We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diamond Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stepping Stones Resort
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We just returned from our annual visit to the Lake. We have been going to Stepping Stones for over 15 years. We stayed at other places but none of them came close to providing the level of hospitality we found with Chuck and Ronnie. As the kids grew from toddlers to young adults the enviornment at Stepping Stones always seemd to accomadate us. Chuck is responsive to the needs of his clients and works especially hard to be sure that everyone's ability to enjoy the Lake is protected. At some of the other places we have stayed mangement ignored rude behavior and allowed unruly or overly entitled guests to run wild, but in all the years at Stepping Stones we have never had a problem. This is due in part to the large number of returning guests and the clear and consise rules that we all abide by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrGRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed with extended family last week at Stepping Stones--a wonderful time! Chuck & Ronnie are friendly owners who run a very clean & well managed establishment. Beach area is great for families since thee is sandy area for digging and shallow entry for swimming. Slight downside for young children is the limited playground area, but that was not a huge problem since the kids kept themselves busy wit other activities. We have been here several times over the last 10 years (and at different times of the year) and have never been disappointed. Can't wait to come back :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Old fashioned but updated & very clean. Fisherman's dream, flat boat launch w/protected docks near great fishing spots. Nice beach area and play area for family. Only a short ride to Lake George Village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShoeLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is the perfect place in the Lake George region. Each cabin comes fully equipped and clean as a whistle. The owners politely keep their distance, but are always available to help out. The price may seem a bit high, until you discover that you can make all of your own meals. A personal coal grill is at your disposal right in front of each unit. There is also fun stuff for the kids on the common green, and a fantastic beach and marina to park your boat. Can't say enough about this place that's been around for a very long time, but still maintains all of it's integrity and pride.
We'll continue to visit every summer.

Room Tip: Try and get a cabin close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElChepibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This place goes down as a mistake in our family history. Chuck (we called him 2-Buck Chuck because his general air is just stingy) doesn't allow kids on the beach before 10am or after 8pm. We would never have gone if we'd known. There were so many rules, we actually left the property during the day and went to the public beach! Chuck came into our room to fix something and made a point of looking around to show us he was watching how we were taking care of things (and of course, we were). We are nonconfrontational and very easy-going people, so we just marveled at Chuck's creepiness after he left. Chuck wouldn't let a friend pull up a canoe at the property to visit us without charging a docking and visitors's fee! You also have to sign out badminton rackets - they don't just let you use them. I will say this, the place is clean. Antiseptic, is more like it. Also charmless and soulless. We've stayed at much better places on Lake George. I feel sorry for the people staying here when I drive by now, because they obviously don't know how much more delightful Lake George can be. It's about warmth and fun, Chuck.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank wmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We found Stepping Stones one weekend driving through the area. What caught our eye was how clean the grounds were. We stopped in, was invited to look around and talk to those staying there, and we did just that. We heard nothing but positive reviews so we decided to stay there with our 4 kids a few weeks later. The cottages are your basic cottages with several exceptions - they are CLEAN, they all have a view of the lake, and they have A/C. There is a great littel beach area just for guests, and considering we had stopped at the public beach a few weeks before, this was fantastic. The only thing which made me feel a little out of place is that I was not a boat owner, and most guests seem to be. (Though we did rent a boat for a day on the lake - highy recommended). Yes we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emkay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Wouldn't stay any where else in Lake George , simply the best! Small , private , safe and CLEAN. Have gone there 11 years in a row and most of the families that go are repeat families. By far one of the nicest pieces of property on the Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Babs12564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diamond Point
2.3 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#12 of 89 in Lake George
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Juliana
The Juliana
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#3 of 9 in Diamond Point
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hill View Cottages
Hill View Cottages
#1 of 6 in Diamond Point
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stones Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stones Resort

Address: 3722 Lake Shore Dr, Diamond Point, Lake George, NY 12824-2913
Region: United States > New York > Lake George > Diamond Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Diamond Point
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Stepping Stones Resort Lake George, NY - Diamond Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing