We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and welcoming resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent and welcoming resort”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed here two times with two separate group of friends; we were thrilled with the hospitality each time! The owners are very friendly and accommodating; in fact, they gave us an extra room one night even if we did not book it. The room connected two separate bedrooms. Instead of squeezing on four beds, we were able to enjoy the spacious two bedrooms because of their generosity.

The kayaks are the key to this resort; you can rent them for free as long as you go early in the morning to reserve them. The view is beautiful, and kayaking on Lake George is to die for! There is also a fire pit at the resort, and we enjoyed making a fire while looking out to the lake at night.

Overall, if you are looking for a relaxing weekend at a great price, this is the place to be! I would come back again for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    67
    18
    14
    26
See reviews for
135
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. We were the only guests staying so had the whole place to ourselves. Bob made us feel really welcome and is a mine of handy hints & tips round the area. The Lake was beautiful and being able to use the kayaks as much as you wanted was heaven. The rooms and resort were very clean and super peaceful. Beds could be a little more comfy but otherwise everything bar the weather was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Golden sands is the perfect place for a family vacation. It's right on the lake and close enough to the attractions of lake George. This year, we went to the drive in movie, horseback riding, the fun zone, and fishing. My family loves to use the kayaks and relax on the beach. The rooms are clean and equipped with everything you need for a relaxing week. My kids love the fire pit on the beach since that guarantees them a week of s'mores. There is also a nicely sized grassy area where the kids were able to play soccer, lacrosse, and baseball. Bob is a great guy and goes out of his way to make sure his guests are having a great time!! We hate to leave every year!!!! It's such a relaxing vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhaven, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just stayed there this past weekend and we had a great time. The staff is friendly and the resort is well kept. It's one of the more affordable rentals and it is directly on the lake. It has a nice little beach area that we really enjoyed. As an extra touch they have kayaks. The fishing was good too. We had a great time. But no free coffee as advertised.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

we come back 2to3 times a year,always clean and peaceful..bob is always on site to make sure you have a great stay...the view is great,,just far enough outside the village..thanks again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was our second stay at the golden sands we loved it last year and again this year.bob and the staff were great. You really can't beat the view from the beach. Looking forward to next year, thanks again golden sands.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the lake front rooms. Waking up in the morning having the beach right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plainviewpals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Square, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Our family of 5 stayed there for 3 days from 7/9-7/11/12. We had 2 connecting rooms, 4 queen-size beds, 2 b.r.'s. Hotel is set on the lake, and about 5 mls from shopping/restaurants/attractions. Very helpful, pleasant staff and owner, and allowed a later check-out. Overall, a great value for the money. Also recommend Capt.Bob for boat rentals.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arturo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.1 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
237 reviews
3.4 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#10 of 88 in Lake George
280 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#23 of 88 in Lake George
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Property: Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Address: 3654 Lake Shore Dr, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6717
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing