We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips”

Cross Gates Fish and Chips
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Crossgates
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional fish & chips served in contemporary surroundings. We cater for gluten free. Poached fish is also available. We do an afternoon special between 2-3.30 which includes small haddock & chips/tea/bread & butter at £5.25 per head. Please note we close Sunday/Monday/Tuesday We open Wednesday/Thursday/Friday/Saturday. Our opening times are 11.30am until 7.30pm. Please note last orders in the café are 6.30pm.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Was recommended to go here for lunch and was not disappointed.
The portions were generous and the food tasty, the fish, in particular, was very good. The tea was also very acceptable.
We ate in the restaurant and found the service to be quick. The staff are polite and friendly.
The price was £16 for 2 portions of fish & chips, plus bread and butter and tea for two. We also had a portion of mushy peas. One portion is more than enough for two.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EnochOllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We went here after seeing it on tripadvisor. We went I the cafe part and it was lovely and clean with very friendly staff. The fish and chips were lovely and fresh and the curry sauce was the best we have ever had. The prices were very good as you got plenty of chips and a good sized piece of fish. It was well worth the short drive out of scarborough for such good quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I love this fish & chip shop, used the restaurant 3 times but always call when we can for fish & chips. The best fish & chips ever, they are always cooked fresh for you. Love the atmosphere and banter from Tim & Sue, always pleasant and smiling. The fish & chips are lovely and I mean lovely. They even acknowledge us by name now.

Give them a try worth the wait with excellent portions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the area”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Situated just of the Seamer roundabout at Crossgates this chippy's come restaurant is just the best. My wife and I regularly eat here after work on a Saturday and the service and quality is excellent. In my view the best chippy's in Scarborough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scarborough's Best”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I visit on a regular basis and the quality is always perfect. Hot, tasty, fresh and irresistible . . Try others but you will always end up back here

Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_Marco_Polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Gates Fish and Chips also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Seamer, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cross Gates Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing