We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot. Attentive and gracious hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of VILLINO DEL GRILLO

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pancole, San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
123geoffj
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spot. Attentive and gracious hosts.”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This apartment is in a former barn/cellar of a small working farm. As such it is not luxurious and is rather dark: barns don't have many windows!
Having said that, it was excellent value for money and perfectly adequate for a couple, though would be a squash for any more.
The really strong points are its location on a quiet country lane, but in easy reach of all the main Tuscany tourist "must visits": Siena, Firenzi, San Gimignano, Voltera, etc. The local town of Certaldo also has a lovely medieval walled citadel.
The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, and really do want you to have a great time in Tuscany.
Whilst a car is pretty much essential, Sienna and Firenzi are much easier to visit by train from Certaldo, avoiding the horrendous parking issues in these towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners and location
Liked least: Living area rather dark and gloomy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review.
I regret that the Villino del Grillo is not completely to your liking.
However, I take this opportunity to provide some explanations to our future customers:
In San Gimignano Farmholiday - Agriturismo can be created only with the renovations of the old barns and old farmhouses used for agricultural activities.
The Villino del Grillo is born from a small barn of which the size and the rustic Tuscan style have been retained. The bedroom (14 sq.m.) is equipped with a large window, much larger than the current window. The living room, in addition to the input port, is provided with a wide door-glass window, which leads to a large terrace leading to the garden and sun-drenched for most of the day.
I would like to point out that to get the license to host people like "Farmholiday - Agriturismo" we must respect very strict rules, especially with regard to the size of the windows than the size of the room.
Obviously the size of Villno the Grillo are not suitable for large families.
I want to conclude by once again thanking the author of this review, because even critical for us are very important, as they help us make improvements Villino del Grillo, when possible.

Giovanni.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historymu...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villino de Grillo absolutely bellissimo!!!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A comfortable, well equipped, beautifully converted cottage with lovely typical rustic features, nestled into the hillside among Vines, Mulberry & Cherry trees & sweet smelling Jasmine, with amazing views of San Gimingano just a short walk up the hill.
Giovanni & Silvia and all the family are friendly, helpful & generous providing very tasty new laid eggs & their home produced wine which was very good indeed.
We highly recommend Villino de Grillo to have the full Tuscan experience, peace, quiet, scenery & generous hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tuscan hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
Be available with our customers is always a pleasure.
It 's very interesting to know new people and different cultures.
The Villino del Grillo is a piece of our heart and is always a great satisfaction to make happy our clients.
Giovanni and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preglad
New York
Level 6 Contributor
960 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“If a week's stay in Tuscany could be better, we don't need to know of it”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Villino del Grillo consists of everything ideally suited for a wonderful pampered and rustic though convenient stay in the San Gimignano area of Tuscany. Yet it is clearly so much more than its wonderful parts, with bonuses so generous, and a family delightful to encounter and get to know just a bit.

We read through the book on arrival as well as the advance TripAdvisor reviews. Yet nothing prepares one for the myriad of pleasures of a week here, and it's clear that leaving for further adventures elsewhere comes a bit of a mixed blessing.

I have been traveling over a lifetime through almost twenty European countries, almost half of them many times and lengthily involving each engagement. Nothing by way of accommodation has even proven itself more memorable than being here, and very few approach the level of sheer pleasure we experienced in our week at Villino del Grillo.

Book early or someone else will steal the opportunity from under your nose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facility and setting are lovely, the family wonderful and the bonuses very generous
Liked least: Having to leave by far--
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Dear Bernard and Mary

Thank you so much for your review.
Your description is beautiful, almost heart-warming.
Silvia has been deeply moved by your beautiful words.
For us, your gesture is important, it is priceless.
Any our description about the Villino del Grillo, could never be comparable to your review.
You have truly appreciated the true soul of the Villino del Grillo. You this way, you have shown that our commitment to make the Cottage a special place, was successful.
Thank you, thank you and thank you again.
You were two guests really special.
We hope to see again you again very soon.

Giovanni and Silvia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme71
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation of this standard is extremely rare. We stayed just two nights in Giovanni and Silivana's country cottage, but wish we could have stayed much longer. It is peaceful, scrupulously clean, and has everything visitors could ever wish for. The area around is simply beautiful, and the cottage has a rustic charm and tranquility. We were given fresh eggs, firewood and even local wine on arrival. The cottage has been lovingly restored with every luxury included.
It is impossible to fault Villino Del Grillo. For charming, warm, ultra-clean accommodation in a quiet area close to San Gimignano, you could not do better. The owners are both delightful, kind and helpful people who are a pleasure to deal with. Thank you both for make our stay so totally enjoyable and stress-free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Dear Graeme and Pat

My wife and I do not exaggerate if we say that we moved in reading your review.
You have perfectly described our desires.
Every day we work to make the cottage unique, comfortable, extremely clean, private and cozy.
Thank you so much for your beautiful words.
We hope to see you again.

Giovanni and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Anne...
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Villino del Grillo gave us the trip of a life time”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How can you merely give stars to the most amazing family and comfortable stay my husband and I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. The Pierantozzis have thought of everything to give you every convenience in a clean and beautiful private cottage. We can never thank Govanni Silivia Pietro Giorgio and Gratiana enough for maing all of our dreams and wishes come true. If you are fortunate enough to stay here we guarantee that you will also the same expierence.
We are so grateful to the Pierantozzis. Thank you for EVERYTHING.
Robert and Mary Anne Hurst
Arizona USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The family and cottage
Liked least: Nothing everything was wonderful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Dear friends

When I read your review I was really moved.
When in 2004 I decided to create by my hands the "Villino del Grillo," I would never have dreamed of hosting people from the United States. Now that the dream has come true and that these guests were so happy, although I am incredibly happy. Thanks, thanks and thanks again.
Your presence at the Villino del Grillo has given us so much joy.
A warm hug from John and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forssa, Finland
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Natural and harmonious atmosphere, Toscana views
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2015
Thank you for your review.

We are very happy to have made your holiday unforgettable.
We will always try to improve our service, so that the Villino del Grillo is a special place for our guests.

Giovanni and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nico G
1 review
“Our stay in the house was very comfortable.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay in the house was very comfortable. Giovanni and Sylvia, the "landlords" are really sweet people. They equipped the apartment with almost everything we needed in the house. ( non food )
The apartment is a 300 year old beautiful restored barn, with fantastic kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Everything proper and decent. Also a garden with lots of privacy is included.
We visited St Gimignano, Certaldo ( old City ) Firenze and several times Siena. Siena is a "must see".
pity, we had to leave just before the Palio. Look it up on the internet. It's a big event. A horse race in the centre of the city.
In fact, the apartment is more near Certaldo, than to St Gimignano. But from this apartment, on the mountain, you have a view of both Cities.
In our opinion the location is for people we want a quiet stay and rest and enjoy nature. (Toscany)

Giovanni and Sylvia: Thanx !!

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2015
Dear friends.

Your review is beautiful.
We are very feliche you enjoyed the true nature of the Villino del Grillo.
Guests like you give us the strength to continue to work to make the Villino del Grillo a unique and unforgettable.
Many greetings and see you soon.

Giovanni and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing