We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Place, Gorgeous Views, but Service Issues (not worth the cost)”
Review of Nautical Nights

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nautical Nights
Ranked #7 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed in the Tiny Bubbles room for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Beautiful place tucked away in the woods, right on the lake, down a very steep hill. Drove an SUV, therefore, the hill was not an issue. You literally wake up in the morning and the lake is 20 yards in front of you, breathtaking. Machelle communicated with us prior to our trip, but I did not see her during our entire stay (Friday and Saturday night). I got the impression she was quite ill during our stay. We had multiple issues with the shower and water temperature and also an issue with the jacuzzi. During my girlfriend's shower, the water suddenly became absolutely scolding hot and unbearable for even 5 seconds. After searching for contact information, I eventually found a couple of phone numbers listed in the kitchen. The lady that was tending to the place came back and checked it out. They called the plumber but of course not in time for us to take a shower before our dinner reservations (we literally just got there a couple of hours earlier). My girlfriend had to eventually jump in the lake to wash out all of the soap in hair. Not a big deal unless you spent $218 a night to stay there. Unreal. Breakfast was served each morning. There was always coffee, tea, toast, yogurt, cereal and a main course (pecan french toast). Nice deck right outside the bedroom door to relax and enjoy the views. There was a canoe there as well if you felt adventurous.

Overall, I wouldn't go back to this place. Nice people and gorgeous views, but given the service issues, two nights are not worth $436.80. They did apologize, but I was disappointed that they did not offer a discount due to the issues and in inconvenience.

I recommend going to Fox Run Vineyards to grab lunch. Decent food and amazing views!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiggles002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay for 2 nights in Oct. Our room was very comfy and the views spectacular. Very quiet and the full moon over the water was beautiful. The owners are great, very friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to eat and local wineries. We stayed in the"Tiny Bubbles" room. Breakfast was always good, far more than I was able to eat!
It is a place that helps to renew your "Spirit".
Our thanks to Machelle and Brad for their kindness. And most of all for the joy of having met the Canine keeper of the Inn. Thank you Spirit for making us smile.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Spent a weekend at the B&B in the jacuzzi room. The layout and design of the entire house is amazing. It is right up on the water, with floor to ceiling glass on the walls so each room has a full view of the lake. It was amazing to fall asleep to the sounds of the water, and wake up to the sunrise over the lake. There's also a kayak for guests to explore the lake.

The place was very clean, and the hosts were very hospitable. Machelle, Brad and Spirit (resident dog) were all very friendly and made you feel at home. Machelle makes an awesome breakfast; with tremendous homemade biscuits!

We are definitely planning on returning here for another trip. Its a great spot to get away from city life, and just relax.

p/s - For good food, check out Port's cafe about 18 miles north on Rt-14.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeygill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

My boyfriend and I have been meaning to write about our stay for months at Nautical Nights which was absolutely wonderful. We've frequented many beautiful B&B's and we admit that Nautical Nights outshines them all! The hostess trully made us feel at home directly from the moment she greeted us. The setting has breathtaking "up close and personal " views of Seneca Lake, you feel like your intoxicated by it's beauty. The rooms are superbly clean with warm tasteful decor that give you a feeling of being at a quaint shore home on the coast of Cape May NJ encompased with the peacfulness of the waters of the Caribbean. We are both in our early thirties and sometimes B&B's can be a bit "stuffy" we were pleasantly surprised by the breath of fresh air we received both from our hostess and from the lovely surroundings of Nautical Nights. We plan to return this year in 2008 for our 2 year anniversary in June and yes we are choosing Nautical Nights over a private villa in St Lucia as we did last year. You will not be dissapointed here!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank burgundygirlNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Great B&B to stop at while touring Seneca Lake's great wineries. We had the jacuzzi room, which was fabulous. Every morning you wake up facing the lake and it's breathtaking. I want to go back every year! The hostess makes a delicious breakfast, but while you are touring the lake, make sure to stop at Dano's Heuriger for a nice lunch. Its on the Northeast side of the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Our stay at Nautical Nights was absolutely fabulous. From the rooms (since we stayed in both Tiny Bubbles and the Salmon Room), to the view ,to the food, everything was incredible. Every night we would fall asleep to the sound of Seneca Lake. We never slept so hard in our lives. We were almost late for the 9:00 a.m. breakfast. Machelle, her husband Brad and the lovely dog Torey were all so gracious and hospitable. They made you feel right at home and they made their home feel like your own. We will definitely be going back next year. If I knew how to add photos, I would show you the beautiful sunrise we viewed, Torey and the beautiful breakfast set up outside. Everything was WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunny223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

My husband and I (in our late 20s) just returned from a weekend stay over labor day. I was getting discouraged trying to book any weekend in Sept or Oct then I was referred to Nautical Nights. After checking out the website we decided to have out first bed and breakfast experience here. We didn't really know what to expect from a B&B being that we usually always stay in large well-known hotels. The pictures and description on the website were right. We were only a few feet from Seneca Lake. The atmosphere was so nice and relaxing. Michelle and Tori greeted us and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the tiny bubbles room and enjoyed the jacuzzi and the view very much. The room was clean and neat. The breakfast was also very fresh and delicious. I just wish there was more of it. The other review was correct that it does get very bight from the sun in the morining, but we didn't mind because we were up in time for breakfast and ready to start our day. Also there is a steep dirt road leading to the B&B. We were glad we brought the SUV. There was also a computer with internet, canoe and chimena available. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank steph44w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
9.8 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
116 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
12.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautical Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Nights

Address: Locust Rd, Seneca Lake, Dundee, NY
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing