We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best!!”
Review of 1897 Beekman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1897 Beekman House
Ranked #1 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, CT
2 reviews
“One of the Best!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I were invited to a wedding at thew nearby Glenora Winery. Once we got the invitation,we went on the b net to find a place to stay. We looked at a lot of B&B and a couple hotels- but were lucky enough to find the 1897 Beekman House on Trip Advisor. Everyone who stayed there gave it a great review- and now we get to add on to that list. Gerry and Chef Chuck were friendly and gracious hosts. The rooms were immaculate, the location was very convenient to the Seneca Lake wineries- and the breakfast was a gourmet treat. We felt like family from the moment we arrived-and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison-Travellers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the 1897 Beekman House for two nights while visiting the Finger Lakes. This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast and the experience far exceeded our expectations. The innkeepers were very gracious and made us feel welcome throughout our stay. The inn itself was immaculate and furnished with attention to detail. While there were many period pieces throughout the inn, comfort was never sacrificed. We especially enjoyed the overstuffed leather furnishings in the gentleman's sitting room, and I was delighted to see a Keurig coffeemaker, with a wide variety of choices, conveniently located in the stairway landing. The guest rooms were equally well appointed and we slept very soundly. The three course breakfasts were a gourmet delight, as wonderful to look at as to savor, and a perfect way to begin our day. We were given a warm sendoff upon leaving and, as lovely as the Finger Lakes are, a return trip to the area would not be the same without a stay at the 1897 Beekman House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbtold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford
Level Contributor
284 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I wanted to attend a wedding for a relative at the Glenora Winery in the Finger Lakes of New York. We checked the internet and found 1897 Beekman House, a nearby B&B - what a LUCKY find! The house is beautiful, the hosts are gracious and helpful, and the breakfasts are a gourmet adventure every morning. Everything was exceptionally clean and in good repair.

Our room was the Cottage Room, located in an old servant's quarter. It was very comfortable and beautifully decorated though a little unusual because our bathroom was a short walk past steep wooden servant stairs from the kitchen. Every time you walked between the room, a motion sensor light came on so you wouldn't stumble down the stairs. This was not a problem for us, but it might be a good idea to put a gate across the stair opening. The only other thing to mention for folks with ambulatory problems is that all luggage had to be carried up the central stairway as there is no elevator. The host was very willing to help with luggage, but this could be a problem for some.

We spent a lot of time on the big, comfy porch waiting for wedding time. The day was just beautiful. We read and I worked crossword puzzles and watched local Amish pass by in their buggies. We would waive and they would waive back. It was most enjoyable!

Chuck & Gerry will chill wine for you. They also have a small afternoon nosh for their guests. We had watermelon one afternoon which was honestly the best I've ever eaten. Gerry says she tries to buy locally when possible.

If you want some romance, if you like wine tasting, and if you want a relaxing get-away, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If you get up a lot at night and have some disorientation when doing so or have ambulatory problems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL-Snowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

All things considered, it is THE #1 Best Place to Stay, really! Chuck and Gerry made us feel at home immediately - they are such gracious hosts. The house including our room was even more beautiful than the website pictures. Our room was the Isadora Room which was spacious, with a comfy bed, antique decor, and a heavenly modern shower. Chuck is a gourmet chef and with Gerry assisting, all the breakfasts were 5-Star. The standing poached pear filled with sweetened mascarpone was my favorite, but everything was delicious and made from scratch. Some of us took photos of the food it was so elegant. Chuck is a former Barbershopper and we enjoyed playing and singing along with the player piano before we had to leave. Their location is within easy driving distance to some of the best wineries - our favorites were Glenora and Bully Hill. We highly recommend staying at 1897 Beekman.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We really can not add much to the previous reviews other than to say Gerry even went of her way to iron some shirts for us.They are everything wonderful that has already been said about them. We wish all b&b's were as enjoyable as they were, although most of them have been pretty good. We have stayed at alot of b&b's and have never had a breakfast presentation like Church did. The breakfast was over the top. You will find out Church is quite the chef. The location is only about 10 minutes from the finger lakes and if we ever go that way again we surely will stay there again.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to be quite since it is located in a small town. we stayed in the maids room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmancharlotte,nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The home was wonderful. The hosts were like family. The room we stayed in (French room) was quiet and a nice size (at the back of the house). No plumbing issues, nice amenties, great breakfast in the morning, even our fellow guests were enjoyable. We usually like to try out other places to stay in the area but this B&B is so perfect, we would be hard pressed to look elsewhere. Thanks Gerry & Chuck from your long-lost family members.

Room Tip: The town is small so even a room in the front shouldn't be a noise issue. French room was nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Chuck and Gerry greeted us as we came to the front door, and we knew immediately that our 2 night stay at the 1897 Beekman House was going to be a wonderful experience. They gave us a tour of their beautiful and immaculate Victorian home, before we settled in to the French Room, which is gorgeously decorated and had a whirlpool tub in it's private bathroom!
The parlor rooms and dining room downstairs are elegant, but warm and comfortable. The landing had an adorable sitting room and a Keurig machine with a plentiful assortment of coffee and teas, as well as wine glasses and an opener ready for for your winery purchases.
The best part of the Beekman House experience , besides the Chuck and Gerry's warmth and graciousness, is the incredible breakfasts. Chuck is a chef and the breakfasts are an amazing expression of his culinary talent.
All in all, it was an unforgettable experience, and one that is a must for anyone visiting the Finger Lakes region.
A big "Thank You" to Chuck and Gerry!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthFLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.8 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
11.2 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1897 Beekman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1897 Beekman House

Property: 1897 Beekman House
Address: 39 Main St, Dundee, NY 14837-1051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1897 Beekman House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1897 Beekman House Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored Victorian home built in 1897, combining old fashion elegance with modern conveniences in the Finger Lakes region of New York State.We welcome you to experience the graciousness and hospitality of our Victorian home. Step into the past, enjoy the present, create memories for tomorrow. We are located in the heart of wine country in the beautiful Finger Lakes. All rooms have king or queen size beds and private baths en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your 1897 Beekman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing