We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite view in Italy”
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Looking down the hill through the humid haze, across a Tuscan valley of vineyards and olive groves, while sipping cold "aqua minerale con gasso" and wine next to pom-pom heaps of multi-colored geraniums and hydrangeas on the outdoor front portico-restaurant of Hotel Le Renaie -- is my favorite memory of our recent trip to Italy. (July 2013) We only stayed two days, but should have stayed a week to enjoy the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of the helpful staff.

We loved meeting the neat, non-English-speaking owner who might have been a little over five feet tall with his clipped, gray-pearl hair. He tended the bar, recommended wines, walked the beautiful grounds, and kindly tried to answer questions from non-Italian-speaking tourists. Their waiters were very accommodating and spoke English quite well. The front desk manager was very kind, efficient and helpful when we arrived to check-in and eat, just as their kitchen was closing. (Andrea Bocelli's benefit concert at a country villa venue had clogged the two-lane black top roads we were on for hours outside the small Northwestern town of Lajatico, Tuscany, where he was born). Le Renaie's kitchen staff fed us, even when we arrived at 9PM. Their meals were very good, but their wild boar dishes were excellent, especially when served with smiles, hand-made pasta, and such lovely views!

On our second day, after touring San Gimignano and climbing its tallest defensive bell tower on a very hot afternoon, we were too tired for a dip in the lovely, hedge-and-flower-surrounded pool behind the hotel, privately perched on a raised terrace. We would've liked to have stayed longer to relax and enjoy a wine & food tour of the countryside or perhaps use it as a base from which to tour Volterre, but we already had pre-paid reservations in Sienna.

Hotel Le Renaie is located several miles from San Gimignano, outside the community of Pancole, and can be somewhat difficult to for non-locals to find. From San Gimignano, take the right fork at the roundabout (watch for Pancole), proceed up hill for a mile or two, take a right when the road dead-ends, then follow it through the one-lane underpass under the Pancole church (stop and honk if it is dark to make sure no one is coming the other way), and continue beyond the tight little village another mile or so past other B&Bs and agriturismos until you see the small sign or lion pedestals on the left. It is not advisable to try to find it after dark. Most locals we encountered do not speak English, are not very good with directions (pointing in the opposite direction?), but are friendly.

Room Tip: If it is summer, keep your window shutters closed so that your room will remain cool during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaAdvisorGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear gentle guest,

many many thanks for your important description of Le Renaie Hotel, surrounding and thanks as well for giving road direction to reach us. You did a better job than we! It might be very helpful, with the booked guests to the hotel. Often the big companies do not furnish guests of the direction, even if we have given them to everybody.
Your description is so complete and full of details, that we cannot expect a better one!
Mr. Leonetto, the owner that you mentioned was very impressed and thank you for your nice words; he says: it’s my job, in my house, I’m very proud to welcome my guests, in the better possible way I learnt simply on working and I’m happy when my staff follow me.
All of us at Le Renaie, look forward to meet you again in the future for a long relaxing stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Have returned from a 5 day stay at the hotel - the food was amazing and the staff were very useful in helping us to get to places. We really enjoyed being so close to San Gimingnano. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Many many thanks,
for your feedback. You are very nice. Yes you are right: the vicinity to San Gimignano allows the visitors to reach easily the most important Tuscan locations. On the other side, the distance to the main centre consents visitors a relaxing peaceful stay.
Regards from Le Renaie Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

After completing a cruise from Barcelona to Venice we headed south in a hired car to a small place called Pancole. This is where we would spend the next 5 nights. Our very comfortable room looked out over vines and olive trees.
The hotel is close to many historical places in Tuscany which are accessible by car or train.

Driving through the countryside is both challenging and spectacular.
Their restaurant is also good value for money
Well worth it - give it a bash

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for the nice comment about us and the area around. You had a nice journey, the cruise in the Mediterranean sea and 5 days with us, in the beautiful green hills of Tuscany. So they are at the moment, the best period of the year for the nature and greenery!
Hope to meet you again with a green hello from Le Renaie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just arrived home after staying at La Renaie for a wonderful week. La Renaie is a family run hotel set in the rolling landscape of Tuscany . The view from our balcony was of a lovely garden, woodland, vines, olive trees and medieval hilltop villages with their towers and cypress trees. We woke everyday to a chorus of birdsong. We walked along the Via Francegenia lined with a filigree of wild flowers. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was easygoing and peaceful..just what we needed. The food and local wine was soooo tasty. We easily drove to Siena ( magical) and hopped on a train at nearby Certaldo ( great coffee and pastry cafe outside station) to Florence ...Well worth the visit...La Renaie is at the heart of beautiful Tuscany and away from busy tourist spots at the end of your day .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marymaryqqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear guests,
many many thanks for your fantastic description of the hotel and the area around (better than an advertiser!!). Your comment was specially nice for us, as we are going to realise a photo gallery of the wonderland for our web site. It will be ready I hope in a short time and you can have a look later on, may be you will recognise the flowers, the panoramas you passed through, walking the via Francigena. We would be happy to meet you again in the future, with a warm hello from Le Renaie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Family run hotel in the Tuscan countryside close to San Gimi although a car is essential in order to visit the many medieval towns nearby. Homely atmosphere with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Comfy lounge with outdoor seating, pool and gardens. Large bedrooms with safe, firm bed and good storage space. Bathroom more than reasonably sized although the corner (quadrant-shaped) shower cubicle was on the small side. Other rooms also have a bath. Breakfast choice was sufficient although the cooked option was poor and coffee was from a vending machine but tasted fine. Evening meals were very good, well served (thanks to Walter) and better than that offered at the neighbouring hotel when Le Renaie is closed on Tuesdays. A very enjoyable and relaxing stay after a city break in Florence beforehand.

Room Tip: Could request a balcony for 20 euros per night but normal rooms were large enough and had restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandab4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear guest,
many thanks for your nice words about the hotel and location. We particularly thank you for the comments about the restaurant, Sandra the chef and Walter the waiter, they are still smiling all the day long, after reading your writing!!
About the breakfast, we are happy to prepare the most requested cooked foods for that service, depending essentially on the hotel guests uses and we will be glad to receive suggestions to improve. We would be happy to meet you again in the future, with a warm hello from Le Renaie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel has magnificent views in true Tuscan style. Gorgeous sunsets that slowly fall over the hills before melting onto the terracotta roof-scapes. The rooms were quite spacious for Italy, clean and the staff are friendly.

The actual hotel is not as central as some, but as we had hired a car - distance was not an issue.
It's a smaller "boutique" type hotel and has a nice warm feel to it. Family owned and run, with pleasant gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear guest,
many many thanks for your kindness. You used a very nice description to introduce our home and facilities. As you liked the gardens, than we invite you to come back during the good season when the plants are blooming and all around is a palette of colours! A warm hello from all of us at Le Renaie Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for one night and had a lovely stay. Our room was very nice and well maintained with a large balcony. The surrounding area is beautiful - rolling hills, vineyards, and San Gimignano's buildings visible in the distance. The hotel is a short drive to the 'city' center. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we had no issues with our booking. In my opinion it is much more than a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear guest, I would warmly thank you to the feedback you leaved on this web.
It is very kind of you for saying every thing, just in few words. I hope to meet you again in the future … may be a little longer the next time? Hello from Le Renaie Hotel
Paola Verdolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,390 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
825 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
640 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#14 of 29 in San Gimignano
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing