We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The house was beautiful and our stay was wonderful! Very peaceful and Cathy was fantastic. She was very helpful with area recommendations and made sure we felt right at home. We stayed in the veranda suite and it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaOberdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    22
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
91
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

While I would agree with many of the 5 star reviews of the breakfast and of Cathy, the host, there is much more to be considered. The breakfasts were delicious and generous. Cathy was friendly and helpful. But beyond that, our experience was disappointing. The website descriptions and photos created an expectation that was not met. This property is not “luxurious”. It is old, not in a charming way but in a tired way. Our first impression upon arrival was of the gazebo, which was dilapidated and overgrown with weeds inside and out. There were no benches but one would not want to sit there anyway. Can't figure out why the website description would call attention to the “gazebo views”.

I had reserved the Robin's Nest because it's description sounded so nice. “...private veranda spaces for Seneca Lake views, morning sunrises and evening sunsets!” The house is nearly a mile from the lake with minimal view. Perhaps better in the winter with bare trees. By mid afternoon the sun was behind the building. No view of a sunset here. The king-size bed was comfortable and afforded a decent sleep after dark. But an afternoon rest following our drive was interrupted by the regular passage of tractor trailer trucks coming down the hill on Route 40 which is right outside the window on the south side of the house. Traffic noise calmed by nighttime but started up again by 6:30 AM. The bathroom was new, as stated, but the electric heater did not work. The den part of this “two room suite” was a small room taken up almost entirely by a bed making it unusable as a sitting room. The “walk-in closet” was more of a walk-through space to move from the bedroom to the den.

Compared to other bed and breakfasts we have visited over the past ten years, the Starkey House is overrated and overpriced.

Room Tip: Robin's Nest window is adjacent to noisy Route 40 truck traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcos48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1922starkeybb, Owner at 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thanks for any compliments paid about the house, service, cleanliness and myself. I have gone to edit the room description for the Robin's Nest suite and also the room arrangement of the den now includes a couch, tables and desk. The den couch can be converted to a comfortable extra sleep spot should the need arise. Of course this space continues out to the second floor private porch. I do differ in opinion with you, as well as do many other previous guests who have stayed in the room, about the lake views. The lake is clearly visible as well as sunrises and sunsets. I never claim to be down on the water.
Please check new pictures relating to this.

As for the truck sounds, it happens that there were a few new house construction sites just minutes down the road along the lake, during that time period that I believe contributed to the extra noise. It is too bad that you had to experience that which was mostly during the day.
There are so many beautiful day trips and excursions to take that normally guests do not have a chance to take in every moment at the house. Most return guests, some that come back every year do so because of the country peace and quiet, and the feeling of "home" that the house, the area and I provide.
I do hope your next Finger Lakes experience is better and that every detail of a website is accurate. It was my pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our five day stay at the 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast was absolutely wonderful! Cathy, the Innkeeper, is a warm and friendly host who is quite attentive to one's dietary needs. Her breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious and very filling. Cathy knows a lot about the Finger Lakes Region, and we had many wonderful conversations. Our room (Robin's Nest) was quite spacious and comfortable with a beautiful little porch. I loved the fact that you could just sit in the living room during the early part of the evening...play cards...and eat a delicious snack that Cathy provided. This Bed & Breakfast is truly a home away from home, and I look forward to coming back in the future. You will very much enjoy a visit to the 1922 Starkey House! I most highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharlene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you Cathy for taking good care of my family. Cathy is very loving , caring ,and knowledgeable. She went above and beyond to take care of us. Very nice and clean rooms. Enjoyed the nice view of seneca lake from the Veranda room. Breakfast was delicious and scrumptious everyday. Cathy made a point to let us know where the ingredient came from. This was our first experience with B&B and certainly not the last. And ofcourse can not forget Cathy's best friend with her cool golf cart.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuchita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

1922 Starkey House B&B was lovely! It was a great location between Seneca Lake and Keuka Lake. The décor was really nice, and the woodwork was gorgeous. We stayed in the Sycamore Room which was satisfactory. The bathroom was newly renovated and was very roomy and nice. There was a terrific porch that went around half of the building. Breakfast was served each morning on the porch. The breakfasts were scrumptious, and Cathy, our innkeeper, made a point to tell us where all the ingredients came from. She uses locally sourced produce and meat. Herbs were from her garden. Great breakfasts, and Cathy was very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed our 4 days there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emtobitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the 1922 Starkey House a couple days ago....the inn keeper Cathy took meticulous care of us....accommodations were perfect down to the tiniest detail...breakfast was delicious - blueberry waffles, sausage, fresh coffee...and was served outside on the wraparound porch.....the location is very convenient to the west side of Seneca Lake, just off the highway up from Watkins Glen, NY...we stayed in the Veranda Room...very clean,....with its own exterior balcony with views of the lake. You really won't be disappointed and will be in good hands! When we come back to the Finger Lakes, we will first try to make a reservation here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at the Starkey House. This was our first B&B experience and were pleasantly surprised. Cathy offers clean, home-like rooms that put you at ease after a long day on the wine trail or hiking the Watkins Glen gorge. Our favorite part was the delicious breakfast provided each morning as well as the quiet evenings spent sitting on the porch and talking to other guests. We will definitely be visiting again soon and would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
10.8 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Savannah House Inn
11.1 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: 1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 254 Dundee Starkey Rd, Dundee, NY 14837-9156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Heart of the Finger Lakes" with a veranda view of Seneca Lake 1922 Starkey House is the perfect "home base" from which to explore the wineries, vineyards, restaurants, lakes, and numerous attractions of the beautiful Finger Lakes Region of Upstate New York. The house provides a warm and welcoming country atmosphere just a short drive away from the bustling shops and restaurants of Watkins Glen, Geneva, Penn Yan, or Ithaca.The Seneca, Keuka, and Cayuga Wine Trails, craft breweries, as well as the Artisan Cheesetrails are all just minutes away. If you enjoy Watkins Glen International racing, it is just ten miles away. Bring your love for fishing and boating to the nearby NY State boat launch.The house features Mission style architecture and sits proudly on two lush acres with garden views of perennials and evergreens. Guests enjoy delicious breakfasts and evening buffet snacks in the dining room or on the porches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing