We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent C2C stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Postgate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egton Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Postgate Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Egton Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent C2C stopover”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was a perfect stay near the end of the Coast to Coast walk. The room was very nice, with good bed and bathroom. We stayed on a Sunday evening, and the restaurant was very lively, and the food exquisite!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bj0rnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    58
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
68
153
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ascot
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for dinner. Very busy little bar area and clearly very popular with locals and visitors. Wide choice of options all chalked up around the fireplace. Food was really very good and the portions huge. Service good. Good selection of ales.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryTravellerAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Postgate Inn to break our journey north. We booked it at the very last minute after trying to find somewhere in or near Whitby, a town we love.

There are only three rooms and ours (room 3) was a bit on the small side but that was made up for by the large comfortable bed-one of the comfiest we have slept in. The room had everything we needed though we had to unplug the TV temporarily to enable us to boil the kettle! There was a bottle of water each-an extra we always appreciate and nice biscuits.

The hotel is set amongst lots of greenery right beside the railway station and bridge but we had no problems with noise from it and it would have been very handy if you want to leave your car behind and explore by train.

Mark, the landlord, was a larger than life character who made us very welcome as did his wife. As for Peanuts, the resident long coated Jack Russell, we were all set to kidnap her as she was so affectionate.

All the above meant that the Postgate Inn was very nice but what really made it was the food, especially the evening meal. As previous reviewers have said, the dishes are all written up on a multitude of blackboards in the bar so you need to choose your meal before heading for the restaurant across the corridor. We actually took a photograph of the menus to make it easier. Whilst not cheap the food was excellent value, freshly cooked and very hot. The number of people going to this slightly off the beaten track restaurant demonstrates the quality and popularity of the food and the location.

We probably won't stay at the Postgate Inn again as a stop off point on our journey home from Leicestershire to Aberdeen as it took us further out of our way than we expected. We would, however definitely make a point of eating there if we are ever on holiday in the area in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinM_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just stayed at the Postgate for 4 nights (26th - 29th May 2014) and had a fantastic short break, despite the weather not quite being as we would have wanted.

We specifically chose it for it's good reviews, locality to Whitby and the moors and because we could take our dog.

We were not disappointed. The rooms were satisfactory for our needs, and the food was out of this world, and we were well looked after by the landlord and his family.

A big thankyou and we hope to be back soon.

P, L and Charlie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped here for two nights and could not fault anything.It's a lovely old pub where you can eat either in the bar or in the restaurant.We had a nice room and it was lovely and warm which was good as the weather was poor.The food was some of the best we have eaten and a lot of the dishes you don't normally see in a pub. The fish dishes were amazing and there is a great choice.The landlord Mark who is also the chef is a real character he made us feel at home straight away as did the rest of the staff. The pub is set in a quiet location with a nice beer garden at the front.Great produce, great chef,great pub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilbert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not sure about this place, we arrived middle afternoon and rang bell several times before being let in.We were greeted warmly and taken to our room which was small and crampted. The property was nice in an old fashioned sort of way but very noisey all afternoon and early evening, people and dogs running up and down the stairs. Went downstairs for an evening meal but the place was very busy so went to local pub where we had very good meal in friendly atmosphere. There wasn't any information inside our room so went down for breakfast at eight am. Breakfast ok, nothing special, We were charged £5 more than the agreed price when I booked and when we left and shouted goodbye to our host we didn't receive a reply. Not one of the best b&bs we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindatem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We went here for a family meal for my mums birthday. We saw it when my sister went past on a bike ride and from the outside it looked a very nice country pub. So we went there and that was the best meal we have ever had in our lives. I had a sirloin steak and that was cooked to perfection! It was so succulent and tender. All my family enjoyed their meals and we couldn't fault it. Our waitress was so polite and helpful. She made a very good impression for the pub. The service was very good and the food portions were the right size. Overall we couldn't fault the pub one bit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egton Bridge
3.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
696 reviews
5.5 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,939 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broom House
Broom House
#2 of 2 in Egton Bridge
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#146 of 152 in Whitby
37 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Postgate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Postgate Inn

Property: The Postgate Inn
Address: Egton Bridge, North York Moors National Park YO21 1UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Egton Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Egton Bridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Postgate Hotel Whitby
Postgate Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing