We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found a Gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Found a Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I were looking for a place in Lake George to spend our vacation. We were looking on the internet and were lucky to find MT. Knoll Beach Cottages. This place is truly a gem. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The beachfront property was excellent. The sand and water are pristine. I have two young boys ages 5 and 2.5 and this place was great for them. Mike the caretaker was great to my children and was more than accommodating to my family. The property is clean , well maintained and was a very safe enviorment for my children. While there we looked at other places we saw on the internet and said to each other that we were very lucky to have stayed at Mt. Knoll. If you want a place that's safe, clean, friendly with a beautiful beach and view this is it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinoakeyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    0
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Cottages were cute. Place was nice, although the beach & swim area were too small. Most upsetting was the rudeness exhibited by the man representing Mt Knoll Cottages. Yes, he was nice enough to adults. He was very unkind to neighboring children however, and on more than one occasion, we observed him yelling at them. We're not fooled by someone who treats paying adults well. If he disrespects children, we don't want to be there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtknoll, Manager at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages is a private resort as are all resort properties in the Diamond Point area. When people from neighboring properties choose to come over and or around the fence and use our facilities yes they are kindly asked to vacate the premises. Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages is a private family resort that is intended for the use of our registered guests only. For the protection of the young children and families that swim, play and relax at our resort we do not permit people who are not registered guests at our facility.

Being a resort with only 10 cottages we know all of our guests by name. This review was written by someone that did not stay at our resort. It is obvious to us this reviewer is the parent with her child who was staying at a neighboring property and was asked to vacate our private property on more than one occasion as they were not guests of our resort. This is an obvious attempt to smear our good name. Funny how they state our beach & swim area were too small, but that’s what they came over to use.

Here at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages an overwhelming majority of our guests return year after year. Some of our families have been vacationing at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages for 30, 40 even over 50 years! This year, 2010, we have guests that celebrated their 56th year at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages! Read the other reviews and make a decision for yourself. Better yet, visit our website or call us directly and start planning your next vacation here at Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages. We look forward to meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We wanted to get away for Labor Day weekend. After a bit of research we came upon Mt. Knoll which is family owned, clean and very comfortable. Michael, the owner was genuinely accommodating and welcoming to us as "newbies". The rest of the vacationers were all regulars. Between the fire-pit, kayaks, row boats and private beach to set sail off of, this experience was wonderful. It's a short car ride to the village and surrounding towns and sights. We couldn't have been happier with the atmosphere, accommodations and value.

This may have been our first visit but will definitely not be our last!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbum13_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We found Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages years ago when our kids were small, and discovered a jewel. We've been back every year. With only ten units on the property, this resort offers the advantage of a fun-loving family atmosphere combined with the privacy of a hidden retreat. The entrance road winds up and over a hill to a breathtaking lake view. The Adirondack cabins and cottages are original, each with their own unique character, some with fireplaces, most with full lake views, all with porches. At the lakefront, there’s a big grassy lawn for field games, then beyond the trees, a flat, sandy beach in a beautiful cove. At night, we all come together to unwind at a campfire on the beach. The lake reflects the moon like glass and everything feels right at Mt. Knoll Beach.

The caring service of this family-owned resort has never wavered, and quality improvements are always made with pride. Cabins are clean and well-equipped for the simple life with comfortable beds, AC and heating units, and small bathrooms. There are no dishwashers, bathtubs, or big screen TVs, and cell phone and internet service may be limited. But, if you want a welcoming place where no one else can find you, this is it!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellenOreneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

I have been going to Mt. Knoll for 1 week for 6 years now. As a new comer what struck me most was the loyalty of the other guests. Almost every cabin was occupied with guests that had come on that same exact week every year for many previous years. Before each group of guests left for the year they all made sure to reserve the same exact week for the next year. When you are there it is like being part of an extended family. Many new summer friendships have been forged through Mt Knoll. What struck me more was many of these guests now see each other year round. Permanent year round friendships that Mt. Knoll has helped forge.
Quality of cabins, service and amenities: superb!
Quality of guests: outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTKnollFamilyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congers, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

The title says it all.

I have been coming to Mt. Knoll since I was 6 months old every year (for 1-2 weeks per visit) for the last 27 years. This year I am getting married, and my fiancée and I will spend the second week of our honeymoon with our friends and family at Mt. Knoll. There's something for everyone there, regardless of how old or young you are or whether you're traveling with friends or family.

With regards to the facilities, the cabins are some of the largest you will find in the area. The beach is large, pristine, and groomed every day; (we see the owner do it when we leave to go fishing every morning). There is a very large field that we play whiffle ball, soccer, and Frisbee in with plenty of room. I bought a jet ski in recent years and my father owns a boat, and we keep them safely docked on Mt. Knoll’s facilities, so we don’t have to travel to a marina to go out. There’s also a volley ball net, shuffle board court, kayaks, and a fire pit we use every night during our stay.

In the 27 years I’ve been coming to Mt. Knoll, I’ve seen the resort run by 3 different generations of the same family, and they’ve always made our cabin at Mt. Knoll feel like it’s our home away from home. As a child I came with my family, and as I grew up I came with friends. Now, as a young professional, I still come with my good friends and my growing family.

Simply, I cannot imagine a summer not coming to Mt. Knoll.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyB_Congers_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

We have been coming to Mt Knoll for over 20 years!! This place is truly the ultimate summer family get-a-way because they treat you like family!! All their love is shown throughout every cottage, every Adirondeck chair, every smile!!!! The total escape to relaxation packaged with exceptional hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mveglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#44 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#6 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Villas On Lake George
The Villas On Lake George
#8 of 9 in Diamond Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
#2 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages

Property: Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages
Address: 3658 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 115, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A seasonal family owned resort, open May through Sept., located in Diamond Point, 3 miles north of Lake George Village. Our private natural sand beach offers a peaceful and panoramic view of the lake, its islands and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Knoll Beach Cottages Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing