We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, best hosts ever!”
Review of Dexter 1855 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dexter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dexter 1855 House
Ranked #1 of 1 Dexter B&B and Inns
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect location, best hosts ever!”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I decided to take a weekend getaway and explore the Thousand Islands region. The Dexter 1855 House seemed like the perfect spot to stay. We stayed in the Lincoln Room. The house was clean and had lots of beautiful antiques. The breakfasts were amazing. The first morning the other guests were so enjoyable we sat at the table for 2 hours. We would definately stay again thanks to the warm hospitality, it felt like home.

Room Tip: Lincoln room is on the first floor and has it's own entrance and use of a front porch. Traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Brookfield, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Deb and Bob were wonderful down to earth genuine folks that made you feel right at home and welcome. I enjoyed my stay so much we stayed and extra night. The breakfasts are amazing...the beds are perfect. Everything was just wonderful and we will be heading back their way one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Lopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our stay was made very pleasant by the helpful host & hostess. Our breakfast choices were many and the food was good and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovevacationingalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sprakers, NY
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband and I was traveling thru the thousands island area for our Honeymoon. We came across the 1855 house. Superb! enchanting, and wonderfully delightful! Our host were very down to earth and the stay was quite memorable. We are excited to be returning this fall. Hope you have room for us.....LOL Mark & Armeda Darrow Sprakers, NY

Room Tip: we stayed in the Maple Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMEDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

What a delightful experience our stay was at the Dexter 1885 House! From the moment we arrived, the owners and hosts Deb and Bob Harmann made us feel like we were home and among family. Going to sleep at night was a treat, falling deeply into sleep with the luxurious high thread count sheets and fluffy duvet. We woke up in the morning to a gourmet, full course breakfast straight out of pages of Bon Appetite magazine. We recommend the 1855 Bed and Breakfast to anyone who’s looking for a special Victorian-themed get-away. We plan on treating ourselves annually to a stay in this role model Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lincoln room, which featured an enormous king-sized bed, and access to another, pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Debbie and Robert are amazing hosts and made me feel welcome and right at home. I stayed at the The Leonard-Gilmore Room, a beautiful Victorian room with a large bedroom and a separate sitting area. You can feel the amount of love and care that goes into decorating and maintaining the house. When I first walked into the house, I saw a beautiful Christmas tree as well as was greeted with the smell of freshly baked cookies. If that does not get you into the holiday spirit, I don’t know what will! I felt very comfortable and safe and am so glad that I discovered this amazing B&B in Dexter, NY(no more chain hotels in Watertown for me). The breakfast was superb and I could not have asked for better hosts. I will keep coming back for all my future trips out to NY!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naftusja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I loved every minute I spent in the house. The food was excellent, and Deb and Bob were very helpful with directions as well as being interesting to talk to. The food may have been the best part! Some of the best breakfast I have ever had. The overall experience at Dexter house was excellent. My whole family loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dexter
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
5.5 mi away
The Inn at 81
The Inn at 81
#8 of 14 in Watertown
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands
5.7 mi away
Ontario Place Hotel now Harbor House Inn
5.2 mi away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dexter 1855 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexter 1855 House

Property: Dexter 1855 House
Address: 414 Brown Street, Dexter, NY 13634
Region: United States > New York > Dexter
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dexter
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing