We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard

Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard Estate grown wines are established from traditions of excellence and have a nationwide reputation for creating exceptionally lush, crisp and well-balanced wines.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We continue to go back and stock up yearly...Not too stuffy atmosphere, great people offering the tastings and excellent wines...what else can I say!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dpapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    35
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stop on wine tasting trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stopped here on our Thanksgiving weekend trip to the Finger Lakes. Hermann Wiemer was one of our favorite stops. Amazing wines and great knowledgable staff. Will return again and again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Effie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best winery in the Finger Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was by far the best stop we made during our time in the Finger Lakes. It's not a large winery and I've found that the wineries that don't focus on what they look like make the better wines. It's a beautiful winery just without the unneeded bells and whistles of Heron Hill. Some of the earliest plantings of Riesling are from Hermann J Wiemer vineyards and they don't disappoint. In fact, none of their wines does. The person doing the tasting was very personable and told us to come back whenever we return to the Finger Lakes because 'once you visit here you are considered family.' It was a rainy day and on our way out, it stopped raining. Oscar, who I believe is the owner, said "When you make great wine you control the weather.' And they possibly could with the wine they produce.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great wines one of the best in the Finger Lakes Region of NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

One of the best wineries in the Finger Lakes region of New York. Not only are the grounds beautiful and scenic, but their wines are recognized as some of the best examples of Riesling in the world.

The winery is housed in a beautiful converted barn. The tasting room is conveniently located inside the winery and includes an area for outdoor tasting when the weather permits. Simply gorgeous. The staff is very knowledgeable, and courteous. It is an interesting experiment to taste Riesling grown in different areas of the region. There is a definite difference. Definitely a great experience. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinoventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a great place to visit. The wine is good and the scenic drive is beautiful.
They have special events and website to keep you up to date. You can also order wine and have it delivered to your home if you flew to NY. Some months they have special shipping cost.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing