We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DA BEST!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B
Ranked #5 of 11 Dundee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have been staying at b&b's for more years than I want to tell........all along the eastern US coast and beyond. This has been THE most enjoyable b&b stay that we have ever experienced!

The owners, Peter and Mary, are a great combo. They work so well together, whether they are in the kitchen cooking or chatting on their wonderful decks.

They designed their "home" exclusively for a b&b operation and there is nothing that has escaped their attention for a "died and went to heaven" experience for all of their guests.

The breakfasts are wonderful! They all begin with the "scone of the day". Picture a fresh blueberry scone or one with chocolate chips & raspberries.......and that is just the start of the meal. Fresh fruit and fruit juices follow the scones, along with whatever kind of coffee/tea you want, thanks to the wonderful "coffee genie machine" they have! Then comes the main entree....perhaps a tomato/mushroom/onion frittata with a side order of bacon....or maybe pancakes with turkey sausage and eggs served your way. Oh, did I mention Mary's "bird seed bread"? She makes all of the breads served here. All are wonderful, but we loved the "bird seed bread" the best! Needless to say, we never had any lunches during our stay.

There are only four rooms here and all are furnished with Amish-made furniture (made locally by the Amish people and resemble the Arts & Crafts style). All of the rooms open to decks that overlook Seneca Lake. Every room is supplied with a microwave (great to have with the microwave popcorn packs that they provide) and a frig that is stocked with bottled water & canned sodas.

The b&b is located close to many Finger Lake wineries & sites, but, to be honest, it was a wonderful world of bliss and peacefulness! When you drive down their LONG driveway, it is like you are leaving your worries and cares behind! We actually spent our last afternoon on our deck there, reading our books, munching on popcorn, and enjoying the wonderful lake view.

We didn't have time to utilize their canoe or rowboat, but we did enjoy sitting on their dock area on Seneca Lake. They also have an outdoor pavillion in which you can grill your own dinner.

Oh, did I mention the "never ending cookie jar"? Those oatmeal chocolate cookies were some of the best that we have ever eaten.

Will we return? You bet...........but we will definitely try to reserve a LOT earlier. I thought that I was an early bird by booking 6 months ahead, but there was only one room left at that point!

Room Tip: Not a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

The name truly says it all - this place is a real "Pearl"! Just spent 2 nights at this lovely place and really hated to leave. It was our first time to this area and we weren't sure what to expect. We don't feel like the pictures do this place justice. It is so much more beautiful than a picture could ever show. Whether you want to relax down by the water on the private dock, take a canoe or rowboat out on Lake Seneca, sleep in the hammock or sit on the patio chairs, this place is very peaceful and restful. It is hosted by two of the nicest people who could ever meet! The breakfasts are wonderful and I especially liked the "never-ending cooking jar" as the hosts call it. We were even given a bag full of homemade cookies as we left as well as 2 coffee mugs. We absolutely loved this place and feel like we hit a homerun in selecting it as a stop off on our trip home from Vermont. Almost forgot about waking up to deer on the back lawn and also picking a few of the wild grapes from the wooded area on the huge grounds. (Sure hope it was ok HAHA!!) Apparently this used to be a vineyard years ago and some of the grapes are growing wild. They sure were tasty!! We will definetly be back - thanks for a wonderful stay in your beautiful home!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonehiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were welcomed with hugs, kisses, hot coffee and cookies.
The Pearl remains very clean and comfortable. One of the wonderful things about this B&B is that you are able to sit in the kitchen, at the counter while Mary cooks and Peter serves. When most of the guest are ready for breakfast they are invited to sit at the table where, after everyone is served Peter and Mary pull up chairs and join the guests.

It is great to have everyone together including the innkeepers. The conversation is lively and great tips on things to do and places to visit are shared by all.

In the evening retire to a very comfortable room and bed. There is a table large enough on which to have a meal or snack or to play a game. The mini frige has water and soda yet has room for your special cheese or wine purchase. There is a TV and a lot of information about local attractions.
Still, the best is how Mary and Peter welcome each guest and take the time to speak with everyone. That, and the fantastic breakfasts keep us coming back.

Room Tip: There is only one room on the lower floor and it has a door right onto the deck with views of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackcat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was our first time to the finger lakes and our first time staying at a Bed & Breakfast.....We could not be happier by choosing the Pearl of Seneca Lake....Mary and Peter were so kind and inviting, the property was beautiful, and the rooms felt more like a hotel room than what I had expected. It was a great experience! We are already talking with our friends to plan a trip back.....

B & A Sites

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brennan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Hosts make u feel like family in this immaculate lakeside home. Location is convenient for wineries but place is so relaxing, who wants to leave! Breakfasts are lavish with home made breads, scones, fruit and a main dish. There are cookies and coffee and teas for guests to help themselves to. Rooms have refrigerators with free beverages. They have thought if everything, Beds are so comfortable and the whole setting is serene and relaxing. What a wonderful find. It will be hard to stay at other B&Bs after this.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyoneLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We too, have returned for a third visit to "The Pearl" and it seems like our special home away from home. Mary and Peter are delightful with their warm welcome. Everything they do says "Welcome, we are glad to see you"! The endless jar of home made cookies, the coffee-tea-hot chocolate set up, the hearty breakfast, the sunrise on the lake, the warm shawl for a chilly deck, ... there is nothing that you could possibly want. The rooms are beautifully decorated and come with a stocked refrigerator, fluffy pillows, tv, lovely soaps, etc. We have given a night or two to our friends/family as a gift - that's how much we love the Pearl and Mary and Peter. They are a treasure!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westernnewyork29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have stayed at the Pearl three times now and have just booked another stay. Everything is fantastic! Peter and Mary have pulled together everything we could have wanted in a B&B. The rooms, porches, fire pit, hammock, and the pier with a boat and canoe. Their hospitality put this B&B over the top. They are genuine, warm and friendly. They treat each guest as if you were the only guest. Coming down for breakfast in the morning, to the scones and ever changing breakfast entree, was a highlight of the day even with all of the attractions in the area. Everyone we have met is there for a repeat visit and/or has plans to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundee
11.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
10.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,267 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
1897 Beekman House
1897 Beekman House
#1 of 11 in Dundee
170 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
4.9 mi away
The Inn at Grist Iron
The Inn at Grist Iron
#1 of 4 in Burdett
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B

Address: 4827 Red Cedar Lane, Dundee, NY 14837-0244
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Dundee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range: £138 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant lakeside home constructed in 2005 as a B&B, with 4 guest rooms, each with private bath, A/C, WiFi, lakeside deck, refrigerator, microwave and satellite TV. 1 room fully handicap-accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pearl of Seneca Lake B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Of Seneca Lake Hotel Dundee
The Pearl Of Seneca Lake Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing