We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The 1819 Red Brick Inn is a Home Away from Home, except you don’t have to cook and clean. Dan and, I have been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn at all times of the year, alone and with friends. We have always felt: at peace and away from it all, totally comforted, and flexible from nap to party.
I appear in the morning before breakfast. The peace of the pond, the trees and the air resonates “country morning” throughout The 1819 Red Brick Inn. I drink my coffee in the kitchen, smelling breakfast, talking and listening to “Wendy’s Take on Life,” “Rob’s Interjections,” and good will from incoming patrons and friends. Others ease into life more slowly in the comfort of the living room: not so antiquey that you are afraid and stifled, but keeping with the mood of peace and comfort.
The morning continues as Wendy introduces her “Pampered Chef” recipes for breakfast: creative presentation but keeping with the flavors of home (Leave It to Beaver’s home). Everyone is on their way to various activities, sometimes hibernating with and afternoon nap, a walk down a lonely road or a sip of wine and a nibble at Wendy’s brownies while savoring the tranquil pond activity.
As evening passes into night, we (as guests) are free to entertain ourselves in a respectful and joyful manner: TV, sleep, music, games, read a book – together or alone. Our friend brings his guitar and is gratefully welcomed. If you are too tired to go out, you can bring in pizza.
WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR?
Dan & Sylvia

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShoesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This past w/e was our anniverssary w/e. We celebrated by staying at the 1819 Red Brick Inn & doing some wine tasting. We stay here because you are made to feel like family by the hosts Rob & Wendy. It's conveneiently located between Seneca & Keuka Lakes, so you can visit alot of wineries w/o going far. The rooms are lovely with their own bathrooms. There are no TV's in the rooms, so you must socialize with othere guests,Friday night we were serenaded by a guest who played the guitar! It was nice & we talked with people the entire evening. The breakfasts are very good, like you would make at home if you had the time. Would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this B and B in the Finger Lakes area. We enjoyed our stay. Wendy is an excellent hostess, and provided us with great breakfasts and very humorous true stories. We hope to return someday; for even more wine tasting, and we will definately stay at the 1819 Inn.

Thanks Wendy!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I had a great stay at this Inn. Wendy and Robb were extremely friendly and helpful and seem to truly enjoy their guests and are very, very chatty in the morning during breakfasts with the other guests.

The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are very nice. The shower was small, but spotless and everything was super clean and tidy. Our bed was extremely comfy. The food was good as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstar6c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We have been at the Red Brick Inn 2 times and are returning this coming weekend. What a fun place to go.

It is a beautiful, well-run B&B. Wendy is soooo helpful. She has alot of great recommendations that have been right on the dime.

The food is excellent and atmosphere are wonderful. Hope you go and experience the evening treats like homemade cookies and monkey bread, a fully stocked refrig and hospitality galore.

Mar and Nick

  • Liked — Hospitalaity
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Rob unfortunately was not in but Wendy was a superb hostess who genuinely made us feel welcome. The room was immaculate and the bathroom while admittedly small was both clean and well kept. Breakfast was charming and shared by all the guest in traditional family style in the homes welcoming dining room. Wendy took great care to offer useful advise for our exploration of the finger lakes in general and the winery's in particular. We travel extensively and recommend this inn without reservation. Tracy

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2007

We enjoyed our stay very much. Wendy and Rob seem to really enjoy having the Inn and foster a great atmosphere for their guests to meet one another. The house is very nice. Our room wasn't huge, but big enough and had it's own bathroom and was very clean. The also are nice enough to provide very yummy fresh baked snacks--not necessarily scratch made as Wendy freely admits, but delicious. They also provide a fridge full of free non-alcoholic beverages, which is a nice touch. The breakfast was also very good. There are also some very sweet dogs on the property that will come and greet you.

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — A little out of our way
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
164 reviews
6.2 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
3.4 mi away
1897 Beekman House
1897 Beekman House
#1 of 11 in Dundee
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
6.7 mi away
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
12.1 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast

Property: The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2081 State Route 230, Dundee, NY 14837-9424
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The 1819 Red Brick Inn - A Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing