We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new favorite place to stay on lake george” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Cove Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamond Cove Cottages
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite place to stay on lake george”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Wanted to thank John and staff for making us super comfortable during our stay. Spa services and fishing charters on premises. Bonfires at night on beach. Clean cottages w/BBQ and large deck area! Property very well kept. Staff very accommodating during entire stay. We will be back next year!!:)see u then. Laura and steven

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piliero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    26
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
78
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here in the summer of 2012 with another family. Altogether, we were two couples with five children between us -- my kids are two girls, ages 6 and 8 at the time, and the other family had two girls aged 6 and 8 and a boy of about 18 months. We rented a three-bedroom cottage, which was one of the structures closest to the road, and its own stand-alone building. But the property is small enough that even to walk all the way down to the lakeshore only takes a few minutes. The cottage had a living room/dining/kitchen combo room and one bathroom with a shower stall, plus its own charcoal grill (for which you must provide your own charcoal), deck with round table, umbrella, and chairs, and a large picnic table on the lawn. The kitchen was equipped with an electric stove/oven, some dinnerware and very basic cooking equipment in a few cabinets above and below the sink area. There was also a bachelor-size fridge/freezer. As an added bonus, our cottage had two reserved parking spaces.

First off, potential guests should be aware that while every bedroom and the kitchen has a ceiling fan, there is only one air conditioning unit, which is located in the living area. It's a powerful unit, but even with the fans running, the bedrooms don't really get any of the cooling benefit of the A/C. The evenings do cool down, so we weren't too uncomfortable when sleeping, but I could have used a slightly cooler sleeping situation. The bedrooms consist of one room with a queen bed, one room with two twin beds, and one room with two queen beds. We put the four girls in the room with the two queens, two girls per bed; the other couple slept in the single queen room and set up a Pack -N- Play in there that they had brought for their son; and we slept in the room with two twins, which can be pushed together if desired. All bedrooms have a closet and dresser. Only the room with the two queens had a ceiling light; the other two rooms had a rather dim table lamp.

The bathroom's main problem was the shower, which was a VERY small stall -- like something you might find in an RV. The husband of the other couple is a fairly average-sized guy, and he kept banging his elbows into the sides as he showered. There was also not much in the way of shelving or hooks in the stall to put shampoo bottles and the like.

I highly recommend bringing some of your own cookware if you plan on using the kitchen. Also, the dinnerware is only as clean as the previous guest left them, which in our case, was fairly grimy. Whoever stayed there after me was rather lucky, on the other hand! For the most part, we ended up using paper plates and disposable flatware to avoid having to do too much washing on our vacation. Also, the linoleum by the sink area was so grimy that it felt sticky, and the bottoms of my feet were black in minutes. I had a spill, and requesting a mop was apparently a tricky thing, since there are only a couple on the premises and are used by the cleaning staff. So, I had to wait until one of the maids was done with it (a Swiffer Wet Jet) before I could use it. On the plus side, a maintenance guy cleaned out the ashes in the grills every morning.

The property is very nice and conducive to family enjoyment. There are a couple of playground areas, one for slightly older kids and one for toddlers. Plus, there is a decent amount of sandy shoreline with plenty of beach chairs. Kayaking is free pending advance reservation. You can also "book" a bonfire, but you must provide your own wood. The owners are very knowledgeable of the area (they live on the property year-round), and were able to provide terrific advice for local restaurants and activities. Their property also has a dock, and when we (at their suggestion) booked a private outing on a pontoon, the boat was able to pick us up right there. There is also a separate building with a small fitness center and a game room.

Overall, we really did enjoy our stay, and thanks to advance preparation regarding cookware, were able to cook all but three meals in our entire week there, so we definitely saved a boatload of money in that regard. The biggest negative for me was the insufficient A/C in the bedrooms, but as I said, it ended up being tolerable. I would stay there again (providing my husband is willing to eat out more often -- doing all that cleanup wasn't much of a vacation for me).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJodester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

DCC is a great place for young families. And as long as you're not hoping for much privacy this is an excellent choice. Positives: the cottages are authentic Adirondack style (brought back memories of staying at my Aunt's mountain house as a child in the '60s), there's a central grassy yard with jungle gyms for kids, most cottages have their own deck with table, chairs & unbrella, the beach has a great dock with built in seating, for many cabins parking is right next to your door. Unfortunatley some of what I really liked about this place also contributes to it's drawbacks: the cottages are very small. VERY small. The seating in the living room area is not enough for a family with teens. The shower stall is TINY. It's not possible to pick anything up if you drop it and shaving my legs was a challenge. But there were charming details that I really loved - oldschool trestle-style table & benches in the living/kitchen area, door latches on bed & bathroom doors, knotty pine paneling through-out. The cottages are also VERY close to eachother. While dining on your deck you will hear your neighbor's child screaming in the shower (since it's tough to bathe toddlers in a tiny shower), and when you're using the bathroom you'll hear your other neighbor's kid singing on their deck. We got to know all of our neighbors (didn't have much choice since we were so close) and we enjoyed that element - but you should know about it in advance. Since I like to sit out on the deck in the early morning in loungewear with my coffee I had to be very cautious about being modest since people walking to the lake on the path are passing by within 2-3 feet of you while sitting on your deck.
A huge advantage is the the kids can play together in the grassy yard while parents prepare dinner & enjoy a glass of wine afterwards. My teens really enjoyed it becuase the closeness of the place allowed them to hang out with the other teens until midnight (which we'd otherwise never allow). But there were not alot of teens.

Some reviews compalined that there's only one A/C unit and it's in the living room - but I have to say, it was sufficient - and my husband likes the A/C set so low that we have icicles hanging form our chins.

This place is PERFECT for families with young kids for another reason too - the beach is super-shallow. Shallow like you're up to your knees until you're 20 feet out. Parents of toddlers & preschoolers will love this place since it's a dream for watching your kids. For us it was tougher - we couldn't get into deep water at all.

By the end of the week we had become friendly with the other families there as my teens loved being with their little kids and the freedom to hang out at night. My teens want to go back next year but as adults we are not convinced. We'd like to find a place with a little more privacy, relaxed living room seating for 4 adults and a shower large enough to pick up my razor if dropped. It'd also be nice to used the bathroom without hearing my neighor's chatting quietly on their deck.

We wish we had found this place years ago when the kids were preschoolers as it is a PERFECT fit for families with little ones. Perfect. And all of the families we met with young children plan on going back next year.

PS - the place is clean, they supply kitchen wear for cooking & serving. They do not provide bathtowels - but John is VERY clear about that in the confirmation email. The BBQ grills are for charcoal and John sells charcoal, light fluid & firewood. But you can get all of those at much lower cost at KMart.

Overall the place was really nice. We did have a nice time - the kids were happy. We only wish the cabins were a tiny bit larger and farther apart and that there was deeper swim area at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYMetroMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Been coming to DCC for 10 years now, and every time it's better! The cottages are clean, as is the entire property. John can help you with anything you want to do, whether it's rent boats or make tubing reservations, or suggesting the best places to eat. We are always treated like family. We usually rent the cabins farthest from the beach, but you have complete privacy, and don't really have to worry about disturbing anyone. It is equal distance between Bolton Landing and the Village so you have plenty to do just minutes away.
This place is great, but what sets it apart is the owners. The way they run it makes it a place you want to come back to. I would highly recommend DCC!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our 5th family vacation to Diamond Cove Cottages. John and Kristina treat all 17 of us like family, helping us with last minute reservations for tubing, giving recommendations for trips and restaurants or just stopping by to chat. The cabins are clean and comfortable, the property is immaculate and the beach is wonderful. The view from the beach is so beautiful. You don't need a TV when you can look at that view all day. The adults and kids have the best time swimming, fishing, or just hanging out. There is no better place to stay in Lake George. We will be back again in 2014!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

I recently stayed at Diamond Cove Cottages for a family vacation to Lake George with my wife and two boys – ages 9 and 7 and our first trip The location was fantastic and directly on the lake. The owners (John and Kristina Santiago) make you feel right at home and their hospitality is phenomenal. They go out of their way to ensure you have the best vacation possible by always being available to share local knowledge from great places to eat to activities to consider, which really helped us experience a great vacation. It is evident they really care. I will be back next year as the venue is great place to stay with your family. John also makes one heck of a Mai Tai!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was our fifth year at Diamond Cove with more years to come. John and Kristina strive to have their visitors have a rested and enjoyable vacation. This year the local kennel lost our chihuahua and John and Kristina and family where right by our side in search and rescue mode so that we could enjoy some of our vacation. They generously helped in finding arrangements for our other Chi while the search was on. We celebrated finding our lost Chi together and salvaged the few days left of our time off. This family demonstates true caring and concern for all of their guests. Likewise we have established wonderful relationships with the returning guests every year. The rustic charm is our home away from home. No need to search for another vacation spot than Diamond Cove Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisSantiagoOwner, Owner at Diamond Cove Cottages, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
What an interesting vacation you had this year. Despite the search and rescue operation for your missing dog from the pooch palace I we were glad that you all were able to salvage a few days of boating and relaxation. It is always a pleasure having you all here year after year. Thank you so much for choosing Diamond Cove Cottages as your favororite Lake George vacation destination. See you again next year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#46 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marine Village Resort
Marine Village Resort
#19 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Cove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Cove Cottages

Property: Diamond Cove Cottages
Address: 3648 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12845-6717
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Cove Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake George Cottages, Cabins Hotel and Suites. Lake George NY Family Vacation Resort. Kitchen Facilities, BBQ Grill, Spa, Fitness Center, Boats, Docks, Charter Fishing, Private Boat Tours, Kayaks, Row boats, Playground, Game Room, Basketball, Ping Pong, Private Beach, Level Grounds, Magnificent Views & Much More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diamond Cove Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Cove Cottages Hotel Diamond Point
Diamond Cove Cottages Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing