We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay on Lake George”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages
Higganum, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay on Lake George”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

My family has been staying at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages every summer since 1998, and wouldn't dream of staying anywere else.
First, the location: it is right on the lake with its own private beach, and it is located far enough away from the town of Lake George to be away from the crowds, but close enough to be there in 10 minutes or less.
Second, the hosts: the Chimiak family are devoted to making our stay pleasant and carefree. Michael Chimiak is friendly and on the property if you need him. Need a restaurant recommendation or info on where else to go? There is copious information in the office and in Michael head, which he dispenses with a smile.
Third, the property: The cottages are well-maintained, continually updated, and immaculate. But if you're missing a can opener? Ask and you shall immediately receive. The lakefront cottages open up to an expansive lawn with ping-pong, shuffleboard, volleyball net, swings, and jungle gym, which our daughters have enjoyed every summer as they've grown up over the last 11 years.
Fourth, the ambiance: relaxed, family atmosphere. This place exudes so much relaxation that my college-bound daughter wrote one of her college application essays on how wonderful it was to return to Mt. Knoll year after year. Quite an impression.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

My family has been staying at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages since I was a little girl, and it's truly a magical place. It looks out on the most beautiful view in the world -- the mountains across the lake, the islands -- it's fantastic. The setting is comfortable, casual and familial. It's a great place to bring your family to relax, swim, fish, ski or just laze around. Families of all ages come there, and there is an easy and friendly atmosphere. It's great to watch little kids build sand castles on the same beautiful sandy beach that I built them on, and my kids have built them on -- you should check it out yourself!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

Our family has been going to Mt. Knoll for the past several years. We had stayed on the other side of the lake previously, but far prefer Mt. Knoll's location - not in the village but close to the village, and we also like the proximity to Bolton's Landing. The owners and other vacationers are great, the lake is gorgeous and Mt. Knoll is small enough so that the beach area never seems crowded. You can play shuffleboard, take out a kayak, play ping-pong, go for a swim or just lay on the beach and enjoy the view. It's a great family vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union,New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

We have been staying at Mt. Knoll for 17 years and I would not go anywhere else for our vacation. The facility is perfect for families and the athmosphere is totally relaxing. We started there when our kids were very young and now they too spend their vacations there with their families. We will be returning for another season this July - 2009.

Best place to stay in the Lake George region!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeGeorge133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

My family has been vacationing at Mountain Knoll Beach Cottages for over fifty years. The facility is well maintained and upgraded regularly. There are just ten units sitting directly on Lake George with a large private, sandy, and safe beach. What a place to relax with family and friends! The property is just a few miles out from the busy Lake George Village but close enough for great dining, shopping, golf and other recreational facilities. The management is superb. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieMatthews66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

I've been coming to Mt. Knoll Beach off and on for 55 years. When you're here, you're family. The Eastern exposure offers a superb panorama of the Moutains leading North. , The cove in which Mt. Knoll is situated is quiet. At only 6 miles to LG village, you are close enough to activities and attractions, but far enough away for peace and quiet. As a family spot, the flat, grassy play area, shallow sandy beach, large patio with stone fireplace (for chilly evening gatherings) is hard to beat. The cabins are comfortable and up-to-date offering fully applianced kitchenettes. A majority of the quests have been conming to Mt. Knoll year after year, for decades. This is testament to the family management and the amenities offered at Mt. Knoll Beach.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DockmanConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVC, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2009

Lake George, Oscar's Steaks, Fine Wine & Mt. Knoll... a bit of heaven. Our family has been staying at Mt. Knoll in Diamond Point on Lake George every summer for the past 17 years. We can't wait to go back. Mike and his family make sure that everyone is taken care of. Each year many of the same families return and we look upon our visit as a family reunion. Every night families gather around the campfire on the beach for beverages and toasting marshmallows. The Lake George water is so clean. A great spot for boating and fishing. It's Adirondack Living with the convenience of Lake George village 3 miles away, Bolton Landing 7 miles to the north and Oscar's right over the hill. Not only will you recommend Mt. Knoll to friends you'll make friends as well.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4LGbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill View Cottages
Hill View Cottages
#1 of 6 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#47 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake George Escape Campground
Lake George Escape Campground
#1 of 32 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages

Property: Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages
Address: 3658 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 115, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A seasonal family owned resort, open May through Sept., located in Diamond Point, 3 miles north of Lake George Village. Our private natural sand beach offers a peaceful and panoramic view of the lake, its islands and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing