We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cozy house, excellent breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had a wonderful time at 1922 Starkey House. Our room was cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was the best we've had in years. Cathy (our host) was very knowledgeable about the area, and was so friendly and accommodating. It was nice visiting during the off-season. We had the house to ourselves, and none of the places we went were crowded.

Our favorite part of the stay was definitely the food. She had very tasty snacks laid out as soon as we arrived, and the breakfast - the breakfast! It was so delicious and wholesome. If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely be going back to Starkey House.

Room Tip: The Veranda Room was great!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you and I am so happy that you both enjoyed every aspect of your stay here at 1922 Starkey House in Finger Lakes Wine Country. It is my pleasure to host my guests and I hope to see you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had such an enjoyable time visiting in the Finger Lakes. The Starkey House provided a private, romantic and relaxing atmosphere for us. We stayed in the Veranda Room which included our own private balcony. Cathy, our host, was very attentive to us. She provided delicious breakfasts, and even left snacks on the dining room table when we returned from our outings. We hope to return next Spring and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed at 1922 Starkey House in early October, in the Veranda View room, and had an awesome time. Cathy was a great host, making sure we had everything we needed. She even put out a cheese platter for us when we returned in the afternoon!! The room was very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent. The location was convenient to numerous wineries around Seneca Lake. Cathy gave us a bunch of info on the wineries and restaurants to check out in the area. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Take the Veranda Room if you can. There is a huge private porch that wraps around two sides of the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying the week-end in the 1922 Starkey House B&B in the Finger Lakes. From the moment that we arrived Cathy our hostess,was most gracious and went over and above to meet our needs. Our private bed & bathroom (Veranda view room) was upstairs and was quite comfortable and clean. Our daughter-in-law had notified Kathy that she wanted to do something special for us so the two of them had arranged a lovely tray of local fresh fruit and cheeses along with crackers and Champagne. What a wonderful surprise!!! Cathy makes excellent gourmet breakfasts and is very knowledgeable about the local area and its history. My only suggestion would be longer breakfast hours. They are from 730 to 9AM and to be able to relax more in the AM would be great. Perhaps 730 to 10AM would be possible. Would definitely stay there again when visiting the Finger Lakes!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

There was five in our group. We were able to take the rooms on the upper floor with acess to the upper porch. This allow us to gather together in the morning and evenings without bothering the other guests. Kathy was wonder full hostess. Food was great and portions unfortunely were large. Back to the gym.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at the 1922 Starkey House. The rooms were comfortable and private. The breakfasts were delicious and the location was convenient to the wineries. Cathy was very gracious and did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Would definatly stay there again when visiting the finger lakes.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rochelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The view is not that much. I thought it would be closer to Lake Seneca. Two couples shared Robin's Nest and frankly it is better with family than friends because of the awkward bathroom situation. It is located in one of the bedrooms and you have to walk through the bedroom to get outside. All B&B's have something quirky. The porch was nice and the breakfast very good. I thought the owner was a little too much around and too quick to lecture on whole foods but genuine. We had the impression from the website that there would be evening snacks out too but turns out that is only if you pay for it and order in advance. Rather confusing. Also a little bit of a drive and on a pretty busy road with truck traffic starting at 5:00 am or so. It is quiet otherwise but not near much evening activity. Limited ability to handle two payers for the suite. We had to pay cash so one couple could use their credit card. Nice tip from owner on amazing farm auction on Wednesday morning each week not far from the house.

Room Tip: Upstairs on north side with private bath. If traveling in couples would definitely do two rooms and...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Carol, I appreciate the candid review of your stay here. I do encourage guests to take two rooms when making their choice if travelling as couples, even though friends. Sometimes saving a few dollars does not provide the best scenario. The Robin's Nest Suite was designed specifically for family or friends, for example, such as a group of four ladies, just having a fun weekend together who do not mind sharing the bath. I would have liked if you chose the better option when booking. Thanks for staying and please visit the website for updates and my blog, named Passionate in the Finger Lakes which truely describes all details of the house, surroundings, and region. Sincerely, and all the best in the coming year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
8.2 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
112 reviews
10.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
3.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
11.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 254 Dundee Starkey Rd, Dundee, NY 14837-9156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £146 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Heart of the Finger Lakes" with a veranda view of Seneca Lake 1922 Starkey House is the perfect "home base" from which to explore the wineries, vineyards, restaurants, lakes, and numerous attractions of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. The house provides a warm and welcoming country atmosphere just a short drive away from the bustling shops and restaurants of Watkins Glen, Geneva, Penn Yan, or Ithaca.The Seneca, Keuka, and Cayuga Wine Trails, craft breweries, as well as the Artisan Cheesetrails are all just minutes away. If you enjoy Watkins Glen International racing, it is just ten miles away. Bring your love for fishing and boating to the nearby NY State boat launch.The house features Mission style architecture and sits proudly on two lush acres with garden views of perennials and evergreens. Guests enjoy delicious breakfasts and evening buffet snacks in the dining room or on the porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing