We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We contacted the resort to make reservations and were told that a payment must be made to reserve a room, but that they do not accept credit cards over the phone, so we would need to mail a money order. I found this a bit of an inconvenience, requesting your guests to send a money order just to save a few points on credit card services, but I proceeded to obtain and mail a money order to complete our reservation of 2 rooms. My parents and my husband and myself then booked our vacation time from work. I showed my 6 year old son the pictures of the resort and told him all the thing we could do there and he was very excited. 21 days after our initial phonecall I receive in the mail our money order returned and a letter advising us that the room had been let to someone else because our money order took longer than the week deadline to get to them. I guess that, due to the fact that we had to take a few days to get the money order, and we are in Canada, the letter took longer than a week to reach the resort. 13 days according the Bob. There are several things with this situation that illustrate the lack of quality customer service. First, the resort could accept credit cards over the phone. Failing that, the resort could have contacted us before renting out our room and we could have told them that we sent the money order awhile ago. And as a last resort, they should have contacted us via telephone or email (as we had previously been communicating) to advise us that we no longer held a reservation there, to allow us time to attempt to get a reservation elsewhere. Instead they mailed us a letter which we received 21 days after making the original reservation. We are supposed to be leaving in a week and a half from now so we are left with a very short amount of time to find alternate arrangements in order to salvage our vacation. In addition, Bob was quite rude on the phone when we contacted him about recieving his letter and actually went so far as to insult my husband, calling him "condescending". I am sure that Bob will address this review on trip advisor shortly with some defense of his actions pointing to their policies on their website, but I think that a resort's policy should also include some common sense, decency and a genuine attempt at customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
16  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We met our daughter from Long Island and spent 4 days at Golden Sands.Bob was very personable and great staff.Clean sheets,towels and room,every day.
Not a bad trip from Connecticut.
Hopefully,we will go again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary_AnneWinsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

After reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided upon Golden Sands for a long weekend visit. I made a reservation with Bob over the phone and he was very pleasant to deal with. Once we arrived, we were a bit surprised by the condition of the room considering this was rated the #2 hotel in Diamond Point. There was an overwhelming smell of cat urine as well as a musty “old cabin” smell. We went down and talked to Bob and he was very nice as well as apologetic and offered to move us to another room. Once in the new room, there was no smell of cat urine, but the smell of musty “old cabin” was still very prevalent. Additionally the refrigerator in the room had been unplugged and left open and was also a source of a very bad smell in the room. Bob did ask if the room was ok, but at that point, I was fairly certain the rooms were just going to have at least that musty “old cabin” smell, so I told him we would stay there. As we spent more time in the room we began to see where the smell in the room was coming from. The bottom of the walls had obviously taken on water as the wood paneling was buckling and was covered in mold and mildew. The carpet was very old and damp, the bathroom, although it has new fixtures, had mold and mildew on the ceiling, the filters in the a/c units had not been cleaned (although someone came to our new room to spray Pine Sol on the a/c units, which was interesting) and the refrigerator continued to smell very bad despite having the door closed and the unit plugged in. Finally, once we turned in for the evening, we noticed that the door did not seal shut…we could see the outside lights all around the door opening….not that this contributed to the smell in the room, it did contribute to the bugs in the room at night.

After much deliberation, we decided after one night that the mold and mildew was too much for my husband’s allergies and we had to leave. Aside from being disappointed about our vacation being ruined, we also knew that upon check-in we had signed numerous documents saying that we understood there would be no refund for an early departure, no matter what the reason. Therefore, we knew we would not be receiving any refund for the additional two nights that we had pre-paid for, despite having a health issue because of the condition of the room. When we told Bob we had to leave due to my husband’s allergies, he just shook our hand and said, “Ok….thank you”. Although he was pleasant, he didn’t seem concerned about the mold and mildew smell or the fact that we weren’t satisfied.

I just took the time to go back to the Golden Sands website to look at the pictures of the rooms and the room we were in absolutely looked nothing like the picture (I have uploaded pictures of the paneling and the door). Should you have the opportunity to go and see the room you want to rent at Golden Sands, I would recommend you do that before you book a trip. You may find that the room is fine for you and your family (as an FYI, the bedding was clean, the bathroom had new fixtures, and the TV was new), but if have allergies you may want to see if it’s something you can tolerate.

Finally, last night I received a photocopied “thank you” piece of paper from Golden Sands along with a brochure, presumably so we can keep them in mind for our next vacation. After paying for three nights there, two of which we did not stay, I suppose a “thank you” was in order from them, but we would have preferred at least an apology if not an apology and a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

When a negative reviewer posts, they often fail to disclose material facts. In this case, our guest was very rude and belligerent to our staff. It's omitted that when the guest arrived, she mentioned her husband is a 'Big Man,' which he was, in a big truck. Perhaps in excess of 350+ pounds with super sensitive allergies. The guest actually complained the floor would sag under his weight, and the 'single-wide' shower was too small. The posting guest here certainly took the time to post a lengthy negative post; however, failed at the onset to mention her husband has very special needs. So, we tried to accommodate her and upgrade to a beach room ... still the shower was too small for her big husband, who also suffers from some sort of sleep disorder. For a researcher, she took a chance. We were left with a sagging bed from the guest's weight, and a complaint. Psychology classes teach that when a guest is happy, they often do not compliment, but, for certain, when a guest is not happy, perhaps with life or their circumstances, they most certainly post negative and complain. One has to wonder about tripadvisor reviewers and those who enjoy posting unilateral "unsubstantiated" negative feedback to start, and people who actually believe it! We are a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside/beach resort mote with literally thousands of happy repeat customers. In closing, a check of nearly every motel at Lake George will have negative postings from disappointed people who are in general unhappy. Motels that encourage their favored guests to post positive feedback hold a disproportionate positive review rating. Maybe those who rely on tripadvisor for reviews should take better responsibility and accountability for their errors, or, in this case, "disclosing" her husband was an unusually "Big Man," which quite obviously creates frustration for her, and puts any motel or restaurant in a position to deal with the unusual. We clearly and unambiguously post Golden Sands on Lake George has "Single-Wide Showers." So, why is it our fault a "Big" 350+ lb. man can't fit in a standard shower? And, who now pays for the broken bed and damage? The stairs bowed under his weight, and they were nasty about it, like it's our fault!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Always a good choice if you want simple peace and quiet. Great view of the lake, free kayaking, private beach, close to just about everything and a friendly staff that will advise on the best eats and shops. Best is the cost is very reasonable compared to other locations....

The only downer is that I could not take my dog this time around. In the past, this was a pet friendly site, but no longer :(

Room Tip: Stood in joining rooms 15 and 16. Great for the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Bob was one of the friendliest and knowledgeable person about the lake George area. He gave us a great deal with the rooms a d recommended the good sightseeing spots around the area. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Pick the room towards the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is my first time writing review for anything. Lication is pretty decent but rooms are like match boxes with doors that don't even open completely. Shower stalls are a story again, a normal sized person would feel like an Elephant in them.

All this is still bearable in comparison to the person who is managing the place. He is the nastiest SOB you will find on this planet. He does not have an ounce of decency as to how to talk to a human let alone to a women. He calls his guests cheap because they are staying at his place and not at Segamore resorts. He asks people to get out of his office literally!! He calls people fat and obnoxious on their faces. He does not understand difference between talking and arguing.

If anyone has self respect and ego I will not suggest this resort. You are better of spending little extra money some other place or sacrificing something else rather than face this insolent person and spoiling your whole vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Bashets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenSandsResort, Owner at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

We here at Golden Sands Resort on Lake George, New York have a 25 year proven record of treating our patrons with respect and accommodation for their needs and requests. 99% of our reviews on this site are overwhelmingly positive. It is unfortunate that someone saw fit to attempt to adversely affect prospective customers' opinion of our resort before they even do business with us. Nobody, in 25 years, has resportedly had such an experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My family of 5 stayed in room 17 in August 2012. The room was adequate for our purposes. We found it clean and functional. Having the table/chairs just outside the room was a nice little bonus. But being "on the lake" is why you want to stay here. Sandy beach with shallow water is great for small children. See if they can catch those ducks! Free single and double kayaks to get out onto the lake with. A fire pit to enjoy a camp fire by the lake at night. One night I hung out with some other vacationers, one night my family had the fire pit to ourselves, one night I sat out at the lake with a couple beers by myself and just enjoyed the sounds of the lake at night. The location is perfect. Convenience stores, Bait shop, Ice cream shop... all very close near by. Right in between the Village and Bolton Landing. It's quiet and relaxing as opposed to all the activity and crowds at the Village. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rates are reasonable. We plan on going back.

Room Tip: We were in room 17, amongst the 14-17 area. I was glad to not be in the area adjacent to the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
219 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#19 of 89 in Lake George
606 reviews
3.6 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Resort on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Resort on Lake George

Address: 3654 Lake Shore Dr, P.O. Box 11, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6717
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands Resort on Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George is a "Family Atmosphere" lakeside resort motel offering comfortable 1 and 2 room accommodations on our private wide natural sand beach and shallow swimming area. We're located at the widest part of Lake George with spectacular 15 mile views, lakeside rooms, Free kayaks, Free Wi-Fi, private beach, dock, fridges, microwaves, playgrounds, ping-pong, b-ball, BBQ and picnic areas, lakeside fire pit, we're on Lake George trolley line, close to Lake George Village, and close to all restaurants and attractions! We're fun for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Golden Sands Resort on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George Hotel Diamond Point
Golden Sands Resort On Lake George NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing