We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent for Family Getaway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on the Lake Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darien Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge on the Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darien Center
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent for Family Getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Over all the hotel was nice and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful when I asked them questions. The room was a great size and clean. We did not get any conditioner or body wash in the bathroom. Just 1 small bottle of shampoo and 2 bars or soap to last the 3 days that we were there. A bit of a gripe I have too is that there was no milk/whitener or sugar for the coffee in the room or any tea bags. My daughter enjoyed the pool. You could see where they have filled in what used to be hot tub which was a little disappointing. After a long day at the park it would have been nice to relax there. Overall a great trip. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kreed100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
55
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a standard room. Was a bit worried about after reading the reviews but we had a great time. The room was pretty clean and with a couch in every room it was perfect for our family. Most hotels don't want families of five. The pool was clean and had a very attentive life guard on duty (something you rarely find anymore ). Timmys coffee sucked. What happened? Good Value with tickets included. Buy the very expensive refillable drink cups...it is so easy to blow the budget just on drinks. We ate in the park (huge mistake). Felt very safe at this hotel with security gate entrance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, Timmies coffee, heated pool, 6 minute walk to park, cereal and 7-11 style breakfast items available in the hotel lobby area (this place was very convenient to get a coffee or refill your drink container or get a beer or snacks ), giant chess and checkers, clean and spacious room. No complaints whatsoever.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnydee2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We wanted to stay at the Lodge on the Lake to make it easier to attend the Victoria Justice/Big Time Rush concert with our kids. Our son has a disability and has some difficulty adapting to new places/crowds so our primary goal was to avoid the parking lot mess and subsequent meltdowns. When we initially checked, the prices were high and there was a two-day minimum stay. When my husband tried to secure a one night reservation, he was told to check back which he did twice without success. On the Tuesday before the Sunday night concert, he was able to convince the booking clerk to give him a room for one night. The cost sounds wild ($312) until you factor in a few other details. The room comes with dedicated parking (at the hotel, or, if you prefer, right at the amusement park) and TWO days of park admission. For a family of four, that is a significant savings. The hotel room itself was average. The pull out couch had some tears on the upholstery and there was no table to sit at. On the plus side, the room had a small fridge, lots of storage space and a really clean bathroom with the sink unit outside the toilet/shower-bath. The pool was clean and lovely--not too big up to five feet--with a lifeguard on duty, towels, and standard plastic loungers. The lobby featured a snack bar with pizza ($18.99 for a standard large), snacks, and breakfast items (yogurt, packaged Danish, cereal cups) at convenience store prices. The whole zen of the décor is Great Wolf Lodge wannabe, but what sets them apart is the service. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful (from the booking clerk to the maids who found a small souvenir item we'd left behind and emailed us to find out if we'd like to pick it up). The beds were a bit on the soft side but serviceable. The walk to the park is about five or ten minutes (depending on the pokiness of your group). Getting to the concert venue and back was a breeze. Because we were so close to the park, we got In before the crowds the next day (admittedly light because it was a Monday) and breezed through the lines.

Room Tip: Check for availability and don't be afraid to call multiple times to get a one-night stay even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for three nights while at Darien Lake. The hotel is decorated in a lodge theme like The Great Wolf Lodge in Niagara Falls. There is an outdoor pool, a small gift shop, and a small food outlet. Stay away from the food outlet. We had breakfast there once and it was awful. Nothing but expensive microwave breakfast sandwiches and expired yogurt. The gift shop is awful as well. Very little inventory. Check-in takes a long time. Too few staff and no one know what to do. Our room was very average. It was clean. We heard the fireworks show at Darien Lake every night in the room. Pool was fine for the kids but too cold for my wife and me. Lifeguards are on duty. There is no hot tub. There were no towels left on hand when the kids got out of the pool. The best part of the hotel is that it is only a 10 minute walk to the park gate. But sometimes the nearest gate is closed, so be ready to go to another gate. As I said, Lodge on the Lake is good if you are staying at the park a few days, but it is not great. We will be trying the campground the next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burr6013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me and family stayed 2 nights had a blast the 1st night second night we ended up staying somewhere else even know we paid for both nights because some one reported a smell of drugs coming from our room when we were never in our room had to sign a warning paper because of this we left we don't use drugs an there was nothing in our room the stay was nice room was great good respect. But the rules an accusing was embarrassing I don't know if we will ever stay again due to this accusing none true case an my children had to hear about this an be involved when there was know need to other than this our stay was great the short time we stayed

Room Tip: Ask for all the rules an regulations that you can be fined for cause we only new of non smoking an t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Lodge on the Lake is right on the actual lake for Darien Lake theme park, so it's definitely convenient for your park adventure. It could, however use a bit more amenities.

Overall, the rooms are very clean, good and functional. We had a basic room with two queen beds, but still coveted the fancy rooms with a built-in bunkbeds in a mini kids room. We decided ahead of time that we were likely to spend more time in the them park, and very little time actually sleeping, so didn't opt for the extra. It was tempting, though.

There is a small snack bar that sells mini packages of cereal for fending off starvation at an early hour, but it would be far better if there were an actual restaurant at the hotel. It is, after all, a family park....and kids get up EARLY when they're excited! The only on-premises restaurant is within the theme park, and doesn't open until 8am for a buffet breakfast. As a result, we had breakfast #1 in the Lodge from the snack bar (Woody's Cafe) when it opened at 7am, then waited until 8am for the opening of the Beaver Brothers restaurant for breakfast #2. It would truly be beneficial for parents to be able feed their early-rising kids a bit earlier than 8am....and, hopefully, at the hotel.

There is a courtyard pool at the hotel, which is actually a great thing. Yes, there's an entire waterpark at Darien Lake, but a hotel pool allows for a bit of a calmer pace that's also adult-friendly. Additionally, there's a large chess set just outside the fenced pool area, some checkers available in the lobby, and WiFi throughout the hotel.

It was kind of surprising to see Tim Hortons coffee offered everywhere in the park, but perhaps it was a nod to the large numbers of Canucks that seem to fill the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank my-itinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darien Center
5.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Darien Lakes
10.9 mi away
Hotel at Batavia Downs
Hotel at Batavia Downs
#4 of 12 in Batavia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Palm Island Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Batavia - Darien Lake
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crown Inn & Suites
15.5 mi away
Salvatore's Grand Hotel
Salvatore's Grand Hotel
#1 of 12 in Williamsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on the Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on the Lake Hotel

Property: Lodge on the Lake Hotel
Address: 9993 Allegheny Road, Darien Lake Theme Park, Darien Center, NY 14040
Region: United States > New York > Darien Center
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Darien Center
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Darien Lake Theme Park Resort is New York State’s largest theme park and water park vacation destination, with more than 100 rides, shows, attractions and a 20,000-capacity concert venue. Darien Lake is home to the Ride of Steel, one of the signature coasters in the northeast, SplashTown water park and award-winning entertainment. Darien Lake Theme Park Resort provides accommodations featuring the Lodge on the Lake Hotel, Brown Bear Cabins and 1,000-site campground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Six Flags Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing