We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the beer and view”
Review of Starkey's Lookout

Starkey's Lookout
Ranked #6 of 12 things to do in Dundee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Starkey's Lookout sits on the a bluff on the west side of Seneca Lake with incredible views. We are located just 8 miles north of Watkins Glen, just across from Glenora Wine Cellars. Please join us to enjoy our breathtaking views from one of three separate spaces designed to help you enjoy our wine and beer.
Red Lion, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the beer and view”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped at this place because it was near where we were staying and I wanted beer instead of wine. It was a Thursday around 5 and wasn't busy at all. We got 2 flights and a meat and cheese platter and brought it outside to enjoy the view of the lake. I thought the beers were very good and we enjoyed the view. Reading prior reviews about service, I didn't think anyone was unfriendly, but they weren't overly enthusiastic or helpful either. When we were leaving we asked about buying a tasting glass and they said you get one free with a flight. Which we weren't told and wouldn't have received if we hadn't asked. I would still go back again, the beers and the views were worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GSP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luzerne, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Views”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

People were friendly Beautiful winery with great views. Brewery was also nice. Staff handled the large crowd very efficiently.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy0556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great to Have Beer and Wine Tastings at Same Location”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I were impressed that Starkey's did both beer and wine tastings in one location. We did the wine tasting (which was very good) and standing right next to us was a group of women doing the beer tasting (which they seemed to be enjoying). I also liked that we could have purchased a small amount of food to go with our tasting if we had wanted to. The large room we were in also offered a selection of tee shirts and souvenirs. We plan on visiting again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service? What's that?”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

This place has a great view of Seneca lake. We came for the beer, which was pretty decent. The facility is new and pleasant. However, the service is horrible. The staff is indifferent and slow. My friend spilled soda on the floor and the staff let him clean it up. If you have ever seen the movie "clerks" you will know exactly what I am talking about.

Helpful?
2 Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Make sure to visit this place (serves beer and wine)”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A group visited Starkey's on a birthday wine tour and needed a place that served beer and food to accommodate the non-wine drinking members. There are separate tasting rooms for wine and beer and Starkey's was one of the few establishments that served actual flights of beer. They also sell growlers and growler handles. The wine we tried was nice and the servers were friendly but allowed us a chance to chat during our tasting. They have a a gorgeous view of the lake and a huge dining room (they were playing the Sunday afternoon games) that featured a selection of tapas. Overall the food was good but the meatballs were a standout.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starkey's Lookout also viewed

 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Starkey's Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing