We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Beer at Starkeys”
Review of Starkey's Lookout

Starkey's Lookout
Ranked #7 of 12 things to do in Dundee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Starkey's Lookout sits on the a bluff on the west side of Seneca Lake with incredible views. We are located just 8 miles north of Watkins Glen, just across from Glenora Wine Cellars. Please join us to enjoy our breathtaking views from one of three separate spaces designed to help you enjoy our wine and beer.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My Beer at Starkeys”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Starkeys Lookout is Beautiful!!! Their Beers are Delish!!! We loved having a beer and sitting on the terrace overlooking the valley - its so pretty!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yvette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beer and Wine Flights to please a crowd!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stopped here on a quick wine tour of Seneca Lake, and what a wonderful surprise. This winery is "new" to the lake (Summer 2013) and looked amazing from the road, so we pulled in. What a welcome surprise it was!
They have a very, very large tasting room. Enough to accomodate large parties. They also have both beer or wine flights! Great for a mixed crowd of people, who prefer beer over wine, or would just like a change from all the wine tastings. We got a flight of beer (4 craft beers with generous 6 oz pours) and sat on the deck outside. The view is breathtaking, as the building sits high atop a hill. Plenty of room and tables on the deck, as it wraps around the building.
They also serve fun food/snacks, have a cute gift shop, you can rent games to play on the lawn and lots of bathrooms (no long lines!).
If you hit up this winery, plan to stay a while. We had to hurry a little as we had a limo waiting for us, next time, I will linger much longer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
852 reviews
313 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view at a great winery”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This winery isn't located right on the lake but that's a good thing. The view of the hills and the lake was breath taking. They had a great selection of wines to choose from. The people that work there are knowledgeable and friendly. Some of the other wineries we went to tended to be a bit more cheesy, selling a lot of wine related paraphernalia. This was not the case at Starkey's. They rely on their breath taking view, good wine, and good atmosphere (which is truly all they need).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jvalliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lion, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the beer and view”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped at this place because it was near where we were staying and I wanted beer instead of wine. It was a Thursday around 5 and wasn't busy at all. We got 2 flights and a meat and cheese platter and brought it outside to enjoy the view of the lake. I thought the beers were very good and we enjoyed the view. Reading prior reviews about service, I didn't think anyone was unfriendly, but they weren't overly enthusiastic or helpful either. When we were leaving we asked about buying a tasting glass and they said you get one free with a flight. Which we weren't told and wouldn't have received if we hadn't asked. I would still go back again, the beers and the views were worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GSP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzerne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Views”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

People were friendly Beautiful winery with great views. Brewery was also nice. Staff handled the large crowd very efficiently.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy0556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starkey's Lookout also viewed

 
Dundee, Finger Lakes
Dundee, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Starkey's Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing