We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel has magnificent views in true Tuscan style. Gorgeous sunsets that slowly fall over the hills before melting onto the terracotta roof-scapes. The rooms were quite spacious for Italy, clean and the staff are friendly.

The actual hotel is not as central as some, but as we had hired a car - distance was not an issue.
It's a smaller "boutique" type hotel and has a nice warm feel to it. Family owned and run, with pleasant gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear guest,
many many thanks for your kindness. You used a very nice description to introduce our home and facilities. As you liked the gardens, than we invite you to come back during the good season when the plants are blooming and all around is a palette of colours! A warm hello from all of us at Le Renaie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    85
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
137
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for one night and had a lovely stay. Our room was very nice and well maintained with a large balcony. The surrounding area is beautiful - rolling hills, vineyards, and San Gimignano's buildings visible in the distance. The hotel is a short drive to the 'city' center. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had no issues with our booking. In my opinion it is much more than a three star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear guest, I would warmly thank you to the feedback you leaved on this web.
It is very kind of you for saying every thing, just in few words. I hope to meet you again in the future … may be a little longer the next time? Hello from Le Renaie Hotel
Paola Verdolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Great rural location handy for San Gimignano village. Clean, spacious room. Nice pool area. Very friendly and helpful staff - fixed a light bulb as soon as asked. We booked half-board and evening meals were tasty local cuisine. Always some choice and menu changed over the week so we always looked forward to trying something new. Food standards way better than larger package places and I'd say excellent given prices and the fact this is a three star hotel.

Plenty of social space inside and out so you could relax if that was what you wanted. An excellent base for visits to Florence, Siena although would advise having a car.

Downside? No significant problems. Breakfast buffet had lots of variety but as others have noted the hot food did run low some days towards the end of the slot. However, breakfast staff were always helpful and willing to sort you anything you needed.

I'd recommend Le Renaie highly and would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies. We were on the side nearest the minor road and this was perfectly qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for the good information you leaved on the site.
If a family small hotel in the country side means a driving distance, means to rent a car, means some time to get trouble in finding the right way to get there, on the other side the offered standard in the accommodations, in the facilities, in the kitchen preparations are better and some times unexpected, as you realised directly. Although, the distances to the most interesting sites are not bad, many are the opportunities of a one day trip from here.
Thank you also for recommending us to your friends. Together with the staff, I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel, the countryside around was beautiful and the location of the hotel was ideal for exploring the Tuscan countryside. We were half board and the evening meals were superb. The menu changed regularly and all the meals we had were delightful, I have never eaten so much! The service was of a the highest quality, attentive but not intrusive. I would recommend this hotel and would be very happy to stay there again. Our

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,
It is a pleasure to reading what you say about us. The property together with the staff are doing their job simply, and sincerely, we love to realise the satisfaction of our guests. Even if we work since a long time, your good words make us proud and give us the certitude of a good job. All of us at Le Renaie Hotel, we hope to meet you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in this really lovely hotel on the recommendation of Marcelle the founder of Italian Expressions and because they have never let us down we went along with what we thought was going to be something less than the mark.

It was a without doubt a fantastic setting amongst a typical quiet Tuscan village ...beautiful walks wonderful views of San Giminano in the near distance..lovely church and just the right easy accessibility/distance from San Giminano and some great medieval towns and sites.

Easy access to Florence by train from Certaldo (which itself is worth a visit) and we were able to have a few hours in the Uffizi gallery(sorry never been able to spell that) as well as take in shops...didnt bother with the fine dining this time around as we were saving ourseleves for the super supper at Le Renaie.

The hotel has a fantastic restaurant (known as the Leonetta) which is famous not only for the seriously good food also for the visits of the Blair family (although thankfully we did not see them during our stay).

The success of the experience is in no small measure to the hands on input from the proprietor and the really friendly and efficient staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are not vast but homely and a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony is a benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,
I thank you so much for all the very good information you had given about us and about sightseeing around. The kitchen staff and our chef Sandra in particular, they are very happy because you received a great satisfaction from their dinners, to which they give a hard attention every day and every evening. Concerning the famous English family, they came here at dinner, some years ago, when the family was used to have its holiday in the area around. But probably in the last years they went some where else. That’s why you couldn’t meet them. Warm regards from the staff at Le Renaie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

If I'm honest I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel booked at the last minute by my wife via Thompsons Holidays - but what a real treat! I'd echo all of the positive comments of other guests here. Food was great (I'd recommend the wild boar hunters style) the local wine delicious. I'm so pleased we went half-board.

The staff are excellent, friendly, cheerful and very helpful, shame the same can't be said for a lot of the staff in some of the areas other shops and restaurants.

Highly recommended, I'm sure we'll be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony overlook the gardens and are worth the extra cost. Don't worry that they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much to you, very special guest, that wasn’t expecting a lot here.
It is a pleasure to realise you have been very happy to stay with us and we remain at your complete disposal, when you would like to come again. May I just add a suggestion? when you will have rainy days at home, do not worry and think about the food of Sandra, the wines from Walter the sitting under the sun … of Tuscany and think about the next time you will be back at Le Renaie Hotel. The rain will disappear! Regards from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was the fourth time in eight years we stayed at this pleasant family run hotel. It has not changed much over the years and we find it just right for a relaxing week or so. The hotel has a perfect location for exploring lovely Tuscany during the day. Return to the hotel in the early evening, have a relaxing pre-dinner time on your own terrace, in the garden or by/in the swimming pool, and then enjoy a quiet dinner on the terrace. The food is good and the staff friendly and attentive. Very good vine recommendations they gave too. We always have all our dinners at the hotel, and all lunches at different locations in the region. We will return.

Room Tip: Get a room with its own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you so much for your comments about the stay with us. Four times during eight years, is really a lot. We appreciate the suggestions on the location as well, it is a big help for all the web visitors.
The waiters love to give suggestion of the wines. You realised we have essentially the local ones. We think it is good way, let the guests discover the area around, through the wines as well. Paola & all the staff at Le Renaie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Property: Hotel Le Renaie
Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing