, just kid sized chairs. This was awkward when we wanted to eat in our room one night.
Not a huge deal, but the video game console in the suite was a Playstation 2 – old tech.

This hotel is great for spending a couple of days at the Darien Lake Amusement park. If you get wet, or too hot, your room (and clean clothes) is just a short walk away. The hotel staff were friendly and very nice to our son. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The fort of fun suite is a good time for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stampguy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for the May Victoria day long weekend (2013). The place was full of Canadians !!

Yes, the property is old, but not as bad as some people have experienced in prior stays. They must have renovated few things as this place used to be called Six Flags Darien Lake and now looks like a new management has taken over.

As this was just the second weekend since they opened, I think there was lot of vacancy. We and another family friend of ours were surprisingly upgraded to a pool view room even though we had booked a standard room. Stayed on the 2nd floor and the rooms were nice. The bathrooms are small, but who cares, we are in a lodge next to a theme park that is open 9am to 9pm.

The swimming pool and a small cafeteria were the only amenities we saw. We did not use the pool as were busy with other activities, but saw lots of other people using it. Two lifeguards were seen at the pool, which was a nice touch. The reception staff was nice and polite.

For a place that is open only 5 months in a year (May to October), we felt it was well maintained. It is no five star, but the location was great. The 5 minute walk to the park next to a man made pond was nice in the evening. Wish they had golf carts to transport guests from the hotel to the park entrance as you are dead tired after walking all day in the park to come back to the hotel after another 5 minutes walk.

Another nice touch was two microwaves on each floor next to the vending machines. As we were group of 4 families with 2 kids each, had lot of feeding to be done !! Having a microwave makes it easier on the wallet. Also liked the small in-room refrigerator to store milk as there is not many stores nearby to walk and buy when you need it. We got some from a gas station 5 mins away in town of Corfu.

Some people call it a cheap knock of Great wolf, which we have visited as well several times. Yes, it might look like that, but this property is old, while the Great wolf in Niagara on the Canadian side is relatively new. We were bored of GWL, so this place which is still a decent drive from Toronto was a nice option.

We used the themepark for 2 half days and then for one day went to Letchworth state park an hour south of here, which was a good diversion from just going to theme park for 3 days.

Overall, for our first visit, we liked this lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed here with my family August 2011. I was in one of the "new" cabin suite rooms. the only thing new about those rooms is a little dividing wall. This hotel is disgusting and dirty! Stay off grounds if you can!

Room Tip: If you can get your hands on an actual suite (not a cabin suite), give it a try. Other than that, st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernie and Krist... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

As soon as you step through the front doors of this cheesy hotel, you realize they're tying to emulate Great Wolf Lodge... And failing miserably! They're very strict about their bracelets for going through the front gates. That's about the only thing they seem to take seriously. The rooms are outdated and in need of a deep cleaning & furniture upgrade. We're also quite convinced we saw bedbugs, but staff deny they have EVER had an issue with this! Really? Even 5-star hotels have had issues, and they're upfront about it. Here, they seem to sweep it under the rug (literally & figuratively!). For expressing our disappointment, we were offered free buffer breakfast at the on-site restaurant. Get ready for bad coffee, frozen French toast sticks, powdered scrambled eggs (you can literally cut yourself a square out of the pan!) and uncooked bacon. No fruit to be had. Had to search out bagels & peanut butter. As for Darien Lake amusement park, it's seen better days. Overrated & outdated. Next time, we'll stay in Markham, Ontario and go to Canada's Wonderland!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellazA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Family and friends went to darien lake for a week, we got every year buy usually only a few days It was time we tried a week because we always left with stuff we didn't get to do. Darien lake is an amazing theme park with lots to offer and the hotel was great. So clean and privacy is good as well. It seemed pretty booked our entire time there. We are for sure returning. Need at least a few days at that park each visit because of how much there is.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsy19817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien Center
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
5 mi away
River Spring Lodge
River Spring Lodge
#1 of 1 in Darien Center
154 reviews
0 mi away
Darien Lake Amusment and Water Park Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Lake Hotel

Address: 9993 Allegheny Road, Darien Lake Theme Park, Darien Center, NY 14040
Region: United States > New York > Darien Center
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darien Center
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darien Lake Theme Park Resort is New York State’s largest theme park and water park vacation destination, with more than 100 rides, shows, attractions and a 20,000-capacity concert venue. Darien Lake is home to the Ride of Steel, one of the signature coasters in the northeast, SplashTown water park and award-winning entertainment. Darien Lake Theme Park Resort provides accommodations featuring the Lodge on the Lake Hotel, Brown Bear Cabins and 1,000-site campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Six Flags Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing