We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare from the start!”

Scallywags Grub and Spirits
Ranked #7 of 12 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nightmare from the start!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Went there on a Saturday night and was met with the most rude,disrespectful, and condescending attitude imaginable by the OWNER. Please do not go there...ever

Helpful?
5 Thank Buffalo045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pirate Decor and Good Food.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A fun atmosphere at Scallywags which presents some really good food and a martini menu hard to pass up. Plenty of beer selections on tap and bottled. They have a chicken wing menu with some creative choices, including grilled wings. We loved the Caribbean music, a nice change from the usual rock. The location on Old Lakeshore Road affords a lovely trip viewing the beautiful homes on the Lake Erie shoreline. While not on the water, it doesn't matter the ambiance makes up for it. This is a local favorite and well run. It's worth the trip which is probably about 15 minutes from Hamburg. Kids will love the pirate decor and there are good things on the little matey menu. I noticed another diner's Caribbean Shrimp Salad, it looked sooo good, next time. But my burger was really good, I went home happy. Open for dinner only, Tuesday through Saturday opening at 4!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneKN_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grab Some Good Grub”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Don't let the name fool you Scallywags is a neighborhood restaurant locally owned on Old Lakeshore Road in Derby. In fact, for those of you traveling to visit Graycliff (the Frank Lloyd Wright) Estate it is an excellent stop for lunch or dinner as it is approx. only a 1 mile away. Scallywags is a pirate themed restaurant where you will find "Pirates of Carribean" playing on the flat screen in the dining room. In fact, children will love all of the pirate stuff scattered throughout the restaurant and bar. Wednesday night was wing night ($.40) after 7 pm, as well as, crab night all-you-ca-eat for $29.99. I had the wings and loaded french fries which were excellent. The wings are big and amazing - I had the garlic parm wings, however, they offer several other choices. Scallywags is a great little place on Old Lakeshore Road and right off of Rt. 5 - stop and grab some grub or spirits!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsEvil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Place!!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I love that Bar and Restaurant. I go there all the time. It has a great atmosphere, your always greeted by the Owner Deebe which at most places you never see them. The whole staff is very nice and always welcome you. My favorite meal is The Philly cheese steak with stuffed peppers. mmm.. so good!!! Looking for great drinks just Ask Deebe you make you something good, she can create anything.. She can make some awesome drinks. Also the Kitchen Staff does a great job on presentation with all the plates... The Head Chef is a great young man, he is very friendly and always has great specials on the menu. Awesome Job Scallywags!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcmuffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foerstville ny
1 review
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Went to scallywags ecause it was my daughters birthday july18 of last year.,it was great the food was wonderful, service was great. E had. Good time. Will be going back tomorrow for my other daughters birthday we can't wait.i'm having the steak salad, best salad ever.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scallywags Grub and Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Scallywags Grub and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing