We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicous Wines and excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of McGregor Vineyard

McGregor Vineyard
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: McGregor Vineyard is one of the oldest wineries in the Finger Lakes featuring estate grown and bottled vinifera wines. We invite you to sample these exquisite wines in our seated tasting room while enjoying the most spectacular views of Keuka Lake.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicous Wines and excellent staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I visited this winery this past Friday night. We searched for winery open after 5 and came across this one.
Lucy took great care of us! She is extremely knowledgeable about the wines, history of McGregor's as well at the area.
it was not overly crowded and she was able to spend lots of time with us explaining about the wines we choose for our tasting. The wine tasting was $5 for 5 samples, so we each choose 5 and shared. You are able to keep your wine glass.
After our tasting we each had a glass of wine.
I had a glass of the 2010 Black Russian Red and it was delicious!

They also sell local sauces, jellys, etc. We were able to taste those as well.

Lucy did mention that they have music on Saturday nights.

This is a winery you should def stop at if you are in the area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jillybeanbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

As a wine distributor in the Mid Atlantic region, I was eager to try wines on Keuka Lake. The wines here at McGregor were outstanding, many worthy of world class status and recognition. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The winery location is perfect- a top a hill overlooking the Lake in a quite lovely setting. The quality and the small quantities warrant the pricing at this artisan winery. Make this a definite stop along your journey. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank 1francophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and unpretentious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have toured many wineries. We particularly enjoyed this one. The staff were quite knowledgeable - about their own wines, and other wineries in the area. Tastings are seated, and a little tasting plate with a few tidbits was supplied. This was unpretentious - questions welcomed and answered without making you feel unschooled for asking...much different from some other spots.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beaver33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
“Awesome wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I love McGregor's Winery! Their wines are delicious. Their Rob Roy and Black Russian Red wines are so rich and distinctive. I also love their Pinot Noir and Cabernet Franc. As a red wine lover, their red wines are the best in the Finger Lakes! Their staff is also fantastic, they make the winery a homey and fun place to visit. Check out their Clan Club, definitely a good option for buying wine, and also for all the fun events they have!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Italy_Lover_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

McGregor was stop #3 on our motorcycle wine tour of the Finger lakes. For the record, the riders were either not drinking or were sipping, sloshing, then spitting. We don't drink and drive.

This was a little off the beaten path, but the views were worth the trip. We were greeted then escorted to the tasting room with is very rustic. Our pourer was very nice and knowledgeable about the myriad of wines available for tasting. Of the nearly 20 wines on the menu, we were allowed to select either 5 or 6 that we wanted to taste. A small plate of some cheese and crackers were complimentary, as was a souvenir wine glass.

The white wines were good, but most of the reds we tried were like most of the other Finger Lake reds - just missing the sweet spot in our palates. The pinot was surprisingly refreshing, but we prefer them to be a bit bolder. The Black Russian has promise, but I think it needs a little more time in the bottle.

The entire staff was wonderful and very friendly. The day we visited, they were sampling some of the sauces the chef prepares. We left with 3 bottles! The cheese was local and to die for! Alas, we were on motorcycles and didn't think it would survive the hour back to the hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JT03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGregor Vineyard also viewed

Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to McGregor Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing