We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Cottages and Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

First off, the websites photos do not due it justice. Each cottage has a great deck with a picnic table and umbrella. The cottage was clean and cozy.

I would suggest bringing some kitchen supplies if you plan on cooking here. There aren't measuring cups, foil, seasonings, garbage bags or cookie sheets. There are pots and pans, plates, silverware, pot holders and dish soap. I would also suggest bringing hand soap for the bathroom and kitchen sink along with hand towels.

The review that mentioned a "lights out", curfew and not allowed to use glass bottles on the deck were FAR from the truth.

The owner and his staff were very friendly and accommodating. The neighboring guests were also very pleasant. We will definitely stay here again in the future, we enjoyed our week long visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebluesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Country Cottages and Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

The fact you have to pay cash is a huge turnoff. I asked why and they gave me some story about being difficult with a credit card. We all know it's so you can manipulate the books come tax time, gimme a break. The grounds were nice, a pool and playground the kids liked. The rooms themselves were ok, you had to supply towels etc. There was a washer and drier but the driers did not work well and we ended up hanging our clothes out to dry everyday. I think it was overpriced for what you got. Location was far from town too so we had to stay on sight most of the time. The owners obviously didn't trust anyone because they want cash, the remote was bolted to the table and lights out was 10pm. Pool hours were strict, 9am to 9pm I believe, no bottles on the patio and they required 2 adults watching your kid which is a little over the top. I would not stay there again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank RCROW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This location has been on my families list of favorite places to go for the last three years. We try to make it at least once a year but sometimes 2-3 times for a long weekend. The facility (whether a cottage, efficiency room or motel room) is so clean and the grounds are beautiful. Some may think that since it's not on the lake it's not worth the trip...but I assure you the privacy, cleanliness and friendliness of the Portes family far surpasses anything you would think. The prices are also worth mentioning because for the amount you pay you surely get accomodations worth much more! The Six Flags - Great Escape Lodge has nothing on The Country Cottages and motels.!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loleeta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have stayed here 6yrs in a row! Always the same week each year. It is our family vacation that we look foreard to all year long! We stay in a 3 bedroom 6person cottage (#14). This place is updated compared to most other places, always clean and safe for kids of all ages. We have met many other friendly families all the different year that we now call friends. The owners are a family that has a house on the property and always there to help. This year they even gave us the dicount shopping card so we could save on the groceries we bought. The pricing is fair. We aren't on the water but having young children it's not safe to be on the water where there is no one to watch if kids walk into the water. There are too mnay positive things to write about so I suggest you try it out for yourself!

Kelly Roth

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grodot333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed in the log cabin. Everything was very neat and clean. The grounds were very well maintained. The family enjoyed the pool and the kids had fun on the swing set. Loved that it was not right in town which kept it more quiet. We docked our boat about a 1/2 mile away and had a great time fishing. The staff was very friendly and made us feel more then welcomed. Enjoyed our stay there and have to plan another.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randmgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Just got back from a great 4th of July weekend in Lake George, stayed in a two bedroom cottage, clean, roomy, perfect cottage. Grounds are spotless, pool & area were great, big pavilon with big gas grill and tables if you have a lot people in your group... Nice big play area for the kids. Owners & staff are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogroomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The property is nice, but it is cheaper to stay in an elegant room at an Atlantic City Casino Hotel. I agree, owners are not exactly happy to see you when you arrive.
The people who clean the cabins are actually more freindly to the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapseditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.9 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#19 of 89 in Lake George
588 reviews
8.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
4.7 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Cottages and Motel

Address: P.O. Box 151, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-0151
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family resort is nestled in the mountains of New York State's famous Adirondack Mountains. Our accommodations are made to serve you to the best of our ability. Our goal is to make your vacation comfortable and carefree. The atmosphere at Country Cottages & Motel is restful and quiet...But only a short drive to all the area attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Cottages And Motel Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing