We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed”
Review of 1897 Beekman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1897 Beekman House
Ranked #1 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Getzville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Our third trip to the 1897 Beekman House. Chuck and Gerry make you feel like family and the accommodations and breakfast are amazing! For a relaxing, warm place to stay just minutes from the wineries, the Beekman House is unsurpassed! We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14068mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
129
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paterson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Beekman house in the Finger Lakes during Valentine's Day weekend. Two other couples accompanied us for a weekend of wine tasting and relaxation. It was my first time at a bed and breakfast and was curious to see what they were all about. Upon arrival, the owners Chuck and Gerry greeted us at the door in the large foyer of their old Victorian. The first floor offers a living room with a flatscreen TV, two dining rooms, and two sitting rooms with plenty of books, magazines and a few instruments for those musically inclined. The second floor has four bedrooms each with a unique theme. My girlfriend and I stayed in the largest room which is the "Royal Room." The room has a King bed (large enough for 5 people), a flatscreen TV and a private bathroom. Everything was very clean and updated with a homey feel, which made our stay very comfortable.

Every morning consisted of a three course breakfast which was prepared by Chuck. I must say it was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. The first morning we started with a smoothie shooter, followed by fresh baked scones and finished off with a bacon quiche. (He cures his own bacon). The second morning consisted of a different smoothie, a poached pear filled with a cream filling and blueberry stuffed french toast. Chuck is very enthusiastic about his meals and it shows through his culinary skills.

Chuck and Gerry are very pleasant welcoming hosts. They will go above and beyond for your needs and are very passionate about their B&B. They were kind enough to set up our wine tour transportation, cook us dinner and give recommendations for the numerous wineries in the region. I would recommend the Beekman House for your next stay to the Finger Lakes. The combination of the superb service and the rich history and design of the house give for a very unique calming retreat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley View, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the 1897 Beekman House while visiting the Finger Lakes area in November. The house is beautiful, the food is delicious and the host and hostess are friendly and welcoming. We will definitely stay there again during our next trip back to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smg425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Chuch and Gerry are the quintessential hosts, ready to make every moment of your stay perfect. The food is among the best I have ever eaten and it is presented with just the right amount of flair. There is a warmth in the 1897 Beekman House that goes beyond words. It has become my standard for judging all of my B&B experiences. Special thanks to Chuch and Gerry for helping me make my sweetie's birthday celebration so special! We'll be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, but only one has a jetted tub. If that is important to you, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Another title I considered was "Pay for the breakfast and spend the night for free..." Our stay was outstanding - Gerry and Chuck truly love what they do and it shows in everything. Guests are made to feel like friends, the home is immaculate as well as inviting and the breakfast is better than any breakfast we've ever had in five star hotels. If you've ever had a so-so experience with a bed and breakfast, don't give up on staying in one until you've stayed here - the experience will change your mind. This really should be the mold for all other establishments to follow. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental room - the queen size bed was comfortable. It was very quiet. There are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKS0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chickeeta210
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at 1897 beekman during our visit to the finger lakes. The b&b was very comfortable and had board games. There is a coffee and tea station with a wine menu for purchasing. Breakfast was very delicious but also very decadent and sweet! Chuck and Gerry were great hosts and Gerry is so sweet. I would say that it isn't cheap for a b&b but is a great stay nonetheless!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickeeta210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Harmony, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast last weekend and it absolutely exceeded all of my expectations. This was our first experience with a B&B and I have to say that Chuck and Gerry has totally spoiled me for any future innkeepers. I doubt that I will ever find a wonderful experience like this again. The house and rooms are decorated very well and the innkeepers attention to detail is beyond words. Now let me talk about the food!!!! Words don't even begin to to do justice to the scrumptious breakfast that is served to you daily. You will spend the whole day just waiting for breakfast the next morning. His culinary skills are beyond compare. It is regular food with just enough haughtiness to make you feel like royalty. I highly recommend anyone visiting the finger lakes area to stay here as it will only enhance your stay to a beautiful area of the state.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
176 reviews
10.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
11.2 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
175 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1897 Beekman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1897 Beekman House

Property: 1897 Beekman House
Address: 39 Main St, Dundee, NY 14837-1051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 1897 Beekman House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1897 Beekman House Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored Victorian home built in 1897, combining old fashion elegance with modern conveniences in the Finger Lakes region of New York State.We welcome you to experience the graciousness and hospitality of our Victorian home. Step into the past, enjoy the present, create memories for tomorrow. We are located in the heart of wine country in the beautiful Finger Lakes. All rooms have king or queen size beds and private baths en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your 1897 Beekman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing