We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean but can be hard to find”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

They say that location is everything and with Hotel Le Renai, it is so true. Set among vineyards and olive groves in a small localita named Pancole, 2km outside San Gimignano, the location is peaceful and beautiful. But finding the hotel can be an issue. Our GPS couldn’t figure out the address and kept sending us to the center of San Gimignano; not fun! The locals knew where it was but we struggled with their directions. After a lot of driving around, the local carabinieri were kind enough to provide an escort to the road that the hotel is on! If you do choose to stay at the Hotel, obtain good directions first! Once you know how to get there, the location is excellent if you are doing day trips in Tuscany.

Upon arrival at Hotel Le Renai, our first impression was mixed. The grounds were beautiful and Paola greeted us very warmly. At first we were disappointed with our room: it seemed stark and somewhat spartan, the king sized bed was two twin mattresses pushed together, and the air conditioning was mediocre at best. However, we also noticed that the room was sparkling clean and the bathroom had obviously been renovated recently. The bed turned out to be very comfortable and we learned to close the shutters during the day and open the windows at night. It was quite pleasant especially with the smell of honeysuckle in the air.

The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There were scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cereal, cheeses, cold cuts, and lots of fresh fruit. The coffee machine turned out very good espresso, cappuccino, and café’ Americano; a perfect start to each day. We did not eat at the restaurant as we like to venture out in the evening.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The WiFi, while only available in the lobby area, was free. The computer in the lobby was very convenient. We essentially had free reign of the grounds even having an afternoon picnic on the patio at the restaurant tables. Nothing like fresh table linens for a picnic! The gardens are beautiful with potted lemon, lime, and orange trees throughout. What is particularly nice about this hotel is that the owner and his extended family live on the grounds and it felt very much like we were staying at a relative’s villa.

We would definitely consider returning for our next visit to Tuscany.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace. Towards the back is probably the quietest.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear guest,
I thank you so much for the time you spend and describe so attentively the Hotel Le Renaie. It’s very kind of you.
I thank you also for the honesty, specifying your doubts and what you realise on staying.
What you say about the hotel location is true. What is nice, when travelling, you have trouble in finding the place you are looking for and finally discover it is fantastic. This question gives to me the opportunity to advise visitors and get always good road direction, when they are booked in a country side location. Road direction and telephone contact in the case they get lost. Wherever in the world. Ciao from Le Renaie Hotel, Paola Verdolini / chid of reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Renaie
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful Tuscany hotel.The staff were very kind and helpful.The room was clean.Food :breakfast and dinner were excellent so was the service.The hotel is in good location.it's very near to San gimignano and a good base to see and tour Tuscany.we Enjoyed it very much.It represents Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlomo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear guest
we thank you for the good comment about us and for the right advices about the convenience of the hotel location, travelling Tuscany around. The staff will be pleased to see you again in the future. Regards from Paola Verdolini, reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Having stayed at two other hotels in Tuscany this was by far the best. We were made to feel most welcome, all the staff were very helpful. A lovely relaxed hotel with a wonderful verandah where we enjoyed a drink as well as our dinner and breakfast. The food was excellent as well as the service. A charming garden where you could sit and relax whilst inside there was a very comfortable sitting room and bar. We had a balcony room with lovely views. The bathroom was small. Pancole provided us with a very quiet and relaxed location whilst not far from San Gimignano.

Room Tip: Balcony room for the views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Dear guest,
we thank you so much for staying with us and appreciating our atmosphere. You will be the welcome guest at any time you'd like to come back. Paola Verdolini / in charge of reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We had a terrific time in the Tuscany area, and staying here worked out very well for my wife, myself and our 19 year old son. Our room had two very comfortable beds, and what looked like a brand new bathroom. Overall the room, as well as the rest of the hotel was exceptionally clean, and it was evident that the family that owns this nice property takes a great deal of pride in maintaining it. We enjoyed the nice breakfast buffett as well as the two evenings we stayed for dinner as well. While you will definitely need a car to be able to enjoy all the wonderful Tuscany hill towns, this Hotel is pretty easily accessed. We also found the staff to be very gracious and helpful so we definitely plan on staying here again if we get an opportunity to visit Italy again! Brian H

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words about Le Renaie Hotel. It is a pleasure for all of us when on working and trying to do the best possible, than through the guests, we can realised we did a good job for them. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Paola Verdolini / reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is set among beautiful gardens in the beautiful countryside. We were three adults to a room and the extra bed which was just a cot made the bedroom very small. There was no price adjustment for this. When we booked we had booked for two and the cost at the time of booking in March for two adults for 5 nights was E405. My sister joined us later and was charged seperately. There is a full breakfast but the service was not the best and we had to ask for bacon or eggs at times because there was none on the counter. The restaurant is closed on Tuesday nights. This can be a bit of a problem as the hotel is 4 km. from San Gimignano and there is nothing else close to the hotel. We had to take a taxi to San Gimignano everyday at a cost of E15 a trip. The hotel staff were certainly not as helpful with arranging tours and giving us information on what the area had to offer as previous hotels we had visited. The hotel itself is set in a beautiful area and their gardens are delightful. If you do chose to stay here I would heartily recommend that you have your own transport.

Room Tip: We noticed that some of the rooms had balconies, this would have been an added attraction
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear guest, I thank you for the time you spent to write about us.
It is absolutely correct when you say that a car is necessary on a stay with us, as in the rest of the country side nearby. About rooms, it depends a lot from the exigencies of the guests. Actually the travellers should have the opportunity to tell the hotel in advance about their needs and every thing is important to get during their stay. Directly or even by the companies they book through. I’m not able to explain what happened with you as we are able to give a lot of information about possible sightseeing in the area and bag your pardon if we didn’t make a good job. We wish you to have a nice Easter time with best regards. Paola Verdolini, in charge of reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights and we found the place quiet, peaceful, and beautifully located high in the hills of Tuscany. We found the location to a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of Venice and other cities. We could read a book in the outdoor garden, take a nap in the lobby or just visit in the beauty of the area. The staff was friendly, very helpful, informative and accommodating. They even fixed us lunch the day we arrived in late afternoon after the restaurant was closed.........and DO NOT miss having the T-Bone steak...as good as we ever had in Kansas City..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear guest, I personally thank you for the kind words. I’m happy you enjoyed the stay with us, as well the hotel facilities and the restaurant. We wish your suggestions will invite Americans to come and visit us. Sorry to be late in replying, due to the hard work. Regards. Paola Verdolini, reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a cycling holiday. It had been built up by our tour company but was very definitely NOT worth the ride up the hill in 35degree heat. Service was friendly enough (in a grumpy, Italian sort of way), but on our second night at dinner it took half an hour to take an order, then a further half hour before any food appeared. It was only after our starters had been served and enquirer where the wine was that they told us they didn't have the wine we had ordered. To add insult to injury the meal was only fried chicken (bet Tony Blair didn't get fried chicken). They did not give us the menu choices our tour company had negotiated.
The room was clean and ok but nothing special, quite small but the balcony was nice. The bath had not been sealed properly so when you stood in it to have a shower all the water ran down the wall, between the bath and the wall and all over the bathroom floor (half an inch deep all over by the time I had finished my shower). Air conditioning could not cope with the heat.
Pool area was small and a little tired.
It is definitely nozzle central - bitten, bitten, bitten!
Breakfast ok but not replenished quickly enough and coffee from a machine.

Oh, and too much faded looking chintz everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veloist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2012

Dear guest, I thank you for being so kind and get the time to leave your advise on the web. I regret you didn’t find what you were expecting from the hotel where staying after kilometres of cycling tours. Please find all my admiration to be able and cycle the Tuscan hills under the sun in Summer! Paola Verdolini, in charge of reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,308 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
647 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Hotel Bel Soggiorno
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
356 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais Cappuccina
Relais Cappuccina
#19 of 29 in San Gimignano
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing