We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Stay!”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

After getting horribly lost, and medical issues being of concern on top of that, we were so late in getting to the Blue Lagoon, we feared we'd missed check in time and be sent away, or some other unfortunate circumstance - but there, taped to the door of the closed office, was a note for us, stating that the office was closed, "sorry we missed you", the cottage was left open, keys inside, and a light left on for us! A polite request to visit the office in the morning to properly check in was all that was asked of us. The flood of relief was nothing compared to our amazement when we entered cottage #4 (one of about a dozen or so). Beautiful high ceilings, shining wood paneling, lovely hanging light fixtures, over-stuffed sofas, flat screen t.v., a small fully functional kitchenette with microwave, full fridge, stove, cabinets, and all fully stocked with plates, utensils, cups and glasses. The bathroom included a full size bathub/shower. We were informed when we booked on line that we needed to bring our own towels, which we usually do anyway, but there were towels provided. The bedrooms even had baseboard heating...( but be repectful of the propane wall mounted heater in the living room- even on low setting, the heat was serious!) - we felt we'd crossed directly from Hades to Heaven. And here's the icing on the cake - everything, and I mean EVERYTHING- was absolutely immaculate. And the location is perfect- just far enough from Lake George Village (a short and scenic ride), and the cottages are all situated so that each one gets a beautiful lake view from the picure window in the living room. You can also park your vehicle just outside your cabin, so unpacking and packing is a breeze. There is also a phone for free local calls only, but the office staff were very kind and understanding when we needed to make and emergency phone call out of state to a relative that lived in a no-cellphone-reception area, and we needed a land line. They simply let us use the office phone, and asked for nothing (even though we insisted on leaving a payment, they fought us about taking it!). There are also rowboats, kayaks, paddles and life vests all for free use, and a nightly bonfire. Most cottages also have a barbeque and picnic table. Honestly, we couldn't see where anyone could want for more, it genuinely was one of the most beautiful - no, THE most beautiful place we've ever stayed along the lake. We were here after labor day, but I'm told the summer months are fabulous for families and children, although they are not pet fiendly. There was also docking for boats. Word to the wise - BOOK EARLY!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is our 5th year coming in September and they keep getting better. We have made so many friends and plan to meet up again next year. To us, BLR is in a perfect location and the accommodations are perfect. See you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just completed another vacation at this resort and it was great. This time we stayed for 10 days. The owners and management were always there to help with any requests we had. The facility is kept very clean. The beach was in great shape. Tom, Michelle, and Rich couldn't do enough for everyone there. There were a lot of kids there this week which was great for us. Our kids were busy from wake up to bedtime. This is a great family vacation resort and i again highly recommend it..

Room Tip: It is tough to get a cottage because people keep returning year after year, but they do have a waiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great camp like resort run by Tom and Michelle great people who make sure your stay is the best it can be free kayaks conoe and row boat great fishing right off the dock or tie off to the 5 mph booey in the row boat there are a few public island right off the beach if you have time spend a night camping on long island it's very cheap and really cool for the kids I was at there with my wife and 4 boys 16 14 13 and 3 and no one wanted to leave no video games no TV no phones just a great relaxing week Thanks for reading

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith07002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

It's been a couple years since our family has stayed at the BLR (only being is we weren't able to get a cottage rental during the summer weeks so we had to stay somewhere else) Since our last visit to the BLR in 2009 they have done some amazing renovations to the cottages 1-4. They have all been redone on the inside. The high ceilings were beautiful.4, but another guest was nice enough to allow us to peek in to see. Our cottage was very clean when we checked in. It was nice to see that they updated the old box TV with a nice flat screen TV. The kitchen was well stocked with almost everything we needed to cook. (The only thing we could have used was a measuring cup). We had plenty of room for all of our belongings in the bedrooms and it was nice to have a FULL bath with a tub. The view from our front window every morning was beautiful. Loved looking out at the lake.

The week we stayed was a busy one at the BLR! There were a lot of kids for my son and daughter to play with. It was also nice to see some guests that we met during our first ever visit to the BLR in 2008.

The beach/swim area is great for kids. We didn't have to worry about them if we ran back to the cottage to get a snack or beverage. My son loved playing in sand and my daughter loved going out to the swim raft and jumping off. The water is shallow about 3 feet deep from shore to the raft. Sandy bottom. We took the tandem kayak out one morning. It was nice to see they upgraded the kayaks since our last visit. We also used the row boat everyday to go out fishing. That is one thing the resort could update!! It hasn't been improved in 4 years. It needs the oars fixed on it. The other improvement we noticed and was a big plus for us was they added a new swing set to the resort. The old one was pretty old! My kids loved the new one.

The owners Tom and Michele are just wonderful people. They really go out of the way to make sure that the guests are happy. Rich who manages the property also goes out of his way to make sure everything is well. He would be out in the morning picking up the night before messes that were left the beach and fire area. Cleaning the beach area, putting all the chairs back in order and picking up trash.

We had a fun week at the BLR and are looking forward to 2013! I hear that they are going to start renovations on the other cottages #6-8. This is a great family place. Nice and level compared to the many other places on Lake George.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have been staying at this amazing, fun and relaxing resort since I was a new born baby and I NEVER had a complaint to complain about all of these years! There are many kids to play with at the resort, and every year nobody gets left out. All ages play together whether its 4-6 year olds or 7-10 year olds all the ages play together. There is an amazing lake to swim in. I always enjoy swimming in the lake whether it’s warm or cold. This is my favorite place to go on vacation too!

The service is very good here, and the owners are very kind just like the employees. I am always very pleased when I come to stay at this resort. If you are staying in a cabin instead of a motel room, or a motel room instead of a cabin it makes no difference. The stay is still amazing! I would highly recommend this resort and would totally give this more than 5 stars if I can!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We spent 9 days @ the BL this yr. Tom, Michele, & Rich continue to make improvements to the facility which makes our stay more and more enjoyable each year. Rich cleans the beach area and the compound every day ...but his job is made more difficult if folks litter with garbage and empty cans. The swimming area is very safe for the children and the area beyond is still shallow enough for adults and teenagers to play water sports. This year we found cabin 5's kitchen well stocked. Items tend to get shifted when several families get together for a barbique and kitchen utensils get re-stored in different units. Michelle does her best to keep each unit properly stocked. Tom, Michele, and Rich will go 100% to help any guest who has a problem. They are extremely patient. Thanx Tom, Michelle, and Rich for another great stay @ the Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Cabins 1 thru 5 have been completely renovated and are just a pleasure to stay in~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
2.9 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
4.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#15 of 89 in Lake George
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: 3670 Lake Shore Drive, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Diamond Point
Price Range: £84 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage and Efficiencies on the shores of Lake George. Blue Lagoon Resort is a family resort with several amenities including 200 foot sandy beach, kayaks and rowboats, barbeques and picnic tables, outdoor games, childrens' playground and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Diamond Point
Blue Lagoon Lake George
Blue Lagoon Resort Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing