We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Renaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Renaie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent a 3 day weekend during July in San Gimignano during our 3 month European Adventure and have always used Trip Advisor when selecting our hotels. On this occasion i can tell you that Trip Advisor got it wrong!

On arrival at Le Renaie, we were greeted with a very un-interested receptionist who made us feel like we were a chore for her to check us in. It was 4pm and our room wasn't ready. We were asked to wait for 'a while' for our room. 1 hour and 55 mins later (with no apology or offer of a glass of water even) we were given the room keys to the most depressing room ('box' or 'cell' would more aptly describe the room).

Given the extra hours they had to clean the room you would hope that it was spotless but im afraid to say it wasnt. Not by any means! My wife pulled back the sheets to find curly hairs!!! Clearly the sheets were not changed!

The bathroom had hair all over the floor and the shower was mouldy.

I feel that either we were given the worst room in the hotel or all of the reviews on here are totally inaccurate.

The hotel grounds looked like their gardener was on holidays, and had been for some time!

When i asked the receptionist why the hotel was rated so highly on Trip Advisor but in relality was extremely poor and in need of some serious tlc she replied that if we didnt like it that we didnt have to stay there!!! Definitely not what i expected to hear!!!

We did spend one night, after we got replacement sheets (of which we were handed through the door and told to make it ourselves) but couldnt stand it any longer so we checked out and left.

For a much better option i recommend you stay at Hotel Vecchio Asilo - money well spent! Too bad we were refused a refund from Le Renaie for the 2 nights not used.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mr. Brian, we have seen with great attention ( and surprise ) your review. We did contact TripAdvisor and required to remove the review itself with greatest possible priority, as published in the wrong Hotel profile. We are sure you never stayed at Hotel Le Renaie, by Pancole of San Gimignano, Siena province. We feel this is a pure mistake and you may have stayed at a property in tuscany, perhaps not too far from here, with a similar name. I am sure, if you will review your travel documents you will see the correct name and contacts of the hotel that hosted your stay. For any further information, please feel free to contact us privately and be always confident in our kindness and assistance. kindest regards Paola Verdolini - Reception and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    85
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
137
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent a week at Le Renaie with our two teenage children. We had a fantastic stay. The hotel is family run with friendly staff who were always willing to help. We arrived mid afternoon after the restaurant had closed but the receptionist was still able to produce a lunch for the four of us using fresh ingredients. We stayed half board and can highly recommend the restaurant, especially the fresh pasta, wild boar and local wines. The hotel is ideally situated as a base for exploring Tuscany. It's about an 80 minute drive from Pisa airport. There's also a train station in Certaldo which is only 15 minutes away by car and has ample free parking. We used the train to travel to Florence and Siena. The hotel has an outside pool that was great to return to after a hard day's site seeing during July. As with the rest of the hotel and garden the pool and surrounding area was clean, tidy and well maintained. There was also a table tennis table available to keep teenage children amused while their parents relaxed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear gentle guest,

many thanks for your feedback to this important web site.
The given information full of details respect exactly what Hotel Le Renaie is. The hotel facilities, the location, the central position of our house is able to offer a special journey sightseeing one of the nicest area of Tuscany and take some relaxing time to the pool, in the flowered garden. We are glad that you appreciate our hospitality, simple atmosphere, the cuisine, the job of the staff, by the Tuscan way. A warm hello from Pancole – Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Looking down the hill through the humid haze, across a Tuscan valley of vineyards and olive groves, while sipping cold "aqua minerale con gasso" and wine next to pom-pom heaps of multi-colored geraniums and hydrangeas on the outdoor front portico-restaurant of Hotel Le Renaie -- is my favorite memory of our recent trip to Italy. (July 2013) We only stayed two days, but should have stayed a week to enjoy the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of the helpful staff.

We loved meeting the neat, non-English-speaking owner who might have been a little over five feet tall with his clipped, gray-pearl hair. He tended the bar, recommended wines, walked the beautiful grounds, and kindly tried to answer questions from non-Italian-speaking tourists. Their waiters were very accommodating and spoke English quite well. The front desk manager was very kind, efficient and helpful when we arrived to check-in and eat, just as their kitchen was closing. (Andrea Bocelli's benefit concert at a country villa venue had clogged the two-lane black top roads we were on for hours outside the small Northwestern town of Lajatico, Tuscany, where he was born). Le Renaie's kitchen staff fed us, even when we arrived at 9PM. Their meals were very good, but their wild boar dishes were excellent, especially when served with smiles, hand-made pasta, and such lovely views!

On our second day, after touring San Gimignano and climbing its tallest defensive bell tower on a very hot afternoon, we were too tired for a dip in the lovely, hedge-and-flower-surrounded pool behind the hotel, privately perched on a raised terrace. We would've liked to have stayed longer to relax and enjoy a wine & food tour of the countryside or perhaps use it as a base from which to tour Volterre, but we already had pre-paid reservations in Sienna.

Hotel Le Renaie is located several miles from San Gimignano, outside the community of Pancole, and can be somewhat difficult to for non-locals to find. From San Gimignano, take the right fork at the roundabout (watch for Pancole), proceed up hill for a mile or two, take a right when the road dead-ends, then follow it through the one-lane underpass under the Pancole church (stop and honk if it is dark to make sure no one is coming the other way), and continue beyond the tight little village another mile or so past other B&Bs and agriturismos until you see the small sign or lion pedestals on the left. It is not advisable to try to find it after dark. Most locals we encountered do not speak English, are not very good with directions (pointing in the opposite direction?), but are friendly.

Room Tip: If it is summer, keep your window shutters closed so that your room will remain cool during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaAdvisorGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear gentle guest,

many many thanks for your important description of Le Renaie Hotel, surrounding and thanks as well for giving road direction to reach us. You did a better job than we! It might be very helpful, with the booked guests to the hotel. Often the big companies do not furnish guests of the direction, even if we have given them to everybody.
Your description is so complete and full of details, that we cannot expect a better one!
Mr. Leonetto, the owner that you mentioned was very impressed and thank you for your nice words; he says: it’s my job, in my house, I’m very proud to welcome my guests, in the better possible way I learnt simply on working and I’m happy when my staff follow me.
All of us at Le Renaie, look forward to meet you again in the future for a long relaxing stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Have returned from a 5 day stay at the hotel - the food was amazing and the staff were very useful in helping us to get to places. We really enjoyed being so close to San Gimingnano. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Many many thanks,
for your feedback. You are very nice. Yes you are right: the vicinity to San Gimignano allows the visitors to reach easily the most important Tuscan locations. On the other side, the distance to the main centre consents visitors a relaxing peaceful stay.
Regards from Le Renaie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

After completing a cruise from Barcelona to Venice we headed south in a hired car to a small place called Pancole. This is where we would spend the next 5 nights. Our very comfortable room looked out over vines and olive trees.
The hotel is close to many historical places in Tuscany which are accessible by car or train.

Driving through the countryside is both challenging and spectacular.
Their restaurant is also good value for money
Well worth it - give it a bash

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for the nice comment about us and the area around. You had a nice journey, the cruise in the Mediterranean sea and 5 days with us, in the beautiful green hills of Tuscany. So they are at the moment, the best period of the year for the nature and greenery!
Hope to meet you again with a green hello from Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerwys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just arrived home after staying at La Renaie for a wonderful week. La Renaie is a family run hotel set in the rolling landscape of Tuscany . The view from our balcony was of a lovely garden, woodland, vines, olive trees and medieval hilltop villages with their towers and cypress trees. We woke everyday to a chorus of birdsong. We walked along the Via Francegenia lined with a filigree of wild flowers. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was easygoing and peaceful..just what we needed. The food and local wine was soooo tasty. We easily drove to Siena ( magical) and hopped on a train at nearby Certaldo ( great coffee and pastry cafe outside station) to Florence ...Well worth the visit...La Renaie is at the heart of beautiful Tuscany and away from busy tourist spots at the end of your day .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marymaryqqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear guests,
many many thanks for your fantastic description of the hotel and the area around (better than an advertiser!!). Your comment was specially nice for us, as we are going to realise a photo gallery of the wonderland for our web site. It will be ready I hope in a short time and you can have a look later on, may be you will recognise the flowers, the panoramas you passed through, walking the via Francigena. We would be happy to meet you again in the future, with a warm hello from Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Family run hotel in the Tuscan countryside close to San Gimi although a car is essential in order to visit the many medieval towns nearby. Homely atmosphere with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Comfy lounge with outdoor seating, pool and gardens. Large bedrooms with safe, firm bed and good storage space. Bathroom more than reasonably sized although the corner (quadrant-shaped) shower cubicle was on the small side. Other rooms also have a bath. Breakfast choice was sufficient although the cooked option was poor and coffee was from a vending machine but tasted fine. Evening meals were very good, well served (thanks to Walter) and better than that offered at the neighbouring hotel when Le Renaie is closed on Tuesdays. A very enjoyable and relaxing stay after a city break in Florence beforehand.

Room Tip: Could request a balcony for 20 euros per night but normal rooms were large enough and had restricted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gandab4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear guest,
many thanks for your nice words about the hotel and location. We particularly thank you for the comments about the restaurant, Sandra the chef and Walter the waiter, they are still smiling all the day long, after reading your writing!!
About the breakfast, we are happy to prepare the most requested cooked foods for that service, depending essentially on the hotel guests uses and we will be glad to receive suggestions to improve. We would be happy to meet you again in the future, with a warm hello from Le Renaie Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pancole
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renaie

Property: Hotel Le Renaie
Address: Localita Pancole 10B, 53037 Pancole, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Pancole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pancole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renaie 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Le Renaie Hotel" is located in the little village of Pancole, just about 5 kilometres from San Gimignano. The hotel approaches the road named “via Francigena”, the ancient famous way that linked Italy to North Europe, for a long time. Very tranquil position, familial atmosphere in a simple ambience, of the country side.Simple, easy interiors where wooden furnishing stand out and all over Florentine terracotta. Pastel colours, flowered tissues decorate the lodge, the dining room and all the accommodations. All of them are fixed with modern equipment in order to grant the needed comfort during the stay. Superior rooms with a large terrace over the garden or the pool. Our guests can enjoy a splendid flowered garden, an open-air swimming-pool, a playground for kids, a private parking and the renowned “Leonetto restaurant”, the owners themselves manage the kitchen with a century of experience and knowledge of the real Tuscan cuisine. Free internet point and free WI-FI access are available in the lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Renaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Renaie Hotel
Le Renaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing