We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in this really lovely hotel on the recommendation of Marcelle the founder of Italian Expressions and because they have never let us down we went along with what we thought was going to be something less than the mark.

It was a without doubt a fantastic setting amongst a typical quiet Tuscan village ...beautiful walks wonderful views of San Giminano in the near distance..lovely church and just the right easy accessibility/distance from San Giminano and some great medieval towns and sites.

Easy access to Florence by train from Certaldo (which itself is worth a visit) and we were able to have a few hours in the Uffizi gallery(sorry never been able to spell that) as well as take in shops...didnt bother with the fine dining this time around as we were saving ourseleves for the super supper at Le Renaie.

The hotel has a fantastic restaurant (known as the Leonetta) which is famous not only for the seriously good food also for the visits of the Blair family (although thankfully we did not see them during our stay).

The success of the experience is in no small measure to the hands on input from the proprietor and the really friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are not vast but homely and a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony is a benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,
I thank you so much for all the very good information you had given about us and about sightseeing around. The kitchen staff and our chef Sandra in particular, they are very happy because you received a great satisfaction from their dinners, to which they give a hard attention every day and every evening. Concerning the famous English family, they came here at dinner, some years ago, when the family was used to have its holiday in the area around. But probably in the last years they went some where else. That’s why you couldn’t meet them. Warm regards from the staff at Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    87
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
141
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2012

If I'm honest I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel booked at the last minute by my wife via Thompsons Holidays - but what a real treat! I'd echo all of the positive comments of other guests here. Food was great (I'd recommend the wild boar hunters style) the local wine delicious. I'm so pleased we went half-board.

The staff are excellent, friendly, cheerful and very helpful, shame the same can't be said for a lot of the staff in some of the areas other shops and restaurants.

Highly recommended, I'm sure we'll be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony overlook the gardens and are worth the extra cost. Don't worry that they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much to you, very special guest, that wasn’t expecting a lot here.
It is a pleasure to realise you have been very happy to stay with us and we remain at your complete disposal, when you would like to come again. May I just add a suggestion? when you will have rainy days at home, do not worry and think about the food of Sandra, the wines from Walter the sitting under the sun … of Tuscany and think about the next time you will be back at Le Renaie Hotel. The rain will disappear! Regards from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was the fourth time in eight years we stayed at this pleasant family run hotel. It has not changed much over the years and we find it just right for a relaxing week or so. The hotel has a perfect location for exploring lovely Tuscany during the day. Return to the hotel in the early evening, have a relaxing pre-dinner time on your own terrace, in the garden or by/in the swimming pool, and then enjoy a quiet dinner on the terrace. The food is good and the staff friendly and attentive. Very good vine recommendations they gave too. We always have all our dinners at the hotel, and all lunches at different locations in the region. We will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with its own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you so much for your comments about the stay with us. Four times during eight years, is really a lot. We appreciate the suggestions on the location as well, it is a big help for all the web visitors.
The waiters love to give suggestion of the wines. You realised we have essentially the local ones. We think it is good way, let the guests discover the area around, through the wines as well. Paola & all the staff at Le Renaie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is the first time I have ever bothered to write a review.
We returned on Sept. 22nd after a one week stay. No moans, groans or complaints just praise for this delightful, individual hotel.
The location is beautiful and peaceful. After a day out it was great to just shower and relax with a pre-dinner drink.
We ate in the restaurant every night (the menu changed 3 times during our stay) The food and the service were excellent. The meat and pasta dishes were particularly delicious and the terrace setting is perfect. The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays but the alternative one provided (10 minutes drive away) was fine.
Smiley and efficient staff with a great sense of humour. Any requests were dealt with promptly and politely during the whole of our stay.

We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest, we thank you and have appreciated a lot what you said about us.
The title it is a honour for us! I can assure that all of us try every day to give the best with simpleness and sincere affection. Your satisfaction is the best price we can get.
We hope to meet you again, Paola & all the staff at Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

As a couple we have just returned back to the UK after an excellent 7 night holiday
We found the hotel by chanmce on the net and were not dissapointed . It is ideally loctated in the hills and for us proved to be a perfect base for travelling out in the Chianti Region or further afield to Sienna and Florence ( by train ). The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff are warm and friendly without exception. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
We prefered to dine out from the hotel but did make use of the restaurant twice. If anything was dissapointing it was the range of breakfast options which was limited depending on what time you surfaced!
Special thanks to Paola for her humour, coffee making ( !) impressive language skills and for her knowledge of where to the avoid the tourists!
Sat here in th UK with heavy rain pounding outside we are thinking we should have booked a second week!

Room Tip: take a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidb186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear guests,
all of us at the Hotel Le Renaie, we thank you so much for the comments you leaved about staying with us. It is a pleasure to realise we did a good job, always the guests satisfaction is a great value for a hotel. We will take consideration of what you say about breakfast and verify what is possible to do and improve. Many, many personal thanks from me, I love to suggest the guests what they can visit nearby, even the little cached places and I hope to welcome you again in the future with my … caffe e latte !!! Bye from Pancole. Paola Verdolini / chief of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had actually booked another establishment in San Gimignano, but, on arrival, a faulty aircon system meant that staying there would have been uncomfortable in such high temperatures.
The owner of that venue helped us link up to the wonderful world wide web and we soon selected La Renaie as an alternative.
We arrived within 20 minutes of making the booking and everything was perfect.
Easy parking, a great welcome, clean bedroom and bathroom, and a welcoming swimming pool to cool us down.
The place seems to be run by an extended family, and they were all fantastically efficient and friendly - simply couldn't fault them at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmy9765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Proprietario at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear guest, we thank you so much for the comments you put on this web, you have been very kind. You are correct, the hotel is run by a local family. All the owners are working at the hotel, Mr Leonetto & his wife Mariana, the daughter Sandra who take care of the kitchen every day. They are not alone but helped by a staff of 6 persons. Working in the company since a long time, some times we can feel like at home. We hope to meet you again in the future and send a warm hello from Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Recently returned from a 2 week holiday staying at the Le Renaie and had a great time. I emailed ahead to confirm room arrangements and got a very helpful reply. When we arrived due to our length of stay they upgraded us to a room with balcony. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the hotel is comfortable and clean. The real star is the restaurant, which is open to the public as well as hotel guests. We stayed half board and had our choice of three courses from the same menu as everyone else. The food is fantastic which is shown in the popularity of the place. The location is great for exploring Tuscany but is a nicer quiet area to stay in. I would recommend the hotel and restaurant and would definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaie, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear guest,
the property, my colleagues and I, we read you comments with pleasure and are pleased to know your feedback. I think you have just recommended the best opportunities on staying with us and I thank you again for being so helpful.
I should say also, your satisfaction is our satisfaction as well, the best price a hotel might receive.
I hope to meet you again in the future and send warm regards from Le Renaie
Paola Verdolini chief of reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Property: Hotel Le Renaie
Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing