We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1897 Beekman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1897 Beekman House
Ranked #1 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lumberton
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this beautiful, authentically furnished B/B last May. We were in the small, maid's quarters, but it was lovely, with a private bath just through a small hallway (luxureous cotton robes provided). Hand milled soap and travel size, boutique style shampoo and body cream provided. The best part was the gourmet breakfast, served on fine china.There was also a coffee station, on the landing, including water, etc if we wanted something in the evening. And when we left, a parting gift of DELICIOUS freshly made popcorn. Hope we will be in area to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastfoodie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
126
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Everything was perfect. The room was great. The innkeepers went out of there way to see that we we were comfortable. Breakfast was out of this world! I would go again just for the breakfast alone. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregNFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Inn keepers are two of the most lovely people; kind, thoughtful and have a spirit of stewardship. Breakfasts are elegant and quite filling. I included my father in this trip upstate to visit the Beekman House, the home he grew up in from birth to he left for Vietnam. Home is absolutely gorgeous!!! Dad had floods of memories and continues to gush about our visit. Thank you both for such a wonderful time.
I have stayed at many B&B's before and this one is the BEST! The home is excellent, but more importantly, the inn keepers are beautiful people.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debaldguy, Owner at 1897 Beekman House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
What great fun we had listening to your Dad's stories about living here so long ago. His memory is still sharp and he told us things about the house we would never have known. I'm still blown away about that hidden panel in the dining room and I now find myself looking closely at everything, wondering what other secrets this old home is hiding from us!

We just love it when folks "come home" to the Beekman House and share fond memories, and perhaps make some new ones! Thanks again for bringing Dad here, and we're looking forward to meeting your Mom too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The home is absolutely beautiful and we felt we were stepping into our past except this time we were living like royalty. We were pleasantly surprised at the modern convenience of a large bedroom and private bath but at the same time that it was decorated with furnishings and decor of the Victorian era. It is a historical treat right down to the player piano .
Chuck and Gerry are truly amazing. Not only do they make you feel welcome, you feel they are close friends or family from the moment you meet them but it gets even better when you discover that Chuck is a gourmet chef and serves the most delicious breakfast you will ever eat ..we have been in France and eaten French cuisine and I can honestly say his breakfast was better than any I had ever eaten.
I would highly recommend staying here if you want to experience absolute perfection in every realm of a bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: The Royal room was worth the extra pricing, large room and King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debaldguy, Owner at 1897 Beekman House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Gerry and I continue to be amazed and blessed by the kind comments that our guests have left for us. Even more a blessing are the friendships we have gained. You two are a great example of both! We won't forget you or your invitation to visit if we ever make it to Arizona. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Chuck and Gerri are perfection in hospitality. Chuck, a trained chef, serves up a 3-course breakfast in the morning while educating guests on the role of each course (without being pompous). In the afternoon, Gerri serves up some freshly baked cookies or fresh fruit from the local Mennonite farms. This is a special place owned by very special people.

And most special of all...we are getting married in the ladies parlor later this summer with dinner prepared by Chuck....perfection!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherrill, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you’re looking for a better B&B you’re fooling yourself. Gerry and Chuck have somehow perfected the art of providing genuine hospitality at an immaculate property full of abundant character. The food…the company…the comfort level of the room…everything was off the charts during our visit. We can’t wait to return. Thanks to them for such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

For us history buffs, life in Victorian times was pleasantly recalled and comfortably simulated at the l897 Beekman House. The period furniture, music room, gentlemen's parlor with its wild animal wallpaper and crocheted doilies all invoked life of the upper classes before the turn of the last century. Even the clop-pety-clop of horse drawn Mennonite buggies that went by on "courting night" (Sunday) added to the verisimilitude of the Beekman House's origins. We stayed in the Isadora room. named after the "little girl" whose bedroom this was and who, at the age of 90, still visits her childhood home on occasion. Service, delicious 'from scratch" gourmet breakfasts and attention to guest's comforts, courtesy of Chef Chuck and wife Gerry, is as perfect as one might expect in Victorian times. Shades of Darnton Abbey- American style !

Room Tip: There are four rooms, two face Main St., two the side yard, all air-conditioned. Grounds are attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60974Isernia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.8 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
11.2 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1897 Beekman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1897 Beekman House

Property: 1897 Beekman House
Address: 39 Main St, Dundee, NY 14837-1051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1897 Beekman House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1897 Beekman House Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored Victorian home built in 1897, combining old fashion elegance with modern conveniences in the Finger Lakes region of New York State.We welcome you to experience the graciousness and hospitality of our Victorian home. Step into the past, enjoy the present, create memories for tomorrow. We are located in the heart of wine country in the beautiful Finger Lakes. All rooms have king or queen size beds and private baths en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 1897 Beekman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing