We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Wendy and Rob were great innkeepers. We enjoyed breakfasts and really liked our room, the spicer. It was central located, we came from the top of the eastern side Keuka Wine trail and the last winery we went to was right at the turn to 230 which is the road the inn is on, and you have to go north. We also visited the Windwill Market and it was great location for that, for dinner you have to drive a little, we ate in Hammondsport. The house is beautiful, with a big old tree in front with chairs under it to enjoy the countryside. It's not on either lake but it's a short drive to both, Seneca and Keuka. And they are great with directions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here on our trip to the Finger Lakes and had a great time. The Inn is beautiful with lots of history. The location is central to wineries around the lakes, and Wendy is very friendly and helpful and a very gracious hostess. She makes you feel very welcome in her beautiful, quaint home and has lots of great connections and ideas for food, activities, etc. PLUS, they have an adorable little boy and two awesome dogs. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The 1819 Red Brick Inn is a Home Away from Home, except you don’t have to cook and clean. Dan and, I have been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn at all times of the year, alone and with friends. We have always felt: at peace and away from it all, totally comforted, and flexible from nap to party.
I appear in the morning before breakfast. The peace of the pond, the trees and the air resonates “country morning” throughout The 1819 Red Brick Inn. I drink my coffee in the kitchen, smelling breakfast, talking and listening to “Wendy’s Take on Life,” “Rob’s Interjections,” and good will from incoming patrons and friends. Others ease into life more slowly in the comfort of the living room: not so antiquey that you are afraid and stifled, but keeping with the mood of peace and comfort.
The morning continues as Wendy introduces her “Pampered Chef” recipes for breakfast: creative presentation but keeping with the flavors of home (Leave It to Beaver’s home). Everyone is on their way to various activities, sometimes hibernating with and afternoon nap, a walk down a lonely road or a sip of wine and a nibble at Wendy’s brownies while savoring the tranquil pond activity.
As evening passes into night, we (as guests) are free to entertain ourselves in a respectful and joyful manner: TV, sleep, music, games, read a book – together or alone. Our friend brings his guitar and is gratefully welcomed. If you are too tired to go out, you can bring in pizza.
WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR?
Dan & Sylvia

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShoesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This past w/e was our anniverssary w/e. We celebrated by staying at the 1819 Red Brick Inn & doing some wine tasting. We stay here because you are made to feel like family by the hosts Rob & Wendy. It's conveneiently located between Seneca & Keuka Lakes, so you can visit alot of wineries w/o going far. The rooms are lovely with their own bathrooms. There are no TV's in the rooms, so you must socialize with othere guests,Friday night we were serenaded by a guest who played the guitar! It was nice & we talked with people the entire evening. The breakfasts are very good, like you would make at home if you had the time. Would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B and B in the Finger Lakes area. We enjoyed our stay. Wendy is an excellent hostess, and provided us with great breakfasts and very humorous true stories. We hope to return someday; for even more wine tasting, and we will definately stay at the 1819 Inn.

Thanks Wendy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I had a great stay at this Inn. Wendy and Robb were extremely friendly and helpful and seem to truly enjoy their guests and are very, very chatty in the morning during breakfasts with the other guests.

The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The shower was small, but spotless and everything was super clean and tidy. Our bed was extremely comfy. The food was good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nstar6c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We have been at the Red Brick Inn 2 times and are returning this coming weekend. What a fun place to go.

It is a beautiful, well-run B&B. Wendy is soooo helpful. She has alot of great recommendations that have been right on the dime.

The food is excellent and atmosphere are wonderful. Hope you go and experience the evening treats like homemade cookies and monkey bread, a fully stocked refrig and hospitality galore.

Mar and Nick

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
6.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
5.3 mi away
South Glenora Tree Farm B&B
3.7 mi away
1897 Beekman House
1897 Beekman House
#1 of 11 in Dundee
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
7 mi away
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2081 State Route 230, Dundee, NY 14837-9424
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £104 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing