We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I visit the Finger Lakes yearly to stock up on wines, take in the sights of the many surrounding parks, and relax. We have stayed at the Inn many years now and consider Rob the Innkeeper,and Kim his right hand, our friends. Our first visit to the Inn was filled with excellent breakfasts, fun filled banter with other guests, and freshly baked snacks that were waiting for us when we returned from a long day of enjoying all the Finger Lakes had to offer. All of our subsequent visits have met or exceeded our first experience. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and we have never had any issues with noise from any other guests. If you are looking to stay at a B&B for the first time, the Inn will always be the standard you hold all other too. Excellent value for the cost, extremely good location to launch day trips to any area of the Finger Lakes.

Room Tip: The Tuttle room has a working fireplace, a big "YES" from my wife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Inn and we love it. Convenient location between Seneca and Keuka. Although it is hard to find the first time at night (GPS misses by about 1/4 mile). All the rooms are nice. Bathrooms are big enough (stay in the Finger Lakes enough and you"ll understand that some B&Bs put bathrooms in small closets). Very pleasant host. Good food. Accommodates gluten free diet well. We"ll be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The owner and the manager were kind as could be and the breakfast was yummy! The two dogs are very gentle, though I found myself thinking of some of my clients that would NEVER stay in a house where dogs roam and I don't recall being told ahead of time that there would be animals in the house.

The rooms are quaint, but when night falls it is dark as could be in the room we stayed. (downstairs) No televisions in the rooms. No night lights to guide you to the bathroom. The brick around the fireplace is uneven and it never failed every night one of us stubbed a toe and tripped ourselves trying to find our way to the bed.

On our way there my mother got an email saying 'safe travels' from the owner. I didn't get one. After staying I got an email from the owner and his wife saying it was lovely having us. It was an email that no one took the time - just an 'auto send' because the owner's wife no longer lives there - yet it was signed by her. I know the owner is busy, so he should pay someone to stay on top of things such as that.


Not a good first 'b&b' experience for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Visited the Watkins Glen area for the first time and arranged a last minute stay at the Red Brick Inn B&B. The location is quaint and out of the normal line of travel as it is between 2 lakes, Senaca and Keuka.

When we arrived the entire facility was dark with no lighting whatsoever. The manager arrived after a telephone call after 15 minutes or so.

The room was pleasant enough but the bed appeared small for a "queen" and was not as comfortable as I would prefer. The pillows has seen better days.

Breakfasts were find and the manager and owner were pleasant.

The upholstered furniture was a bit worn and needed updating.

Room Tip: This location is approximately 20 to 30 minutes from Watkins Glen and about 20 minutes from the bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustang1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Picked the Red Brick Inn based on a friend's recommendation. Went there with my parents in October and we had a superb stay. It is conveniently located between Keuka and Seneca lakes and is very close to the vineyards, Watson Glen State Park and Windmill Farmer's market (highly recommend this one). The Inn is in a beautiful red building with a pretty little pond in the back. Mike, the owner is extremely helpful and is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. The rooms are decent sized and very comfortable. Their dogs - Wesley and Abbey are extremely adorable and friendly. The only negative I would say is that since the owners dont stay here all the time it lacks that home away from home feeling in a certain way.
Overall will definitely recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Spicer & Eaton face each other and Millard & Northup face each other. Spicer and Eaton have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enthuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and i stayed here last weekend - went to the Finger Lakes to celebrate our anniversary. We chose this location because we were rather last-minute in booking and many of the larger hotels we were looking at were already booked up, and this was a very affordable place to stay, especially when you compared it with other lodging opportunities in the area.

We stayed in the Northup Room - nice size not too big not too small plenty of room to move around in we never felt crowded. The in-suite bathroom was small but serviceable.... and I prefer a small bathroom of my own to a large one that I have to share with other guests like you find at some b&bs. The stand-up shower was very small and not for sharing :-) The water pressure was pretty low, if someone flushes the toilet in the house you know it if you're taking a shower or washing your hands at the sink, but that is to be expected when in a nearly two-century-old home. Also, be aware that the local water smells of sulfur, which is pretty noticeable especially if you're not used to it. Our room had an a/c window unit which was great, a small hairdryer in the bathroom, travel-size bottles of shampoo, conditioner and lotion are in the bathroom if you need it. No TVs in any of the guest rooms, but there was a cd player (bring your own music) that had an auxillary output cord / jack so we were able to play music from my Kindle Fire. I thought the bed was very comfortable, just the right level of firmness and it definitely wasn't a soft mattress. Plenty of pillows on the bed and the bedding was comfortable as well.

All but one of the guest rooms are on the second floor. The 1st floor guest room is off the foyer to the left of the front door. Towards the end of the foyer there was a basket filled with a few different pain relievers and other medicine-cabinet necessities, and a first-aid kit nearby. That was appreciated and very thoughtful of the owners to keep those items out in the open for their guests.

In the sitting room there is a TV with satellite and quite a few DVDs to choose from if you did decide you wanted to sit around and watch television. THere's also a steady supply of brownies and chocolate chip cookies available to you. That was also a nice touch :-) The dining room houses a fridge / freezer for guest use, and soda and bottled water is available for guests.

Breakfast is at 9am in a dining room with a large table. 1st day we had peaches w/ sweet cream (too yummy!) and "breakfast pizza" = hash brown crust with eggs, sausage, and chunks of green peppers and onions. My husband & I both agree that the breakfast pizza could have done without the peppers and onions, most ppl probably don't want that in their breakfast food if given the choice - but it was easy to eat around those ingredients. 2nd day was warm pear compote followed by a nice and rich ham and cheese quiche. If you have dietary requirements just let them know i know they will accommodate your requests.

THe grounds of the property are beautiful and we enjoyed walking down to the pond and sitting by the tree talking with each other - it was a nice place to unwind and enjoy our time together. It seems there is a hot tub on the property but it isn't in use - either they haven't set it up yet or they're getting rid of it we weren't quite sure but it would be nice if it were up and running next time we stay.

THe 2 resident dogs are very sweet and you never see them go upstairs, it seems they either spend their time outside or on the first floor. We never got to meet the actual owners - the husband commutes every other week, and his wife and son took the summer off and have left the b&b in the capable hands of Kim.

Would we stay here again? Sure! There are a few other places we want to stay at in the area for future trips, but we would come back if there was nothing else available to us......it was comfortable, clean, charming, quaint, quiet and relaxing and affordable too. :-)

Room Tip: The Millard and Northup rooms are towards the back of the 2nd floor down a hallway to a more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was our second time Back and we enjoyed it. Rob was great with checking for things for me I have a soy allergy and he made sure that what he made for Breakfast was what I could eat. We had apple pancakes with choice of wine syrups and bacaon and warm pear compote. You do have two wonderful dogs on property friendly and lovable. Rooms clean and beautiful we stayed in the Millard this time. Front of the house right side. There is cookies or some sweet under glass in the living room and water in the frigerator,

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms upstairs and one down, all have bathrooms in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
6.2 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
7.4 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
#1 of 2 in Rock Stream
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.4 mi away
1897 Beekman House
1897 Beekman House
#1 of 11 in Dundee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast

Property: The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2081 State Route 230, Dundee, NY 14837-9424
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing