We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claythorpe Watermill & Wildfowl Gardens

Claythorpe Watermill & Wildfowl Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take your time.Tranquil and beautiful, our former watermill is a little gem at the heart of 2.5 acres of loveliness. Sit by the river, meet the birds and animals, soak up some history, have a delicious lunch in our café (exclusive to ticket holders), or let the kids off the leash in our woodland play area. There's a little something for everyone... and something for every little one.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Nice for family but be warned, its a small place. 45mins doing it slowly, but we managed to string it out via a picnic. Best animals there was the otters!! So sweet!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    15
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking tired and rundown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Visited here many years ago and it was fantastic however took my children here recently and found it it looking very rundown and tired. Tearoom looked good however we didn't stop for a cuppa.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing, plus loads for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Really nice place - relaxing for the grown-ups, exciting for the kids. Lots of animals to see, with the children really enjoying being able to get so close to the wandering chickens, peacocks and ducks. There's a quirky woodland playground, which is ideal for the kids to burn off some energy while you sit and relax on a park bench.

The coffee and cake we had in the restaurant were very good, too. And the service was very friendly.

Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickham Market
Level Contributor
347 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

An interesting visit, and would have been greatly enjoyed by our grandchildren. The play area looked great fun, with lots of "different" activities. The Mill itself doesn't have a mill wheel now, but there are some notices about what it would have been like. We enjoyed morning coffee/ scones. The highlight is the animals, particularly the huge variety of chickens -great fun! Some of the pens looked a bit tatty, but generally the walk round was great fun. The only slight drawback is that you have to pay the entry fee to use the restaurant -no problem for us, but if you just want a quick coffee on your journey, could be a problem.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank drpetembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Owner at Claythorpe Watermill & Wildfowl Gardens, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for a lovely review. We've only owned Claythorpe since July 2013 and are working through lots of updates, including the enclosures. Don't forget that you only pay once in order to get free entry for a further 12 months, so we hope you'll use your pass to come to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little secret tucked away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great for young kids who are not into the bling bling of seaside entertainments (slot machines) A pleasant stop off for a couple of hours, chickens, lambs, duckings, peacock and owls along with other waterfowl in a small lake along side a tea room with yummy smelling cakes (we didn't get tempted) and a few nods to the history of the watermill. Also a quaint playground built around nursery rhymes. I think if you pay once you can revisit whenever you like for a year, which is nice unless you live 150 miles away like us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davehowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claythorpe Watermill & Wildfowl Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Claythorpe Watermill & Wildfowl Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing