We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Red Brick Inn...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the Red Brick Inn...”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at the 1819 Red Brick Inn over Labor Day weekend and had a wonderful time. The inn is situated in the middle of Mennonite farmland between Keuka (20 minutes away) and Seneca (10 minutes away) Lakes. It is in a wonderful location for wine tasting, hiking, shopping, and a romantic weekend. Wendy was a marvelous hostess who cooked up a delicious breakfast each morning and was a great resource for things to do in the area. All of the rooms have private bathrooms and central A/C. The price was very affordable for my budget and I plan on going back.

Room Tip: I liked the Tuttle Room...it is on the first floor and is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptone79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Union, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Wendy and Rob were great innkeepers. We enjoyed breakfasts and really liked our room, the spicer. It was central located, we came from the top of the eastern side Keuka Wine trail and the last winery we went to was right at the turn to 230 which is the road the inn is on, and you have to go north. We also visited the Windwill Market and it was great location for that, for dinner you have to drive a little, we ate in Hammondsport. The house is beautiful, with a big old tree in front with chairs under it to enjoy the countryside. It's not on either lake but it's a short drive to both, Seneca and Keuka. And they are great with directions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Royalton, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here on our trip to the Finger Lakes and had a great time. The Inn is beautiful with lots of history. The location is central to wineries around the lakes, and Wendy is very friendly and helpful and a very gracious hostess. She makes you feel very welcome in her beautiful, quaint home and has lots of great connections and ideas for food, activities, etc. PLUS, they have an adorable little boy and two awesome dogs. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The 1819 Red Brick Inn is a Home Away from Home, except you don’t have to cook and clean. Dan and, I have been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn at all times of the year, alone and with friends. We have always felt: at peace and away from it all, totally comforted, and flexible from nap to party.
I appear in the morning before breakfast. The peace of the pond, the trees and the air resonates “country morning” throughout The 1819 Red Brick Inn. I drink my coffee in the kitchen, smelling breakfast, talking and listening to “Wendy’s Take on Life,” “Rob’s Interjections,” and good will from incoming patrons and friends. Others ease into life more slowly in the comfort of the living room: not so antiquey that you are afraid and stifled, but keeping with the mood of peace and comfort.
The morning continues as Wendy introduces her “Pampered Chef” recipes for breakfast: creative presentation but keeping with the flavors of home (Leave It to Beaver’s home). Everyone is on their way to various activities, sometimes hibernating with and afternoon nap, a walk down a lonely road or a sip of wine and a nibble at Wendy’s brownies while savoring the tranquil pond activity.
As evening passes into night, we (as guests) are free to entertain ourselves in a respectful and joyful manner: TV, sleep, music, games, read a book – together or alone. Our friend brings his guitar and is gratefully welcomed. If you are too tired to go out, you can bring in pizza.
WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR?
Dan & Sylvia

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This past w/e was our anniverssary w/e. We celebrated by staying at the 1819 Red Brick Inn & doing some wine tasting. We stay here because you are made to feel like family by the hosts Rob & Wendy. It's conveneiently located between Seneca & Keuka Lakes, so you can visit alot of wineries w/o going far. The rooms are lovely with their own bathrooms. There are no TV's in the rooms, so you must socialize with othere guests,Friday night we were serenaded by a guest who played the guitar! It was nice & we talked with people the entire evening. The breakfasts are very good, like you would make at home if you had the time. Would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B and B in the Finger Lakes area. We enjoyed our stay. Wendy is an excellent hostess, and provided us with great breakfasts and very humorous true stories. We hope to return someday; for even more wine tasting, and we will definately stay at the 1819 Inn.

Thanks Wendy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I had a great stay at this Inn. Wendy and Robb were extremely friendly and helpful and seem to truly enjoy their guests and are very, very chatty in the morning during breakfasts with the other guests.

The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The shower was small, but spotless and everything was super clean and tidy. Our bed was extremely comfy. The food was good as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstar6c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
12.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,220 reviews
3.4 mi away
1897 Beekman House
1897 Beekman House
#1 of 11 in Dundee
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
7.4 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast

Property: The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2081 State Route 230, Dundee, NY 14837-9424
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing